$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

3 stars
6700 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
46 reviews
A Great Place to Stay

The Best Western Plaza Hotel was very comfortable, staff very friendly, had shuttle vans to take me... See full review

  • LilKitten225
  • Aug 8, 2014
Medical trip to Houston

I have been going to Houston for many years for medical treatment. I had never stayed at the Best... See full review

  • patiente
  • Dec 8, 2013
This Houston hotel has an excellent location for your next business, leisure, or medical stay. We are conveniently located at the heart of the renowned Texas Medical Center, within a short drive to downtown Houston and the Houston Galleria Mall. We are located walking distance to Baylor Clinic, Methodist Hospital, and Texas Children's Hospital. We are also very near to the M.D. Anderson Hospital, Memorial Herman, Ben Taub, VA Hospital, St. Luke's Hospital, and many more. We offer a free hotel shuttle to and from area hospitals. Please check with the hotel for shuttle hours. We are located just blocks away from Rice University, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Woman's University, and University of Texas Medical Branch. Even if you are visiting the city for just one weekend, we should be your hotel of choice. Within a block from the hotel, you will find the Houston Metro Light Rail station. Guests can use the rail as a convenient and inexpensive method of transportation from the hotel to many area attractions like the Museum District, Holocaust Museum, Houston Zoo, downtown Houston, downtown Macy's, Reliant Stadium, Reliant Center, and much more. Every well-appointed spacious guest room features a microwave, mini-refrigerator, cable television with HBO®, complimentary high-speed Internet and complimentary local calls. Remember to join us every morning at the breakfast room to try our free full hot deluxe breakfast. Other hotel amenities include an indoor pool, spa, fitness center, business center, and a self-service guest laundry room. The staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center is ready to make your next stay a happy and enjoyable one. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel.

Hotel Map

29.7085 -95.4034
Area served
Galveston, Beaumont
Nearby airports
(HOU), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2ROOMS,SOFABED,WETBAR,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Play ground
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.3 mi

Dining

French Corner
1.60 mile(s) from French Corner, cafe, French, open for: lunch, dinner,
Houston's
2.50 mile(s) from Houston's, full service, Steak House, open for: lunch, dinner,
Burger King
0.25 mile(s) from Burger King, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Olive Garden
1.60 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Jason's Deli
1.30 mile(s) from Jason's Deli, fast food, Deli, open for: lunch, dinner,
Miyako
2.71 mile(s) from Miyako, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner,
Pappadeaux Seafood
3.00 mile(s) from Pappadeaux Seafood, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JAH
West Central Texas
Mar 13, 2010

Average & Okay - Bring Ear Plugs

In Houston for the Livestock Show. Hotel was close to the Show Arena & Livestock Building, about a mile away, which allowed for a quick short drive to our activity events without much traffic congestion. But also far enough away that it was not already booked up five months in advance for the Livestock Show participants Room was clean and somewhat nice as you would expect for a Best Western Hotel. Room rate was about average of the other hotels around the nearby area. However after staying there and enduring the some of noise during the night and early morning hours, we thought some discount on the room rate was needed for the lack of sleep inconveniences. Read further comments below. The hotel was difficult to access from the street especially coming from the south. Vehicle parking was very tight especially with large size vehicles which were in abundance there during our stay. Very few resturants very near the hotel other than some fast food places. However, other better places to eat could be found within a mile or two radius of the hotel on some of the other main streets & avenues. Some negatives: Elevator was slow and the doors closed quite quickly. The Hot Tub had way too much chlorine in it and the bubbling fumes burned your eyes when the water jets were turned on. Big Helpful Tip: If medical center building construction is still going on across Main Street from Hotel, ask for a room on the very west end of the building. Construction noise was extremely loud and very much came through the walls of our fifth floor, east end room. Very much learned that in Houston, they DO construction work at nights especially concrete work. Cement boom pumps ran constantly and cemnt mixer trucks came & went all night long. Then VERY early in the morning the steel workers return to give you a loud hammering wake up call, that is if you ever got sleep during the night. If I had known this was taking place there, I probably would have chosen another hotel for our two night stay. If you chose to stay here, bring some ear plugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is a close & convenient driving distance to the Reliant Center & Arena.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend traveler to NYC
Business
Shreveport
Feb 12, 2010

GOOD VALUE

I know this hotel since many years, it was renovated recently and overall has a good price-value ration. In addition it is at walking distance from MDAnderson and other medical centers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nikcall
Lafayette, Louisiana
Dec 10, 2009

Great Location near Hospitals

Our room was a suite with double queen size beds and a sleeper sofa. It had a kitchenette with small refrigerator, microwave. Rooms were large. The Complimentary breakfast was great. Sausage, eggs, waffles.... Was in Houston for a medical appointment. Location was great. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Family restaurants were about 2-4 miles away. Hotel has a listy of restaurants with all the information needed. Helps to have a navigation system. Lots of one ways and no left turns.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Crosby, TX
Oct 2, 2009

Don't turn on the heater!

I stay there often. On two occasions including this stay, I turned on the heat and acrid smoke covered the room, my clothes, my eyes and nose. Seems like a bad systemic problem to have if you are catering to very sick people at Texas Medical Center. If the heat in Texas gets used so seldom that it builds up on soot and grime that then gets burned, the maintenance schedule for cleaning the heaters needs to change before it becomes a fire hazard. For me it was a definite lung hazard. Other than that, I've always ejoyed the hotel, the people, the location, and the lovely seating arrangements where us sick folks can sit and chat together. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tour of the Medical Center while you are there. Really good. And catch the Light Rail just up the street to all the museums and the zoo...so close by. Also just north on Kirby is the quiant shopping at Rice Village. And the Galleria is't far away but does require a car. Also be sure to rind out what's at the Astrodome/Reliant Arena. Very close by and has lots of high end events.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pat's Boston
Dallas
Sep 27, 2009

HoustonVisit

Hotel is very well located, but it is too pricey for the room and services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctor M
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 15, 2009

Friendly Economica Medical Center Hotel

Other than crickets in my room (which is a common problem in Texas, so it's hard to complain), I thought the hotel was a good deal. The room was clean, the staff was very helpful and pleasant, the shuttle was convenient and the location in the Medical Center was excellent - for the price I paid, I think I got a great deal! The fitness center and pool as well as morning breakfasts were great perks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hourly shuttle around the medical center is a great way to save - you don't need to rent a car or pay for parking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boiling Springs, SC
Jul 24, 2009

Smooth as Silk!

My trip was to visit my Dad at MD Anderson cancer center for a few days. Your hotel was very convenient and the shuttle service a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rice mom on moving day
Ohio
May 10, 2009

Unfortunate

Room has several things in need of repair (clock radio and wall outlet). Someone called the room every 5 minutes looking for someone (obviously not in the room) and only speaking spanish. I called the front desk to complain, getting no answer the first time (11pm). The second time, someone said they knew about the problem and would take care of it, but did not. I had to pull the plug on the phone. To the hotel's credit, they gave me a free night's stay at any Best Western for my trouble. However, I don't think I will try this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 12, 2009

Convenient to Medical Center

Being from the San Antonio area and unfamiliar with the Houston downtown Medical Center, the staff was helpful in directing me in the right direction of the hospitals. I was able to leave my vehicle in the parking lot and walk to where I needed to go without having to add the cost of parking as well. The staff was helpful in that I checked out early in the morning and was able to leave my mother sleeping in the room till a more reasonable hour while I conducted business. Staff was willing to assit you any way they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast is available, but lunch or supper is something you have to find. Methodist hospital has a wide variety of choices, there is also a Subway (does not have everything you may have at another Subway), and a Starbucks (short walk from hotel); 5 lights on S. Main (turn right out of parking lot) a Krogers store (you have a microwave and icebox), between the hotel and 610 there is a Olive Garden and several fast food places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northport
Oct 24, 2008

Business Stay

The hotel entrance and exit was not convenient for automobiles. There is no evening in hotel dining. The immediate neighborhood was not conducive for walking, though I did for 2 evening meals at nearby restuarants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk - PizzaHut and Burger King Longer walk to Hospital area - Chiplotles, Starbucks and some others. Hospitals are the main reason people stay at this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search