$36 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Travelodge Galveston

2 stars
3924 Ave U, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
82 reviews
weekend getaway

Location was great. The only negative was that they ran out of towels and blankets. But, Walmart... See full review

  • om84
  • Sep 3, 2013
wanted to b near texas city to leave for houston on monday mornig

my time there was amazing and outstanding i have told so many others about the value , experience... See full review

  • kleo
  • Dec 4, 2012
We are conveniently located within walking distance to the beach. Bask in the sun and play at the beach while enjoying southern hospitality at the Travelodge hotel on Galveston Island. Be sure to ask about free cruise parking and take an inexpensive taxi ride to the cruise ship terminal at the Port of Galveston, less than three miles. Great restaurants nearby. Our hotel features king and double queen rooms, all with microwaves, mini-refrigerators, and large 27in TVs with cable and free HBO, an outdoor swimming pool, free continental breakfast, and high-speed internet access. Pets allowed for a fee. Free Cruise ship parking available. Conveniently located close to UTMB Hospital.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Galveston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Galveston

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Apr 15, 2010

A tired hotel

This was a tired, old, not clean hotel near the ocean, but not worth even the low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Palestine, Texas
Jun 7, 2010

HORRIBLE HOTEL!!!!!!!!!

The room was absolutely awful and the staff was worse. The only light working in the room was the bathroom and when I told the front desk clerk he just said ok. When you showered there was 12-14 inches of water that was standing in the tub. Th handle kept coming off of the sink. It was advertised that there was a hot tub and hair dryers in the room which neither is true. The staff was awful and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bujeaux
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Never again

The only good thing about this motel was the location. Staff was sooo unfriendly, and less than helpful. Room was not filthy, but not spotless either. The worse part was lukewarm water, never could get any "hot" water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krissy and Joseph
Business
Katy, Texas
May 29, 2012

Terrible!!!

My boyfriend and I have stayed at several hotels on the island; and this one, by far, was the WORST experience ever! The guy working the desk is very unfriendly and a real jerk. We will Never stay here again and I definitely wouldnt recommend anyone else do either!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I 75palm
Business
Dallas tx
Nov 25, 2012

need more training

my experience was bad....1st the management was rude and not friendly...2nd gave me a key to a room that had people still in the room!! walkway was full of bird droppings!!! will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
StevenTX
Business
Austin
Jan 3, 2013

Good location but poor room situation

We check into a room with heater which was not working, the female hotel stuff keep telling me there is nothing she can do and manager on duty is out for the weekend, it tooks us more than one hour to keep talking to her on changing to another room as the air is cold after turning on the heater for one hour. The room in first floor appear to be clean until we found out several small cockroachs running around at late in the night....another sign of poor pets/cockroach control. Would not recommend the hotel unless manager/owner change..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Country girl Nikki
Business
Galveston Island, Tx.
Feb 25, 2013

Welcome to Joe's Apartment....... Gross!!

Ever seen the movie Joe's Apartment, must of been filmed at this hotel. Totally infested with roaches in and on fridge and microwave, all over the bathroom. in the nightstand near the beds. I didn't sleep to afraid they would be all over me. we actually kept our bags in our truck so they would not get in our stuff. it's in a great location if you can get past the bugs.... Never again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Small Town Gypsy
Business
Galveston Island
Jul 18, 2013

Dissapointed

Drove 12 hours to get to Galveston! Couldn't wait to get to the hotel. After seeing it...I couldn't wait to leave. The pictures online make it look way better than it is. there was mold on the ceiling, tub, ect. When checking out the workers were arguing about whose job it was to do something. it was pretty gross. I would rather go camping or pay 50 more for a comfortable room down the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant across from Pleasure Pier was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TNaHHHHHHHHHHHH
Business
BTR
Aug 8, 2013

Hot Mess

Horrible Staff Nasty Room Nasty Hotel Surroundings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most attractions are in walking distance or bicycle distance. To get in your car you will not have to travel far.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DEEinOK
Business
Oklahoma
Sep 2, 2013

Never AGAIN!!

This was horrid, when we checked in and went to our room the A/C was off on a 100 degree day so we had to wait forever for the room to cool down. There were bugs crawling in the bathroom and it was just down right nasty! On our 2nd day there all the maid did was lay towels on the edge of the bed, didn't make the beds or anything. The 1st night it was noise all night long and people banging on our door at 3am, the 2nd night was even worse got woke up by a loud drunk screaming at his woman and causing all kinds of commotion.......... If you don't mind hanging out in hot and nasty surroundings, with the good possibility of violence this is the place for you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top