$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

3 stars
6700 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
46 reviews
A Great Place to Stay

The Best Western Plaza Hotel was very comfortable, staff very friendly, had shuttle vans to take me... See full review

  • LilKitten225
  • Aug 8, 2014
Medical trip to Houston

I have been going to Houston for many years for medical treatment. I had never stayed at the Best... See full review

  • patiente
  • Dec 8, 2013
This Houston hotel has an excellent location for your next business, leisure, or medical stay. We are conveniently located at the heart of the renowned Texas Medical Center, within a short drive to downtown Houston and the Houston Galleria Mall. We are located walking distance to Baylor Clinic, Methodist Hospital, and Texas Children's Hospital. We are also very near to the M.D. Anderson Hospital, Memorial Herman, Ben Taub, VA Hospital, St. Luke's Hospital, and many more. We offer a free hotel shuttle to and from area hospitals. Please check with the hotel for shuttle hours. We are located just blocks away from Rice University, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Woman's University, and University of Texas Medical Branch. Even if you are visiting the city for just one weekend, we should be your hotel of choice. Within a block from the hotel, you will find the Houston Metro Light Rail station. Guests can use the rail as a convenient and inexpensive method of transportation from the hotel to many area attractions like the Museum District, Holocaust Museum, Houston Zoo, downtown Houston, downtown Macy's, Reliant Stadium, Reliant Center, and much more. Every well-appointed spacious guest room features a microwave, mini-refrigerator, cable television with HBO®, complimentary high-speed Internet and complimentary local calls. Remember to join us every morning at the breakfast room to try our free full hot deluxe breakfast. Other hotel amenities include an indoor pool, spa, fitness center, business center, and a self-service guest laundry room. The staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center is ready to make your next stay a happy and enjoyable one. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel.

Hotel Map

29.7085 -95.4034
Area served
Galveston, Beaumont
Nearby airports
(HOU), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2ROOMS,SOFABED,WETBAR,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Play ground
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.3 mi

Dining

French Corner
1.60 mile(s) from French Corner, cafe, French, open for: lunch, dinner,
Houston's
2.50 mile(s) from Houston's, full service, Steak House, open for: lunch, dinner,
Burger King
0.25 mile(s) from Burger King, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Olive Garden
1.60 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Jason's Deli
1.30 mile(s) from Jason's Deli, fast food, Deli, open for: lunch, dinner,
Miyako
2.71 mile(s) from Miyako, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner,
Pappadeaux Seafood
3.00 mile(s) from Pappadeaux Seafood, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GetHugh
San antonio
Nov 9, 2012

Great

Most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. Great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Enjoli
Business
Wichita Falls, TX, USA
Oct 14, 2013

Not very good

I checked in on Friday and the staff was very friendly. There are not many food places around the hotel. It location is downtown across the street from a lot of hotels. On Sunday the toilet started having problems as I was checking out I just told them about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Betty3454
Business
Cleveland, oh
Sep 10, 2013

Average

Could hear water pipes or something that woke me up while trying to sleep. Mediocre breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luany
NC
Aug 20, 2013

We had a good time

We had a good time there when sending our daughter to college. The front desk people are very helpful and supper nice. location is great, convenient to Medical center and rice Univ.. I hope their shuttle bus can go to more places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French Teacher
Austin, TX
Jun 25, 2013

French teacher

Wonderful personnel, ordinary breakfast, good parking; not withing walking distance of many choices for lunch/dinner but near a small park..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1223456789
Business
Lawrence, KS
Jun 24, 2013

Conference Stay

The hotel is pretty good for a Best Western -- trying to be more hotel than motel. The room was large and comfortable for a week's stay. A breakfast buffet was available, and it had a variety of food, but none of it exactly gourmet. I didn't have time to try the pool or exercise room. The bed was very comfortable, and it was convenient to have a frig in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

It's a long walk three blocks up Main and then west on University to "Rice Village" which has a lot of shops and restaurants. There's a set of cafes and coffee places one block east on Fannin Street around the medical center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
future doctors mom
Seattle, WA
May 16, 2013

condo shopping

We had no problems at all. The A/C is pretty noisy but I think that is standard no matter where you stay. I like the no fee internet and parking as we had to have a car, and you can't go wrong with free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MadRag
Ponch, LA
May 5, 2013

Medical Trip

Our visit was for medical reasons. This hotel is located two blocks from M.D. Anderson and it offers shuttles every hour on the hour. This was very convenient. The breakfast was helpful to start the day, however we do wish there was an in house restaurant. We had to order out for delivery of food. This was time consuming waiting on the delivery. The indoor pool was fun for the kids, although it was very difficult to communicate with one another due to the closed in facility, all sounds echoed off the walls. The pricing was comparable to surrounding hotels, and a medical rate was offered. However, we feel that all the hotels are over priced just because of location. People who have a loved one as a patient in one of the hospital facilities already have enough medical, and other bills to pay for. A hotel is a must for out of town families. We will search for a less expensive hotel for future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anny Sweety
Round Rock, TX
Apr 26, 2013

Excellent hotel

Very good hotel clean, comfortable, quiet, conveniently close to medical center, free WIFI, brekfast and parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

MD Anderson

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RamirezFamily
San Juan, PR
Mar 25, 2013

Good Location

Excellent service, clean rooms and good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GetHugh
San antonio
Nov 9, 2012

Great

Most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. Great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search