Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

3 stars
View map of 916 Dallas Street, 916 Dallas Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
27 reviews
Bayou music concert

Quick stay, decent downtown location. Being right by the metro train, seemed to be a collection of... See full review

  • Jaywes23
  • Jul 20, 2015
Under construction

It was a great value for the location but it was under construction so it was loud See full review

  • Lindsay M.
  • Jul 20, 2015
The Courtyard Houston Downtown hotel is a part of the Marriott Centre Downtown Houston Collection located just ten minutes from the George R. Brown Convention Center. A true stand-out among downtown Houston hotels for our historical ambiance housed in the 1921 Humble Oil Building's neo-classical exterior with polished rose marble and original brass elevator doors. Guests enjoy modern perks such as property-wide, free WiFi, a media library and work pods as well as our interactive GoBoard® to access the latest news, traffic and weather. The highlight of our lobby experience is the Bistro which offers healthy breakfast options and delicious dinner menu and bar service. A top choice among Houston, TX hotels, were steps from sites such as Green Street Plaza, Main Street Square, Minute Maid Park, Convention Center and Toyota Center. A short ride on the Metro Light Rail takes you to NRG Park and the Museum District. For a unique option among downtown Houston hotels, choose Courtyard Houston Downtown hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Jones Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.3 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.4 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.3 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.4 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.5 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.7 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.1 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.2 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.8 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.5 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 12.9 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.6 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.7 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaywes23
Business
VIDOR
Jul 20, 2015

Bayou music concert

Quick stay, decent downtown location. Being right by the metro train, seemed to be a collection of transients right outside the hotel. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindsay M.
Business
N/A
Jul 20, 2015

Under construction

It was a great value for the location but it was under construction so it was loud

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert S.
Business
Abilene
Jul 9, 2015

Great stay Downtown

Hotel staff was courteous and quick. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Great stay while I was there on business downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YA.818
Business
Austin
May 18, 2015

Family trip

The location is great. The room is great. Very very clean. Over all great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A SEARS
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 23, 2014

Quick 30th Birthday Day Getaway

Well when we arrived we were greeted by Houston in valet , very nice gentlemen but they all were great but his name is the one that stuck out ( by the way valet is the only parking options @ $30 a day). We were able to check in with no problems. When we got to our room it was clean, but we had a horrible view which was ok cause I didn't come to look out the window anyway. The only problems I had was the expensive parking $30 dollars a day plus tipping every time we got in and out added up, also I wish they would have had a concierge because even though we had family in Houston, we were clueless on the nightlife. Overall we had a great stay and would definitely do it again! !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A SEARS
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 22, 2014

Quick 30th Birthday Day Getaway

Well when we arrived we were greeted by Houston in valet , very nice gentlemen but they all were great but his name is the one that stuck out ( by the way valet is the only parking options @ $30 a day). We were able to check in with no problems. When we got to our room it was clean, but we had a horrible view which was ok cause I didn't come to look out the window anyway. The only problems I had was the expensive parking $30 dollars a day plus tipping every time we got in and out added up, also I wish they would have had a concierge because even though we had family in Houston, we were clueless on the nightlife. Overall we had a great stay and would definitely do it again! !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend trip Memorial Day
Business
San Antonio
May 26, 2014

Great location

Location of hotel was great for where we went. Walking distance to many restaurants and discovery park. There was construction happening so it was really noisy on some days. My room was next to a linen closet which was extremely noisy. Hotel staff was vey gracious n gave me a one night credit on my overnight parking. $28 so I was happy. Clean rooms. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Z
Business
Littleton, Colorado
Apr 5, 2014

Business travel

The hotel has a bistro with great food and service. There is also a full Starbucks. The staff is courteous and helpful. They need a sundry shop, especially since it is dangerous to walk around at night, and there are no grocery stores or convenient stores nearby. The room overall was clean, but the carpet was stained and look dirty, a big turn off. The blackout drapes/curtains did not open all the way and were hard to slide. They have newspapers in the lobby; they are not delivered to your room. There is no hair dryer as described in the website. They offer a free shuttle within downtown, very convenient. For their room prices, I expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StephenCM
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 6, 2014

Downtown Stay

A great experience at the Marriott. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for the nighttime activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Downtown /Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trisqit
Business
houston texas
Nov 10, 2013

ice machine

everything was great!! the staff was awesome--very helpful and keeping bags till check in and even after checkout while I finished up the conference. great location (construction across street though for building being torn down). the only bad thing was the ice machine on 7th floor was broke--sign said to go to 6th or 8th--went to 6th and machine was broke---finally went up to 8th and got ice. that was a little inconvenient in pjs at night. otherwise everything else was FANTASTIC!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

everything was very close and within a 2-3 block walking distance--right next to main street and the metrorail!!

Back to menu Return to top