Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

3 stars
3825 South Expressway 83, Harlingen, TX 78550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
21 reviews
driving thru

very competent staff, clean room, swimmin pool and hot tub clean See full review

  • cool business guy
  • Aug 11, 2014
Great Value

Extremely quiet even though very close to major highway. Very clean room, pillow top mattresses.... See full review

  • Marines Rule
  • Apr 28, 2014
Charming suites, shuttle service, an outdoor pool and free breakfast
Close to plenty of shopping, golf and restaurants, the Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Harlingen offers a relaxing home base for travelers. Charming suites, an outdoor pool and a whirlpool, and a fitness center are wonderful amenities to return to after a day of sightseeing or meetings. Business features are also available for guests at the Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Harlingen, including high-speed wireless Internet access and meeting space.
Highlights
  • Outdoor heated swimming pool
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Complimentary HRL Airport shuttle service
Location
Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Harlingen is located off Highway 83 in the Rio Grande Valley in Harlingen, Texas, and is convenient to Harlingen area attractions.
Rooms
Charming, country style decor fills the suites at the Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Harlingen. All rooms come with mini-refrigerators and microwaves, along with a desk and chair. Guests have the choice of booking two-room suites, with one king- or two queen-sized beds in a separate room, and a sleeper sofa in the living room. Room service is available from selected nearby restaurants. On a romantic getaway? Book a Jacuzzi suite with one king-sized bed and an in-room Jacuzzi for two.
Features
Eliminate the travel hassles by staying at the Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Harlingen. A free shuttle (by reservation) takes guests from the HRL Airport to the hotel, where they are greeted by complimentary coffee, cookies and candy in the lobby. After visiting nearby attractions, relax by the hotel pool and whirlpool or get in a work out at the fitness center. When it is time for dinner, take the family to a local restaurant, or buy some groceries and cook out on the hotel grills. High-speed wireless Internet access is available on the property.
Transportation
  • Valley International Airport (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
Attractions
  • Hugh Ramsey Nature Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Harlingen Municipal Golf Course (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Valley Vista Mall (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Gladys Porter Zoo (21 mi/34 km)
  • South Padre Island (33 mi/53 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • One meeting room with space for 15 to 30 people
  • High-speed wired and wireless Internet access
  • A 24-hour business center with computer, fax machine and photocopier

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

26.167 -97.6915
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
RIO GRANDE VALLEY INTL ARPT, (HRL), 5.90, MI, SW; SOUTH PADRE ISLAND INTL ARPT, (BRO), 30.00, MI, N; MILLER INTL, (MFE), 40.00, MI, E;
Area description
Airport, This hotel is located near the airport.

Dining

China Restaurant
2 miles West of hotel
Oyster Bar Restaurant
2 miles Southwest of hotel
Peso Bills
3 miles West of hotel
Lone Star Restaurant
9 miles North of Hotel
Pepe's Mexican Restaurant
3 Miles West of Hotel
Cici's Pizza
4 miles west of hotel
Breakfast Room
.
Longhorn Cattle Co BBQ & Steak
3 Miles SE of the hotel
Los Asados
3.1 Miles from the hotel
Seafarer Restaurant
1.6 Miles from the hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Troy, OH
Nov 23, 2009

Great place

Staff was very helpful, friendly and accomadating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luis super dad
houstontx
Aug 20, 2009

fantastic !!

its an excellent place to stay , very friendly staff, my family end me love that hotel. but the best thing its very clean, in this place you can feel like home,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shellers
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel, we enjoyed our stay. Room was very clean and looked great! Bed was very confortable. Nice quiet place to stay, and it was easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hermie corpus christ tx
harlengin tx
Sep 19, 2012

had enjoyable stay

staff was friendly and helpfull. hotel rooms ground clean and very comfertable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GonzalesMommy
Castroville, Texas
Jul 21, 2010

Gonzales Summer Vaca 2010

We stayed 3 nights - we visited the Outlet Mall in Mercedes, South Padre Island, and the awesome zoo in Brownsville. Great location to do it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cool business guy
Business
san antonio texas
Aug 11, 2014

driving thru

very competent staff, clean room, swimmin pool and hot tub clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown, OH
May 11, 2009

Excellent service / great room

The staff was helpful and friendly, allowing us to change to a larger room to accomodate family gatherings. We were there for a death in the familiy and really appreciated their thoughtfulness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy, TX
Mar 22, 2010

Nice family friendly hotel

Beds were very comfortable. Decent reception on Wi-Fi. Staff was very courteous. Biggest plus was the Heated pool and whirl pool. Allowed me to take my kid to the pool when beach water was too cold for swimming. Room was typical size for this price range. Fitness center was fairly small (mostly cardio), but equipment in good working order and clean. Pleasant environment for a lite workout though with TV and water cooler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBall Ref
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 4, 2010

Great hotel for the price!

Very pleasant experience at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas,TX
Mar 29, 2010

Good deal....one thing though.........

This hotel was very nice, especially for the price. I would highly recommend it to others. The only real issue I had was with the air conditioning unit. When I arrived the room did not seem very cool. I chalked it up to the room being unused, so therefore the staff put the setting on low. I turned up the a/c and left shortly after.When I returned, the room still didn't feel much cooler. Again, I chalked it up to the weather being hot and the room taking a while to get cooler. I got ready for bed and checked the a/c setting again, to make sure it was supposed to be cooling. I kept waking up throughout the night feeling a little uncomfortable due to the temperature in the room. In the morning, as I was leaving for the day, I stopped by the front desk to ask if they could have maintenance look at the unit. The young man at the front desk, assured me he would have the unit looked at. When I returned later in the day, the room was definitely cooler,however now at this point, it was too cold. I turned the a/c down to a more comfortable temperature. I should of left the unit alone as the temperature did not stay consistently cool throughout the rest of my stay. despite setting the temperature at a reasonable setting. I did not bother to raise the issue again with the front desk. Despite this small issue, my stay was enjoyable and I would recommend this hotel for others especially at the great rate I got. I will most likely use this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top