$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

3 stars
View map of 6700 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77030

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French Teacher
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 25, 2013

French teacher

Wonderful personnel, ordinary breakfast, good parking; not withing walking distance of many choices for lunch/dinner but near a small park..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luany
Business
NC
Aug 20, 2013

We had a good time

We had a good time there when sending our daughter to college. The front desk people are very helpful and supper nice. location is great, convenient to Medical center and rice Univ.. I hope their shuttle bus can go to more places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy trav
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 17, 2011

Med Center Best Western

Was there for business. Very handy for Med Center. Hotel was fine - clean, quiet, good wifi, reasonable breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drpums
Business
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2011

Convenient & Clean

In town for a job interview. The hotel was perfect. Conveniently located just a few minutes from my destination yet access to everything else was quite easy, food, entertainment, etc. The best part about my stay was the complimentary breakfast which was much more than the usual continental bagels and coffee. Would definitely recommend to anyone in town for a short business stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the complimentary breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crosby, TX
Oct 2, 2009

Don't turn on the heater!

I stay there often. On two occasions including this stay, I turned on the heat and acrid smoke covered the room, my clothes, my eyes and nose. Seems like a bad systemic problem to have if you are catering to very sick people at Texas Medical Center. If the heat in Texas gets used so seldom that it builds up on soot and grime that then gets burned, the maintenance schedule for cleaning the heaters needs to change before it becomes a fire hazard. For me it was a definite lung hazard. Other than that, I've always ejoyed the hotel, the people, the location, and the lovely seating arrangements where us sick folks can sit and chat together. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tour of the Medical Center while you are there. Really good. And catch the Light Rail just up the street to all the museums and the zoo...so close by. Also just north on Kirby is the quiant shopping at Rice Village. And the Galleria is't far away but does require a car. Also be sure to rind out what's at the Astrodome/Reliant Arena. Very close by and has lots of high end events.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctor M
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 15, 2009

Friendly Economica Medical Center Hotel

Other than crickets in my room (which is a common problem in Texas, so it's hard to complain), I thought the hotel was a good deal. The room was clean, the staff was very helpful and pleasant, the shuttle was convenient and the location in the Medical Center was excellent - for the price I paid, I think I got a great deal! The fitness center and pool as well as morning breakfasts were great perks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hourly shuttle around the medical center is a great way to save - you don't need to rent a car or pay for parking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend traveler to NYC
Business
Shreveport
Feb 12, 2010

GOOD VALUE

I know this hotel since many years, it was renovated recently and overall has a good price-value ration. In addition it is at walking distance from MDAnderson and other medical centers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 6, 2008

Good Location

Best Western Medical Center Houston is conveniently located near a light rail station. Also, the hotel coordinated affordable transportation from Hobby airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 13, 2008

easy access

For convenience, it has everything you need to get in and out to the Medical Center area. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're into walking/jogging--the campus of Rice University is adjacent to a neighborhood behind the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northport
Oct 24, 2008

Business Stay

The hotel entrance and exit was not convenient for automobiles. There is no evening in hotel dining. The immediate neighborhood was not conducive for walking, though I did for 2 evening meals at nearby restuarants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk - PizzaHut and Burger King Longer walk to Hospital area - Chiplotles, Starbucks and some others. Hospitals are the main reason people stay at this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top