Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

3 stars
View map of 3825 South Expressway 83, Harlingen, TX 78550

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Christmas with the in-laws

We stayed 12/24/2014 and checked out 12/26/2014. Because of the holiday, the hotel was pretty... See full review

  • Roger S.
  • Feb 4, 2015
Awesome Family Trip

This is worth for the money that you pay. A good hotel at a reasonable distance from south parde... See full review

  • Lal Phillip
  • May 14, 2015
Close to plenty of shopping, golf and restaurants, the Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Harlingen offers a relaxing home base for travelers. Charming suites, an outdoor pool and a whirlpool, and a fitness center are wonderful amenities to return to after a day of sightseeing or meetings. Business features are also available for guests at the Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Harlingen, including high-speed wireless Internet access and meeting space.
Location
Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Harlingen is located off Highway 83 in the Rio Grande Valley in Harlingen, Texas, and is convenient to Harlingen area attractions.
Rooms
Charming, country style decor fills the suites at the Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Harlingen. All rooms come with mini-refrigerators and microwaves, along with a desk and chair. Guests have the choice of booking two-room suites, with one king- or two queen-sized beds in a separate room, and a sleeper sofa in the living room. Room service is available from selected nearby restaurants. On a romantic getaway? Book a Jacuzzi suite with one king-sized bed and an in-room Jacuzzi for two.
Property features
Eliminate the travel hassles by staying at the Country Inn and Suites by Carlson Harlingen. A free shuttle (by reservation) takes guests from the HRL Airport to the hotel, where they are greeted by complimentary coffee, cookies and candy in the lobby. After visiting nearby attractions, relax by the hotel pool and whirlpool or get in a work out at the fitness center. When it is time for dinner, take the family to a local restaurant, or buy some groceries and cook out on the hotel grills. High-speed wireless Internet access is available on the property.
Highlights
  • Outdoor heated swimming pool
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Complimentary HRL Airport shuttle service
Nearby attractions
  • Hugh Ramsey Nature Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Harlingen Municipal Golf Course (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Valley Vista Mall (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Gladys Porter Zoo (21 mi/34 km)
  • South Padre Island (33 mi/53 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • One meeting room with space for 15 to 30 people
  • High-speed wired and wireless Internet access
  • A 24-hour business center with computer, fax machine and photocopier
Transportation
  • Valley International Airport (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (23 mi/38 km)

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

26.167 -97.6915
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
RIO GRANDE VALLEY INTL ARPT, (HRL), 5.90, MI, SW; SOUTH PADRE ISLAND INTL ARPT, (BRO), 30.00, MI, N; MILLER INTL, (MFE), 40.00, MI, E;
Area description
Airport, This hotel is located near the airport.

Dining

China Restaurant
2 miles West of hotel
Oyster Bar Restaurant
2 miles Southwest of hotel
Peso Bills
3 miles West of hotel
Lone Star Restaurant
9 miles North of Hotel
Pepe's Mexican Restaurant
3 Miles West of Hotel
Cici's Pizza
4 miles west of hotel
Breakfast Room
.
Longhorn Cattle Co BBQ & Steak
3 Miles SE of the hotel
Los Asados
3.1 Miles from the hotel
Seafarer Restaurant
1.6 Miles from the hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shellers
Business
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel, we enjoyed our stay. Room was very clean and looked great! Bed was very confortable. Nice quiet place to stay, and it was easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luis super dad
Business
houstontx
Aug 20, 2009

fantastic !!

its an excellent place to stay , very friendly staff, my family end me love that hotel. but the best thing its very clean, in this place you can feel like home,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troy, OH
Nov 23, 2009

Great place

Staff was very helpful, friendly and accomadating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger S.
Business
Austin
Feb 4, 2015

Christmas with the in-laws

We stayed 12/24/2014 and checked out 12/26/2014. Because of the holiday, the hotel was pretty empty. I would guess there might have been a dozen guests including us in the entire building. We got a jumbo sized room just above the check-in desk. The lady at check in was very nice and there was coffee and cookies available. The room was tidy, the sheets were in good condition, the passive ventilator in the bathroom worked, and the hot breakfast was an added nice touch. The hotel is really convenient to get to, just off the highway and tucked in a residential area. HEB (grocery store) is probably a mile up the road along with a Cinnemark movie theater and a Mall. They provided Panteen shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. The room had a small fridge, microwave, and tiled eating area with a large table. They provide a hot breakfast in the downstairs dining area with scrambled eggs, sausage, and potatos in hot chaffing pans and they also had the usual fare of cold items, like toast, cereal, milk, juice, etc. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marines Rule
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 28, 2014

Great Value

Extremely quiet even though very close to major highway. Very clean room, pillow top mattresses. Easy access around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hermie corpus christ tx
Business
harlengin tx
Sep 19, 2012

had enjoyable stay

staff was friendly and helpfull. hotel rooms ground clean and very comfertable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expatriot of the Valley
Business
Ohio
May 20, 2013

Good stay

My experience was overall great with friendly staff, easy access to 77 and 83, and comfortable accommodations. My only complaint is that when I took a shower around 3:15pm the water completely stopped halfway through and didn't come back on for 30 minutes. I guess you should warn your guests when you turn off the water for maintenance work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony Chela
Business
Manor, TX
May 28, 2013

South Padre Island Weekend

Hotel was great! We stayed here over the Memorial day weekend while visiting South Padre Island. The drive to the island was about 35min but worth the drive for the price and overall hotel experience. It was great to have the suite which has a separate living room area. All amenities and breakfast included. Great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 2, 2009

Excellent Lay-over spot

We just spent a week in Mexico with our church group. Most on our team flew out immediately. Our flight arrangements needed to be for 2 days later. We stayed here. There are no eating or entertainment businesses within walking distance. The hotel shuttle took us out, but for a charge. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was good. We slept well and had a great shower after being out of the country for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be prepared to drive. If you have no vehicle, plan to use the hotel shuttle. Nothing is within walking distance.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown, OH
May 11, 2009

Excellent service / great room

The staff was helpful and friendly, allowing us to change to a larger room to accomodate family gatherings. We were there for a death in the familiy and really appreciated their thoughtfulness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top