$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

3 stars
View map of 6700 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77030

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
53 reviews
Visiting the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

Great. Would use the same hotel next time in Houston. See full review

  • Museum
  • Apr 6, 2015
It is a great place to stay if you are going to Houston for medical reasons.

I stay there when I go to Houston for check ups. I feel safe and well taken care. See full review

  • patiente
  • Dec 29, 2014
This Houston hotel has an excellent location for your next business, leisure, or medical stay. We are conveniently located at the heart of the renowned Texas Medical Center, within a short drive to downtown Houston and the Houston Galleria Mall. We are located walking distance to Baylor Clinic, Methodist Hospital, and Texas Children's Hospital. We are also very near to the M.D. Anderson Hospital, Memorial Herman, Ben Taub, VA Hospital, St. Luke's Hospital, and many more. We offer a free hotel shuttle to and from area hospitals. Please check with the hotel for shuttle hours. We are located just blocks away from Rice University, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Woman's University, and University of Texas Medical Branch. Even if you are visiting the city for just one weekend, we should be your hotel of choice. Within a block from the hotel, you will find the Houston Metro Light Rail station. Guests can use the rail as a convenient and inexpensive method of transportation from the hotel to many area attractions like the Museum District, Holocaust Museum, Houston Zoo, downtown Houston, downtown Macy's, Reliant Stadium, Reliant Center, and much more. Every well-appointed spacious guest room features a microwave, mini-refrigerator, cable television with HBO®, complimentary high-speed Internet and complimentary local calls. Remember to join us every morning at the breakfast room to try our free full hot deluxe breakfast. Other hotel amenities include an indoor pool, spa, fitness center, business center, and a self-service guest laundry room. The staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center is ready to make your next stay a happy and enjoyable one. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. Enjoy your stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2ROOMS,SOFABED,WETBAR,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Play ground
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.3 mi

Dining

Jason's Deli
1.30 mile(s) from Jason's Deli, fast food, Deli, open for: lunch, dinner,
French Corner
1.60 mile(s) from French Corner, cafe, French, open for: lunch, dinner,
Miyako
2.71 mile(s) from Miyako, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner,
Houston's
2.50 mile(s) from Houston's, full service, Steak House, open for: lunch, dinner,
Pappadeaux Seafood
3.00 mile(s) from Pappadeaux Seafood, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner,
Olive Garden
1.60 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Burger King
0.25 mile(s) from Burger King, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 53
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dawn715
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 5, 2014

Overnight in the Museum District

The suite was converted from two standard rooms, with one bathroom remodeled into a kitchenette. I imagine that for people staying near the hospitals for extended times, this fits the bill. Nothing fancy or frilly here, but clean, and the double room gave plenty of space for our party of five, including room for an extra rollaway bed. Great location for a quick trip to visit the Houston Museum District. Excellent price and very good breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stutzzz
Business
Exeter, CA
Jul 29, 2014

Medical trip

Room is clean and breakfast is above par. My only problem was the slow slow elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessie24
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 25, 2014

No Complaints

Decent. Just needed a place to sleep overnight before a tournament and there are no complaints on my end. I'd recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vanilla Queen
Business
Washington
Nov 6, 2013

Medical trip

Very close to the medical center. Great value for your buck if you plan to visit the medical facilities across the street. The rooms are generally clean and have a small fridge and a microwave. There is a small fitness center/indoor pool on the ground floor. The breakfast is OK if you are just looking for a quick bite before you start your day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You can always go to the nearby Rice village for shopping, food, coffee, beauty salons, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luany
Business
NC
Aug 20, 2013

We had a good time

We had a good time there when sending our daughter to college. The front desk people are very helpful and supper nice. location is great, convenient to Medical center and rice Univ.. I hope their shuttle bus can go to more places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
future doctors mom
Business
Seattle, WA
May 16, 2013

condo shopping

We had no problems at all. The A/C is pretty noisy but I think that is standard no matter where you stay. I like the no fee internet and parking as we had to have a car, and you can't go wrong with free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MadRag
Business
Ponch, LA
May 5, 2013

Medical Trip

Our visit was for medical reasons. This hotel is located two blocks from M.D. Anderson and it offers shuttles every hour on the hour. This was very convenient. The breakfast was helpful to start the day, however we do wish there was an in house restaurant. We had to order out for delivery of food. This was time consuming waiting on the delivery. The indoor pool was fun for the kids, although it was very difficult to communicate with one another due to the closed in facility, all sounds echoed off the walls. The pricing was comparable to surrounding hotels, and a medical rate was offered. However, we feel that all the hotels are over priced just because of location. People who have a loved one as a patient in one of the hospital facilities already have enough medical, and other bills to pay for. A hotel is a must for out of town families. We will search for a less expensive hotel for future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RamirezFamily
Business
San Juan, PR
Mar 25, 2013

Good Location

Excellent service, clean rooms and good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommy T
Business
Ankeny, Iowa
Aug 6, 2012

Near MD Anderson

The pool and spa didn't seem to be well taken care of. The breakfast in the morning was more than expected, though. Very close to MD Anderson, so we save at least $12 a day in parking. Would stay again, but would like to see some improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Owl Mom
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Rice visit

Pleasant staff. Early check-in. Good breakfast. Loved the Texas shaped waffles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Head down University to Rice Village - Shopping and dining galore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top