$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

3 stars
6700 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
61 reviews
Medical trip to Houston

I have been going to Houston for many years for medical treatment. I had never stayed at the Best... See full review

  • patiente
  • Dec 8, 2013
Houston trip

Hotel was relatively easy to find from the airport. Beautifully appointed, clean and great value... See full review

  • Cindae LMT
  • Oct 18, 2013
This Houston hotel has an excellent location for your next business, leisure, or medical stay. We are conveniently located at the heart of the renowned Texas Medical Center, within a short drive to downtown Houston and the Houston Galleria Mall. We are located walking distance to Baylor Clinic, Methodist Hospital, and Texas Children's Hospital. We are also very near to the M.D. Anderson Hospital, Memorial Herman, Ben Taub, VA Hospital, St. Luke's Hospital, and many more. We offer a free hotel shuttle to and from area hospitals. Please check with the hotel for shuttle hours. We are located just blocks away from Rice University, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Woman's University, and University of Texas Medical Branch. Even if you are visiting the city for just one weekend, we should be your hotel of choice. Within a block from the hotel, you will find the Houston Metro Light Rail station. Guests can use the rail as a convenient and inexpensive method of transportation from the hotel to many area attractions like the Museum District, Holocaust Museum, Houston Zoo, downtown Houston, downtown Macy's, Reliant Stadium, Reliant Center, and much more. Every well-appointed spacious guest room features a microwave, mini-refrigerator, cable television with HBO®, complimentary high-speed Internet and complimentary local calls. Remember to join us every morning at the breakfast room to try our free full hot deluxe breakfast. Other hotel amenities include an indoor pool, spa, fitness center, business center, and a self-service guest laundry room. The staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center is ready to make your next stay a happy and enjoyable one. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel.

Hotel Map

29.7085 -95.4034
Area served
Galveston, Beaumont
Nearby airports
(HOU), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2ROOMS,SOFABED,WETBAR,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Play ground
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.3 mi

Dining

French Corner
1.60 mile(s) from French Corner, cafe, French, open for: lunch, dinner,
Houston's
2.50 mile(s) from Houston's, full service, Steak House, open for: lunch, dinner,
Burger King
0.25 mile(s) from Burger King, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Olive Garden
1.60 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Jason's Deli
1.30 mile(s) from Jason's Deli, fast food, Deli, open for: lunch, dinner,
Miyako
2.71 mile(s) from Miyako, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner,
Pappadeaux Seafood
3.00 mile(s) from Pappadeaux Seafood, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2008

convenient

If you're in and out for medical work this is as convenient as any of the hotels at the cheapest rate. If I'm going to spend over $200 on a room--I'd just as soon be on vacation. For strict business and medical purposes--this is the mose economical choice as it's substantially less than some of the other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a reasonable walk to most of the medical facilities if you're able. Metro Rail's only a buck too and you can see some of the other area if you're adventurous--that's also 5-10 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2008

convenient

If you're in and out for medical work this is as convenient as any of the hotels at the cheapest rate. If I'm going to spend over $200 on a room--I'd just as soon be on vacation. For strict business and medical purposes--this is the mose economical choice as it's substantially less than some of the other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a reasonable walk to most of the medical facilities if you're able. Metro Rail's only a buck too and you can see some of the other area if you're adventurous--that's also 5-10 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patiente
Ohio
Dec 8, 2013

Medical trip to Houston

I have been going to Houston for many years for medical treatment. I had never stayed at the Best Western Plaza. I will go there from now on. It was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cantfindanickname
Business
Boise
Aug 8, 2012

Easily accessable

Very nice hotel staff Matthew greeted us and everything was great in the room. It was quiet and comfortable. Loved all the cozy pillows on the beds; made sleep comfortable. It also had a great breakfast ; hot or cold whichever you preferred. Little tight between desk with chair out to get to closet and window; maybe the desk could go nearer window?? Anyway our experience was 5 star for us! Would have been great to have a TV channel list so you don't spend half the night channel surfing. And maybe a restaurants "that are close to hotel" list! Thanks Joni B

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nikcall
Lafayette, Louisiana
Dec 10, 2009

Great Location near Hospitals

Our room was a suite with double queen size beds and a sleeper sofa. It had a kitchenette with small refrigerator, microwave. Rooms were large. The Complimentary breakfast was great. Sausage, eggs, waffles.... Was in Houston for a medical appointment. Location was great. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Family restaurants were about 2-4 miles away. Hotel has a listy of restaurants with all the information needed. Helps to have a navigation system. Lots of one ways and no left turns.

Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindae LMT
Willliamsport PA
Oct 18, 2013

Houston trip

Hotel was relatively easy to find from the airport. Beautifully appointed, clean and great value for the price. Close to the many medical facilities. Also close to the museum district which made for pleasant diversions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 23, 2007

Location great

Location was easy access to Med Center where we needed to be early next morning. Facilities clean & near, Late night desk staff a little short & blunt on checkin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to Med. Center which was reason for picking the location. Parking arrangements limited, would have been helpful if I could have left car till +/- 3 day of check out. Advised at checkin car had to be move by noon day of check out or it was subject to being towed

Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 12, 2009

Convenient to Medical Center

Being from the San Antonio area and unfamiliar with the Houston downtown Medical Center, the staff was helpful in directing me in the right direction of the hospitals. I was able to leave my vehicle in the parking lot and walk to where I needed to go without having to add the cost of parking as well. The staff was helpful in that I checked out early in the morning and was able to leave my mother sleeping in the room till a more reasonable hour while I conducted business. Staff was willing to assit you any way they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast is available, but lunch or supper is something you have to find. Methodist hospital has a wide variety of choices, there is also a Subway (does not have everything you may have at another Subway), and a Starbucks (short walk from hotel); 5 lights on S. Main (turn right out of parking lot) a Krogers store (you have a microwave and icebox), between the hotel and 610 there is a Olive Garden and several fast food places.

Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nikcall
Lafayette, Louisiana
Dec 10, 2009

Great Location near Hospitals

Our room was a suite with double queen size beds and a sleeper sofa. It had a kitchenette with small refrigerator, microwave. Rooms were large. The Complimentary breakfast was great. Sausage, eggs, waffles.... Was in Houston for a medical appointment. Location was great. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Family restaurants were about 2-4 miles away. Hotel has a listy of restaurants with all the information needed. Helps to have a navigation system. Lots of one ways and no left turns.

Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 12, 2009

Convenient to Medical Center

Being from the San Antonio area and unfamiliar with the Houston downtown Medical Center, the staff was helpful in directing me in the right direction of the hospitals. I was able to leave my vehicle in the parking lot and walk to where I needed to go without having to add the cost of parking as well. The staff was helpful in that I checked out early in the morning and was able to leave my mother sleeping in the room till a more reasonable hour while I conducted business. Staff was willing to assit you any way they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast is available, but lunch or supper is something you have to find. Methodist hospital has a wide variety of choices, there is also a Subway (does not have everything you may have at another Subway), and a Starbucks (short walk from hotel); 5 lights on S. Main (turn right out of parking lot) a Krogers store (you have a microwave and icebox), between the hotel and 610 there is a Olive Garden and several fast food places.

Back to menu Return to top