$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Athens Hotel Suites

2 stars
1308 Clay Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
6 reviews
great location

friendly staff, clean room, dated building from the 1920"s no elevators for those that have a hard... See full review

  • ddfire54
  • Mar 8, 2014
Perfect fit for me!

I LOVE this place! Been here on an extended stay and it's perfect for me. The price is great, it's... See full review

  • Marilyn11
  • Feb 17, 2014
Athens Hotel is nestled in the heart of Downtown Houston. This 23guestroom hotel offers an intimate atmosphere where the beauty of Greece is blended with modern day amenities. Come experience personalized service from the moment you step into this urban retreat. Athens Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the George R. Brown Convention Center Toyota Center House of Blues two blocks from the Light Rail transportation access to a variety of restaurants and many more Downtown shopping and entertainment attractions. It is also five minutes from the world famous Texas Medical Center Houston Zoo and Minute Maid Park.

Hotel Map

29.7523 -95.3646
Area served
Houston, Galveston, Pasadena
Nearby airports
William P Hobby, (HOU), 11.00, MI, E;
Area description
Airport, Take I45 south towards Downtown Exit 47D at Dallas Street Merge

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Athens Hotel Suites also booked these hotels.

Athens Hotel Suites Rooms

Deluxe 1 Queen NS
Description not provided
Deluxe 2 Queen NS
Description not provided
Standard 1 Queen NS
Description not provided
Executive 1 Queen NS
Description not provided

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Live entertainment
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Toyota Center: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.7 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.6 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.1 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.3 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.9 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.1 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.6 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.1 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Athens Hotel Suites

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Athens Hotel Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 8, 2010

Mixed bag

I stayed there because the OTC was in town, and nothing was available except $500 rooms, and this. It has about 17 rooms on the 2nd floor (walk-up) of an old building. The downstairs lobby has the feel that this place ought to be next door to the bus station. Upstairs is old, but recently and pleasantly remodeled. Furniture was probably salvaged from an older hotel, but it works. Rooms are secure, staff is pleasant, but the maids failed to show for 2 of my 5 days. Towells are flimsy. Rooms have a small but full kitchen. There's a large lighted roof-top deck with tables available for a beer or a smoke. I doubt that I'll stay there again, but if you want to be downtown on the cheap, and you can tolerate less than first-class service and ambience, this place works.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Athens Hotel Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
intownfornow
Business
north
Mar 23, 2014

A Dive Hotel at Premium Prices

The Athens is a dive, plain and simple. Positives - rooms are large and the kitchen is very convenient. Proximity to key downtown locations is primary benefit. The gentleman at the front desk was also very pleasant and helpful Negatives - The immediate block is seedy, borderline unsafe. The bed has a very tired, old, soft mattress and walls are paper thin. A number of guests congregated in the halls throughout the day, making me wonder if they were regulars. The hotel is extremely basic and dodgy enough to make the business traveler question why they would not book on Air bnb or pay a few more $$'s and book a decent hotel. Orb confirmed my booking at $109 (still too much for what you're getting) and the hotel charged me $129. Laughable, when another 70 bucks and there would be many better choices. Under no circumstances would I consider paying more than $69 bucks for something like this, despite the location. On second thought, I'd rather pick up something on Air bnb or go through a website that does not misrepresent final costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Athens Hotel Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddfire54
gulfport ms
Mar 8, 2014

great location

friendly staff, clean room, dated building from the 1920"s no elevators for those that have a hard time with stairs but a willing staff to help you with your bags, parking offered for 20 dollars, safe and secured, cramp quarters for breakfast, but fresh items, great location, walking distance to house of blues, downtown area, great restaurants. 23 rooms available only. safe location.comfortable bed, kitchenette in room very useful if you like to bring your own food and drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the foundation , at the house of blues great bar , food and atmosphere, great staff very helpful.

Review of Athens Hotel Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marilyn11
Houston, Texas
Feb 17, 2014

Perfect fit for me!

I LOVE this place! Been here on an extended stay and it's perfect for me. The price is great, it's pet friendly (which my bird loves!) and has a convenient breakfast (but you'll have to heat it yourself if you want it hot). Rooms include kitchenettes with a small set of cook/bakeware. The views on Clay street are beautiful. All rooms are upstairs, but no elevator needed if you're able-bodied. The spot couldn't be better either, because it's close to just about everything. And the staff has been very helpful when I've needed them. I would definitely recommend Athens to anyone looking for a downtown gem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Athens Hotel Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marilyn11
Houston, Texas
Feb 14, 2014

Perfect fit for me!

I love this place! Been here on an extended stay and it's perfect for me. The price is great, it's pet friendly (which my bird loves!) and has convenient breakfast (but you'll have to heat it yourself if you want it hot). Rooms include kitchenettes, the views on Clay street are beautiful and best of all, no elevator needed! The spot couldn't be better either, because it's close to just about everything. And the staff has been very helpful when I've needed them. I would definitely recommend Athens to anyone looking for a good place to stay. The only downside might be that the parking isn't *always* free, but it's free after six and weekends, which hasn't been a problem for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Athens Hotel Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Camper 2013
San Antonio, TX
Apr 15, 2013

Nightmare on Clay Street

The worst $100 I ever spent. Antiquated hotel; clerk really didn't know what she was doing and had to find help to check us in. The mattress was like jello and there was no toilet paper in the room on check in. Room was on the 2nd floor, unfortunately right above a hip hop nightclub (not part of the hotel). The entire room and bed vibrated violently from the club, after 2 hours my wife couldn't stand it anymore. There wasn't anyone on duty so we left at midnight and drove 3 1/2 hours home to get some sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Toyota Center is right next door.

Review of Athens Hotel Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 8, 2010

Mixed bag

I stayed there because the OTC was in town, and nothing was available except $500 rooms, and this. It has about 17 rooms on the 2nd floor (walk-up) of an old building. The downstairs lobby has the feel that this place ought to be next door to the bus station. Upstairs is old, but recently and pleasantly remodeled. Furniture was probably salvaged from an older hotel, but it works. Rooms are secure, staff is pleasant, but the maids failed to show for 2 of my 5 days. Towells are flimsy. Rooms have a small but full kitchen. There's a large lighted roof-top deck with tables available for a beer or a smoke. I doubt that I'll stay there again, but if you want to be downtown on the cheap, and you can tolerate less than first-class service and ambience, this place works.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search