$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

4 stars
View map of 1700 Smith Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TexanTransplant
Business
Houston
Dec 5, 2012

Crown Center Houston

Had a nice stay. Great rooms, good breakfast, courteous staff... Parking expensive. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissH
Business
Texas
Dec 7, 2013

Great staff!!

Front desk staff very friendly and helpful, valet parking staff not as friendly, maybe because it was a busy evening? Nice hotel beautiful downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World's Greatest Husband
Business
Houston area
Oct 28, 2013

Great for a night away without the kids

We live in the Greater Houston area but have never spend any time downtown. We really just wanted a nice relaxing weekend. After waiting over 30 mins for the hotel shuttle to take us to dinner the hotel paid for a taxi to take and pick us up. One of my wife's comments about the hotel and staff "It's not the Best Western, I could get used to this." Needless to say, if we do get another room downtown we will be staying again at the Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sambuca - Great food and live music.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jhazle
Business
Michigan
Jul 18, 2013

Great places

At its prime this was a grand hotel, rooms are a bit dated, but still work for Houston. Awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Its not a real Refinery, but its called the Refinery

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wckd
Business
Spring, TX
Jul 15, 2013

Great Value

Hotel was great. Staff was pleasant. Great value for a downtown hotel. One recommendation would be to run the shuttle until 11:30PM or Midnight since the hotel is a good distance from the theater district and service had ended before the show let out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChuckP
Business
Los angeles
Jun 5, 2012

OK place for a business trip

The staff here was geninuely friendly, from the valet to the front desk. That made this a good place to stay. Decor is a little dated, and my room smelled like somebody smoked in there, which was most noticable each time I entered the room. The AC vent was blowing directly on the desk which made the choice necessary between being blow away and being hot when sitting at the desk. The restaurant was OK and could also use some updating, but again had an excellent friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go there EARLY, I was working long hours and was very confused about their hours. I was first told the restaurant stops serving at 10pm, then I was told Room Service was until midnight. Then I called room service at 10:30pm and the restaurant answered. I asked if they were open and they said I could eat there at the bar, until 1am.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty Mayo
Business
Texas
Jun 5, 2012

Great hotel for a great price

Everything was pretty good for a weekend stay. Plenty of space and clean. Wish there was more parking options, but it is downtown Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rarc3
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 4, 2012

FPSF

Stayed here for the walking distance to the FPSF music festival and enjoyed every sleeping second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
merb
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 17, 2012

Good Hotel in Downtown Houston

Easy access and helpful and friendly staff. Service good, food excellent, wished for more reasonable fee for valet parking, but the weekend rate was OK and there as no in-out charge. Will go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vino Dave
Business
Napa, CA.
Mar 18, 2010

Clean, Cheap but no internet connection?

Very average hotel. Clean and decent room service. There is no wi fi! The cable internet connection was awful. If you are a business traveler need the internet, don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top