$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 8, 2014 Check-out: Nov 9, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

3 stars
2929 Westpark Dr, 2929 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
13 reviews
Came for Surgery

Came to Texas for surgery. First time ever in Texas, staff was outstanding. Made great... See full review

  • Amy Lane
  • Jun 29, 2012
personal

very friendly, welcoming, and helpful staff to even greet you as you enter. A perfect location to... See full review

  • granny mom
  • Jun 22, 2012
It's a New Stay! at the NEWLY RENOVATED Courtyard by Marriott Houston West University, we have refreshed your travel experience with our new lobby by Fusing High-Tech, High Style and greater functionality for the ultimate in convenience and innovation. The Hotel is centrally located in the Greenway Plaza - West University area, minutes away from Texas Medical Center, Lakewood Church, Reliant Park, Galleria, world class Museum district, Downtown Houston, Rice University, and a variety of upscale restaurants and nightlife. The Marriott Courtyard West University on-site amenities include Courtyard Bistro open for breakfast and dinner daily, proudly serving Starbucks Coffee. Complimentary shuttle within 3 miles, complimentary business center, and boarding pass print out station, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, and complimentary wireless internet access. You will appreciate the warm and inviting atmosphere from the moment you enter the Courtyard by Marriott Houston West University.

Hotel Map

29.7286 -95.4219
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 25.10, MI, S; William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 13.50, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 3 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 3.1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 3.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 3.8 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 3.9 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.9 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.1 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 8.9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 17.6 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
granny mom
dallas
Jun 22, 2012

personal

very friendly, welcoming, and helpful staff to even greet you as you enter. A perfect location to serve the purpose of my stay in Houston. updated and clean with all amenities my only recommendation would be the placement of the furniture in the room. the TV is to the side of the bed rather than in front of it. But the room has everything one needs and is clean. attractive counter top for the sink which is placed outside the bath (always better!) I was very impressed with the updated/modern lobby. So much newer and attractive than others. A more desirable place for breakfast / and or happy hour/bar. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy Lane
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 29, 2012

Came for Surgery

Came to Texas for surgery. First time ever in Texas, staff was outstanding. Made great recommendations for food and very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mexican resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
granny mom
Business
dallas
Jun 22, 2012

personal

very friendly, welcoming, and helpful staff to even greet you as you enter. A perfect location to serve the purpose of my stay in Houston. updated and clean with all amenities my only recommendation would be the placement of the furniture in the room. the TV is to the side of the bed rather than in front of it. But the room has everything one needs and is clean. attractive counter top for the sink which is placed outside the bath (always better!) I was very impressed with the updated/modern lobby. So much newer and attractive than others. A more desirable place for breakfast / and or happy hour/bar. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Chester, PA
Oct 30, 2008

Great on a Business Trip

The hotel was conveniently located for all my business meetings and engagements. The staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable and well equiped for the business traveler. I would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the Galleria and great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 22, 2007

Good value

Overall we were very pleased with the Courtyard West University. Hotel was conveniently located, and the free breakfast was perfect for us. On the things we usually look for.. Space: The room was nice and spacious. We were traveling with an infant, and there was plenty of room to setup the crib and still let us move around. They had high ceiling in the room that produced an echo-like sound, which was a bit odd, but it did make the room feel bigger Cleanliness: Overall, we were happy. We did find one little spot of left-over toothpaste from a previous guest around the sink, but was otherwise fine. The hotel did have a certain cleaning supply smell - it was unfamiliar to my wife and myself and thus notable. Showers: great shower head that they upgraded while we were staying there. My wife liked the old one a little more, and I liked the new one, but both were much better than average. Free Breakfast: overall, very good. The custom omelette chef went a bit heavy on the oil, so watch out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several restaurants nearby including Buca di Beppo. If it's not the middle of the summer, it's a long walk, but Houston in the summer is not pretty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 3, 2008

Centrally Located in Houston

This hotel is located very conveniently to both Mid-town and Downtown Houston. The parking areas are well lit at night and the rooms are reasonably priced. The room itself was very nicely appointed with computer hookups and a desk that could be expanded to spread things out. There were plenty of resturants close by and access to freeway(s) was great. The only negative was the hotel doors. When you would leave the room, they closed and slammed. Didn't bother me so much with the door to my room, but other guests door's who come and go at all hours was a little disturbing. You could hear the doors slamming all up and down the hallway. All in all, the stay was enjoyable and we would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blacksmith
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Good Value

The staff was exceptionally friendly and the room was spotless. Located two blocks from Highway 59.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Goode Company - both a Tacorita and a Seafood restaurant within a five minute walk of the hotel. Both locations had good food in a casual atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RiceOwl
Business
White Oak, TX
May 8, 2012

Excellent place and convenient

This is an excellent place to stay in Houston, central to Rice University area, great restaurants and one block off SW Freeway (59) and the freeway system. Ray was extremely friendly and helpful, as was the rest of the staff. The bed was very comfortable. We will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Damien's Cuchina Italian restaurant on Smith is excellent. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alicean
Business
Alice, Texas
Jun 23, 2012

Overall Experience

Very good. Satisfied with all facets of my stay. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Near downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boca raton, florida
Jul 14, 2010

extremely good

Staff at hotel were super friendly and helpful. Accomodations were great. Overall I was extremely satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston-West University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Good value

A nice, clean hotel. The price was quite good. The breakfast was OK but the service was disappointing. Nobody helped us out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurants in the Rice Village area are good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top