$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

3 stars
6700 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
61 reviews
Medical trip to Houston

I have been going to Houston for many years for medical treatment. I had never stayed at the Best... See full review

  • patiente
  • Dec 8, 2013
Houston trip

Hotel was relatively easy to find from the airport. Beautifully appointed, clean and great value... See full review

  • Cindae LMT
  • Oct 18, 2013
This Houston hotel has an excellent location for your next business, leisure, or medical stay. We are conveniently located at the heart of the renowned Texas Medical Center, within a short drive to downtown Houston and the Houston Galleria Mall. We are located walking distance to Baylor Clinic, Methodist Hospital, and Texas Children's Hospital. We are also very near to the M.D. Anderson Hospital, Memorial Herman, Ben Taub, VA Hospital, St. Luke's Hospital, and many more. We offer a free hotel shuttle to and from area hospitals. Please check with the hotel for shuttle hours. We are located just blocks away from Rice University, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Woman's University, and University of Texas Medical Branch. Even if you are visiting the city for just one weekend, we should be your hotel of choice. Within a block from the hotel, you will find the Houston Metro Light Rail station. Guests can use the rail as a convenient and inexpensive method of transportation from the hotel to many area attractions like the Museum District, Holocaust Museum, Houston Zoo, downtown Houston, downtown Macy's, Reliant Stadium, Reliant Center, and much more. Every well-appointed spacious guest room features a microwave, mini-refrigerator, cable television with HBO®, complimentary high-speed Internet and complimentary local calls. Remember to join us every morning at the breakfast room to try our free full hot deluxe breakfast. Other hotel amenities include an indoor pool, spa, fitness center, business center, and a self-service guest laundry room. The staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center is ready to make your next stay a happy and enjoyable one. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel.

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2ROOMS,SOFABED,WETBAR,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Play ground
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

29.7085 -95.4034
Area served
Galveston, Beaumont
Nearby airports
(HOU), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.3 mi

Dining

French Corner
1.60 mile(s) from French Corner, cafe, French, open for: lunch, dinner,
Houston's
2.50 mile(s) from Houston's, full service, Steak House, open for: lunch, dinner,
Burger King
0.25 mile(s) from Burger King, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Olive Garden
1.60 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Jason's Deli
1.30 mile(s) from Jason's Deli, fast food, Deli, open for: lunch, dinner,
Miyako
2.71 mile(s) from Miyako, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner,
Pappadeaux Seafood
3.00 mile(s) from Pappadeaux Seafood, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 61
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessie24
Houston, TX
Feb 25, 2014

No Complaints

Decent. Just needed a place to sleep overnight before a tournament and there are no complaints on my end. I'd recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vanilla Queen
Washington
Nov 6, 2013

Medical trip

Very close to the medical center. Great value for your buck if you plan to visit the medical facilities across the street. The rooms are generally clean and have a small fridge and a microwave. There is a small fitness center/indoor pool on the ground floor. The breakfast is OK if you are just looking for a quick bite before you start your day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You can always go to the nearby Rice village for shopping, food, coffee, beauty salons, etc.

Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luany
NC
Aug 20, 2013

We had a good time

We had a good time there when sending our daughter to college. The front desk people are very helpful and supper nice. location is great, convenient to Medical center and rice Univ.. I hope their shuttle bus can go to more places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
future doctors mom
Seattle, WA
May 16, 2013

condo shopping

We had no problems at all. The A/C is pretty noisy but I think that is standard no matter where you stay. I like the no fee internet and parking as we had to have a car, and you can't go wrong with free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MadRag
Ponch, LA
May 5, 2013

Medical Trip

Our visit was for medical reasons. This hotel is located two blocks from M.D. Anderson and it offers shuttles every hour on the hour. This was very convenient. The breakfast was helpful to start the day, however we do wish there was an in house restaurant. We had to order out for delivery of food. This was time consuming waiting on the delivery. The indoor pool was fun for the kids, although it was very difficult to communicate with one another due to the closed in facility, all sounds echoed off the walls. The pricing was comparable to surrounding hotels, and a medical rate was offered. However, we feel that all the hotels are over priced just because of location. People who have a loved one as a patient in one of the hospital facilities already have enough medical, and other bills to pay for. A hotel is a must for out of town families. We will search for a less expensive hotel for future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RamirezFamily
San Juan, PR
Mar 25, 2013

Good Location

Excellent service, clean rooms and good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommy T
Ankeny, Iowa
Aug 6, 2012

Near MD Anderson

The pool and spa didn't seem to be well taken care of. The breakfast in the morning was more than expected, though. Very close to MD Anderson, so we save at least $12 a day in parking. Would stay again, but would like to see some improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Owl Mom
Long Island, New York, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Rice visit

Pleasant staff. Early check-in. Good breakfast. Loved the Texas shaped waffles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Head down University to Rice Village - Shopping and dining galore.

Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JAH
West Central Texas
Mar 13, 2010

Average & Okay - Bring Ear Plugs

In Houston for the Livestock Show. Hotel was close to the Show Arena & Livestock Building, about a mile away, which allowed for a quick short drive to our activity events without much traffic congestion. But also far enough away that it was not already booked up five months in advance for the Livestock Show participants Room was clean and somewhat nice as you would expect for a Best Western Hotel. Room rate was about average of the other hotels around the nearby area. However after staying there and enduring the some of noise during the night and early morning hours, we thought some discount on the room rate was needed for the lack of sleep inconveniences. Read further comments below. The hotel was difficult to access from the street especially coming from the south. Vehicle parking was very tight especially with large size vehicles which were in abundance there during our stay. Very few resturants very near the hotel other than some fast food places. However, other better places to eat could be found within a mile or two radius of the hotel on some of the other main streets & avenues. Some negatives: Elevator was slow and the doors closed quite quickly. The Hot Tub had way too much chlorine in it and the bubbling fumes burned your eyes when the water jets were turned on. Big Helpful Tip: If medical center building construction is still going on across Main Street from Hotel, ask for a room on the very west end of the building. Construction noise was extremely loud and very much came through the walls of our fifth floor, east end room. Very much learned that in Houston, they DO construction work at nights especially concrete work. Cement boom pumps ran constantly and cemnt mixer trucks came & went all night long. Then VERY early in the morning the steel workers return to give you a loud hammering wake up call, that is if you ever got sleep during the night. If I had known this was taking place there, I probably would have chosen another hotel for our two night stay. If you chose to stay here, bring some ear plugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is a close & convenient driving distance to the Reliant Center & Arena.

Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JAH
West Central Texas
Mar 13, 2010

Average & Okay - Bring Ear Plugs

In Houston for the Livestock Show. Hotel was close to the Show Arena & Livestock Building, about a mile away, which allowed for a quick short drive to our activity events without much traffic congestion. But also far enough away that it was not already booked up five months in advance for the Livestock Show participants Room was clean and somewhat nice as you would expect for a Best Western Hotel. Room rate was about average of the other hotels around the nearby area. However after staying there and enduring the some of noise during the night and early morning hours, we thought some discount on the room rate was needed for the lack of sleep inconveniences. Read further comments below. The hotel was difficult to access from the street especially coming from the south. Vehicle parking was very tight especially with large size vehicles which were in abundance there during our stay. Very few resturants very near the hotel other than some fast food places. However, other better places to eat could be found within a mile or two radius of the hotel on some of the other main streets & avenues. Some negatives: Elevator was slow and the doors closed quite quickly. The Hot Tub had way too much chlorine in it and the bubbling fumes burned your eyes when the water jets were turned on. Big Helpful Tip: If medical center building construction is still going on across Main Street from Hotel, ask for a room on the very west end of the building. Construction noise was extremely loud and very much came through the walls of our fifth floor, east end room. Very much learned that in Houston, they DO construction work at nights especially concrete work. Cement boom pumps ran constantly and cemnt mixer trucks came & went all night long. Then VERY early in the morning the steel workers return to give you a loud hammering wake up call, that is if you ever got sleep during the night. If I had known this was taking place there, I probably would have chosen another hotel for our two night stay. If you chose to stay here, bring some ear plugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is a close & convenient driving distance to the Reliant Center & Arena.

Back to menu Return to top