$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

3 stars
6700 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
46 reviews
A Great Place to Stay

The Best Western Plaza Hotel was very comfortable, staff very friendly, had shuttle vans to take me... See full review

  • LilKitten225
  • Aug 8, 2014
Medical trip to Houston

I have been going to Houston for many years for medical treatment. I had never stayed at the Best... See full review

  • patiente
  • Dec 8, 2013
This Houston hotel has an excellent location for your next business, leisure, or medical stay. We are conveniently located at the heart of the renowned Texas Medical Center, within a short drive to downtown Houston and the Houston Galleria Mall. We are located walking distance to Baylor Clinic, Methodist Hospital, and Texas Children's Hospital. We are also very near to the M.D. Anderson Hospital, Memorial Herman, Ben Taub, VA Hospital, St. Luke's Hospital, and many more. We offer a free hotel shuttle to and from area hospitals. Please check with the hotel for shuttle hours. We are located just blocks away from Rice University, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Woman's University, and University of Texas Medical Branch. Even if you are visiting the city for just one weekend, we should be your hotel of choice. Within a block from the hotel, you will find the Houston Metro Light Rail station. Guests can use the rail as a convenient and inexpensive method of transportation from the hotel to many area attractions like the Museum District, Holocaust Museum, Houston Zoo, downtown Houston, downtown Macy's, Reliant Stadium, Reliant Center, and much more. Every well-appointed spacious guest room features a microwave, mini-refrigerator, cable television with HBO®, complimentary high-speed Internet and complimentary local calls. Remember to join us every morning at the breakfast room to try our free full hot deluxe breakfast. Other hotel amenities include an indoor pool, spa, fitness center, business center, and a self-service guest laundry room. The staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center is ready to make your next stay a happy and enjoyable one. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel.

Hotel Map

29.7085 -95.4034
Area served
Beaumont, Galveston
Nearby airports
(HOU), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2ROOMS,SOFABED,WETBAR,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Play ground
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 0.5 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 1.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 1.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 1.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.9 mi
  • Water Wall: 4 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 4.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.3 mi

Dining

Olive Garden
1.60 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Miyako
2.71 mile(s) from Miyako, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner,
French Corner
1.60 mile(s) from French Corner, cafe, French, open for: lunch, dinner,
Burger King
0.25 mile(s) from Burger King, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Houston's
2.50 mile(s) from Houston's, full service, Steak House, open for: lunch, dinner,
Pappadeaux Seafood
3.00 mile(s) from Pappadeaux Seafood, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner,
Jason's Deli
1.30 mile(s) from Jason's Deli, fast food, Deli, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patiente
Ohio
Dec 8, 2013

Medical trip to Houston

I have been going to Houston for many years for medical treatment. I had never stayed at the Best Western Plaza. I will go there from now on. It was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LilKitten225
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 8, 2014

A Great Place to Stay

The Best Western Plaza Hotel was very comfortable, staff very friendly, had shuttle vans to take me to my conference and back to my room daily, and had a great breakfast bar. I have no complaints and would gladly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dawn715
Austin, TX
Aug 5, 2014

Overnight in the Museum District

The suite was converted from two standard rooms, with one bathroom remodeled into a kitchenette. I imagine that for people staying near the hospitals for extended times, this fits the bill. Nothing fancy or frilly here, but clean, and the double room gave plenty of space for our party of five, including room for an extra rollaway bed. Great location for a quick trip to visit the Houston Museum District. Excellent price and very good breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stutzzz
Exeter, CA
Jul 29, 2014

Medical trip

Room is clean and breakfast is above par. My only problem was the slow slow elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
patiente
Ohio
Jun 7, 2014

Medical visit.

I was given the handicap room this time. It would had been better if the bathroom would have been cleaner, the floor not so slippery, (I put towels on the floor so that I would not fall) ,the water from the shower would not flood the rest of the bathroom. Also, it would had been nice if the fridge would not have frozen everything you put in it, specially my medicine that was ruined overnight ! Besides these points, it was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Royrk
Texas
Mar 1, 2014

Unsuitable room

Room was configured for handicap access. Would not change. No counter space in or near bathroom. Floor sloped. Floodlight illuminated entire room even with blackout curtains closed. Plumbing occasionally made noise loud enough to wake one. Elevator quit last day. Rates inflated due to rodeo demand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Salata franchise nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessie24
Houston, TX
Feb 25, 2014

No Complaints

Decent. Just needed a place to sleep overnight before a tournament and there are no complaints on my end. I'd recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patiente
Ohio
Dec 8, 2013

Medical trip to Houston

I have been going to Houston for many years for medical treatment. I had never stayed at the Best Western Plaza. I will go there from now on. It was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vanilla Queen
Washington
Nov 6, 2013

Medical trip

Very close to the medical center. Great value for your buck if you plan to visit the medical facilities across the street. The rooms are generally clean and have a small fridge and a microwave. There is a small fitness center/indoor pool on the ground floor. The breakfast is OK if you are just looking for a quick bite before you start your day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You can always go to the nearby Rice village for shopping, food, coffee, beauty salons, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Student traveler14
Nebraska
Nov 1, 2013

useful for med center

Needed to stay near the med center for an interview so it was very handy. A little overpriced for the quality but I guess that goes with convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindae LMT
Willliamsport PA
Oct 18, 2013

Houston trip

Hotel was relatively easy to find from the airport. Beautifully appointed, clean and great value for the price. Close to the many medical facilities. Also close to the museum district which made for pleasant diversions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top