$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

America's Inn Near The Galleria

2 stars
8201 SW Freeway, Houston, TX 77074
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Great for price

I guess the hotel has low ratings because it's not a fancy hotel. It's cheap. It's not supposed to... See full review

  • ellen podeszwa
  • Nov 21, 2013
excellence

Very clean, people very friendly. But most of all near the shoppings area See full review

  • jjbklynplay
  • Nov 15, 2013
America's Inn near the Galleria is five miles from Galleria Mall, Sugarland, First Colony Mall, Harwin Shopping District, and China Town; 10 miles from downtown Houston; and 11 miles from Reliant park, George Brown Convention Center, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, The Museum of Natural Science, and the Houston Zoo.

America's Inn Near The Galleria Rooms

Full Size
This room offers one double bed with cable TV,complimentary local calls,wireless Internet,coffee maker,iron/ironing board,microwave and refrigerator.
King Size
This room offers one king bed with cable TV,complimentary local calls, wireless Internet,coffee maker iron/ironing board,microwave and refrigerator.
Double Bed
This room offers two double beds with cable TV,complimentary local calls,wireless Internet,coffee maker iron/ironing board,microwave and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed America's Inn Near The Galleria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.689 -95.5285
Area served
Houston
Nearby airports
Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH)
Area description
America's Inn near the Galleria has proximity to galleria mall, first colony mall, china town, downtown houston, and museum of natural science.

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Chinatown: 3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 4.6 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.2 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 7.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 7.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 7.7 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 8.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 8.5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 8.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.6 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 8.6 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 4.6 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.2 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 6.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 7.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 7.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 7.7 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 8.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 8.5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 8.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 8.6 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 8.6 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 8.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 8.7 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 8.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 8.7 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 8.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 8.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 10.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 10.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 10.9 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 11 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 11 mi
  • Jones Hall: 11 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 11 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 11 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 11.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 11.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 11.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 11.4 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.6 mi
  • Wortham Center: 16.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for America's Inn Near The Galleria

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of America's Inn Near The Galleria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ellen podeszwa
spain
Nov 21, 2013

Great for price

I guess the hotel has low ratings because it's not a fancy hotel. It's cheap. It's not supposed to be fancy. Everything went very smoothly, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, sure it was a little old but look at what you're paying! If you're wanting nice, unfortunately you have to dish out the money. It is great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of America's Inn Near The Galleria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjbklynplay
houston, tx
Nov 15, 2013

excellence

Very clean, people very friendly. But most of all near the shoppings area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of America's Inn Near The Galleria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sadiajs
euless tx
Aug 5, 2013

weekend trip

Over all it was an okay experience. My only complaint was the towels are to small..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of America's Inn Near The Galleria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cali Cali Man
Houston
Jun 25, 2013

Stay away from this place!

Terrible place and terrible people, We checked in very late around 2 am after lengthy international flight.. they would not let us check out late!! we had to be out the next day at 12... Room was not clean, no shampoo or soap. .. The place was hard to find .... late staff were the most terrible thing about it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of America's Inn Near The Galleria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thomas watts
Houston
May 8, 2013

It was nice for the price

Cool for a quick get away. The staff was real nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Galleria mall

Review of America's Inn Near The Galleria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reneay79
Washington
Apr 17, 2013

Do not stay here

Do not waste your time or money here. I was not comfortable at all during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of America's Inn Near The Galleria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OSUCowboy
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Apr 15, 2013

Covered the need...

I read a previous review stating "you get what you pay for" and it's a fairly close assessment. However, we had two rooms, one was decent, the other had a old cigarrette smoke smell to it. Considering we spent about 10 hours total in the hotel it was a good deal...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of America's Inn Near The Galleria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beachcomber Al
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 25, 2013

User Reviews are grossly inflated

Saw that this had a 3.8 user review score so we gave it a try on our last-minute trip to Houston. I get the sense that they may be trying to upgrade this motel, but it's not there yet. The lobby is nice enough and the desk staff were average. When we got to the room, we were quite disappointed. They advertise "newly renovated rooms". This is only partially accurate. Old uncomfortable beds, rotted wood on the bottom of the dresser, rust and mold on the refrigerator (which did not work) were some of the un-renovated items. The bottom of the pool had obviously not been cleaned in some time. There were a total of 4 chairs by the pool and all were in disrepair. Neither of the 2 ice machines worked. The continental breakfast consisted of some muffins and cereal. They lock the entrance to one side of the parking lot at night, which means we had to drive all the way around the back of the building to get to our room. When we returned at about 11:30 Saturday evening, we saw what appeared to be a h00ker being dropped off. Several people were milling around outside. They didn't seem to be causing any problems, but something didn't seem right. We left our room at 10:30 Saturday morning and when we returned at about 6:00 PM it had not been cleaned and our keys no longer worked. Would definitely NOT recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of America's Inn Near The Galleria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boerne Gripe
Boerne, Texas
Dec 10, 2012

Terrible disappointment

The carpet was so dirty I never took my shoes off. The bathtub & shower were growing mold. There was a wad of black hair on the bathroom floor. The pillows were so thin it was a joke. When we complained, the manager said the housekeeping dept was closed & he couldn't do anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of America's Inn Near The Galleria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jackalito
Business
Redwood City, California
Aug 13, 2012

Internet connection is slow and unstable

Wireless internet connection is very weak and unstable. Water tap in bath room needs replacement Ice maker did not work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top