$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Travelodge Galveston

2 stars
3924 Ave U, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
113 reviews
weekend getaway

Location was great. The only negative was that they ran out of towels and blankets. But, Walmart... See full review

  • om84
  • Sep 3, 2013
Travelodge Galveston, Tx

Convenient for Disney Cruise...Free parking. Friendly & helpful staff! See full review

  • Proud Momma Nancy
  • May 5, 2013
We are conveniently located within walking distance to the beach. Bask in the sun and play at the beach while enjoying southern hospitality at the Travelodge hotel on Galveston Island. Be sure to ask about free cruise parking and take an inexpensive taxi ride to the cruise ship terminal at the Port of Galveston, less than three miles. Great restaurants nearby. Our hotel features king and double queen rooms, all with microwaves, mini-refrigerators, and large 27in TVs with cable and free HBO, an outdoor swimming pool, free continental breakfast, and high-speed internet access. Pets allowed for a fee. Free Cruise ship parking available. Conveniently located close to UTMB Hospital.

Hotel Map

29.2793 -94.8052
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Galveston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Galveston

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mission, TX
Dec 5, 2010

Great value, great location, great price

We needed simple overnight accomodations before leaving on a cruise.The room was clean and comfortable. The motel had free parking for our vehicle the week we were out of the US. The staff was friendly and helpful calling a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mission, TX
Dec 5, 2010

Great value, great location, great price

We needed simple overnight accomodations before leaving on a cruise.The room was clean and comfortable. The motel had free parking for our vehicle the week we were out of the US. The staff was friendly and helpful calling a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston,tx
Oct 9, 2010

ok if you dont need much!

fishing. Gaido;s restaurant. right bey seawall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston,tx
Oct 9, 2010

ok if you dont need much!

fishing. Gaido;s restaurant. right bey seawall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
College Station, TX
Aug 27, 2010

Expected better

We expected to have a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom because the picture on the website showed one in the room and once we arrived there was none. Also, the water in the bedroom never got hot enough for us to take a shower. We decided to hit the pool and the hot tub and discovered the hot tub (which was featured in the pictures) was covered up by a deck and patio chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
College Station, TX
Aug 27, 2010

Expected better

We expected to have a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom because the picture on the website showed one in the room and once we arrived there was none. Also, the water in the bedroom never got hot enough for us to take a shower. We decided to hit the pool and the hot tub and discovered the hot tub (which was featured in the pictures) was covered up by a deck and patio chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
memer
texas
Aug 15, 2010

Our Hotel stay

We arrived in Galveston after a 5 hour trip at 3:00 pm. We stayed for 6 days.(Mon-Sun) We checked in and was told that we could not enter our room until 4:00 Pm. No budging on that she seemed as though she had had a bad day. Ok we went to see our room it looked cleaned from the window. We waited until 4:00 then got our key. The room was very clean and had plenty of towels. The bed was not that great though. The pool is a little small but it was clean. The location of the hotel was good for us. Its about 3 miles after you get on the sea wall. It does not have a view. There is a set of condos in front of it that pretty much hide the beach. We had to go to the front desk 3 times to get a new key. finally the clerk came to our room and checked out the lock to find the battery had quit working so we had to get a clerk every time we had to get back in our room. Breakfast was a disaster. Not enough variety. Not enough room. Breakfast consist of Waffles,muffins,pastry,whole milk toast,2 kinds of juices and coffee. There was only 1 waffle maker So there was a line waiting to get those This hotel earns its 1-2 stars.I think to make our stay more enjoyable would be to rethink the breakfast items(oatmeal,fruit,granola bars,microwavable items. Hire a staff that is friendlier. Add a coffee pot to the rooms and maybe a better bed. over all the Hotel is worth the money we paid and will stay again. I just hope next time our locks will work!!! There's a Denny's up the street for breakfast. Happy vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Millers landing is a must to eat at. Great shrimp great oysters and the best coleslaw. If you go towards the end of the season some shops will bargain with you on the goods. I got several sun dresses buy one get one free and 15-25% off of other items.

Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
memer
texas
Aug 15, 2010

Our Hotel stay

We arrived in Galveston after a 5 hour trip at 3:00 pm. We stayed for 6 days.(Mon-Sun) We checked in and was told that we could not enter our room until 4:00 Pm. No budging on that she seemed as though she had had a bad day. Ok we went to see our room it looked cleaned from the window. We waited until 4:00 then got our key. The room was very clean and had plenty of towels. The bed was not that great though. The pool is a little small but it was clean. The location of the hotel was good for us. Its about 3 miles after you get on the sea wall. It does not have a view. There is a set of condos in front of it that pretty much hide the beach. We had to go to the front desk 3 times to get a new key. finally the clerk came to our room and checked out the lock to find the battery had quit working so we had to get a clerk every time we had to get back in our room. Breakfast was a disaster. Not enough variety. Not enough room. Breakfast consist of Waffles,muffins,pastry,whole milk toast,2 kinds of juices and coffee. There was only 1 waffle maker So there was a line waiting to get those This hotel earns its 1-2 stars.I think to make our stay more enjoyable would be to rethink the breakfast items(oatmeal,fruit,granola bars,microwavable items. Hire a staff that is friendlier. Add a coffee pot to the rooms and maybe a better bed. over all the Hotel is worth the money we paid and will stay again. I just hope next time our locks will work!!! There's a Denny's up the street for breakfast. Happy vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Millers landing is a must to eat at. Great shrimp great oysters and the best coleslaw. If you go towards the end of the season some shops will bargain with you on the goods. I got several sun dresses buy one get one free and 15-25% off of other items.

Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
longview,tx
Aug 13, 2010

good price for me to able to come there!

cane in got our room and that was it, would have been nicer if the people worked there had a friendly attitide and not watched your every move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
longview,tx
Aug 13, 2010

good price for me to able to come there!

cane in got our room and that was it, would have been nicer if the people worked there had a friendly attitide and not watched your every move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top