$36 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Travelodge Galveston

2 stars
3924 Ave U, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
80 reviews
weekend getaway

Location was great. The only negative was that they ran out of towels and blankets. But, Walmart... See full review

  • om84
  • Sep 3, 2013
wanted to b near texas city to leave for houston on monday mornig

my time there was amazing and outstanding i have told so many others about the value , experience... See full review

  • kleo
  • Dec 4, 2012
We are conveniently located within walking distance to the beach. Bask in the sun and play at the beach while enjoying southern hospitality at the Travelodge hotel on Galveston Island. Be sure to ask about free cruise parking and take an inexpensive taxi ride to the cruise ship terminal at the Port of Galveston, less than three miles. Great restaurants nearby. Our hotel features king and double queen rooms, all with microwaves, mini-refrigerators, and large 27in TVs with cable and free HBO, an outdoor swimming pool, free continental breakfast, and high-speed internet access. Pets allowed for a fee. Free Cruise ship parking available. Conveniently located close to UTMB Hospital.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Galveston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Galveston

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 7, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We basically just spent the night at the hotel. It would have been nice to have a private balcony, which we didn't. The pool was green! We didn't feel like using it! The room reeked of smoke, but we were assured that this was a non-smoking hotel! I woke up because of the light. The curtains were not dark enough or covering the window enough. There were no blow driers or irons in the room. We were told we could get them at the reception, which we didn't know at first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Landry's Seafood Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bwood1990
Business
Tomball, TX
Jun 3, 2010

Great location

The hotel was really nice. The rooms were really large. The pool was disgusting but the good thing about the location is you can walk to the sea wall. There were quite a few restaurants within walking distance as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty much everything closes before 10

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissappointed vacationer
Business
Port Arthur
Jun 2, 2010

good price but...

The pool was green and had to be locked. There was mold in the room and the carpets were stained and very nasty looking. The toilet would not flush properly. I didn't think a continental breakfast was a bowl of Cheerios and a jug of milk that had been sitting out. It would have been fine for just a place to shower and sleep but would never recommend for a vacation there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Loving Dad
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 1, 2010

Terrible experience I've ever have

I booked two rooms, one for my wife and I and the other for my son and his friends, I asked for the rooms to be at least on the same floor and they went ahead and put them separately on different floors! When I went into the room, it was dirty,smelled bad, and there must of been bugs because my son's ear was unusually hurting the whole night. The pool is barely 4 yards long and 6 feet wide, it was dirty, green and filled with algae and fungi. We checked out at 11am and they clearly said that we had until 3pm to leave but the owner came in at 12pm and rudely yelled at us to get out for some reason when a couple hours ago she said we had until 3pm; after she yelled at us she only gave us 10 minutes to pack up and leave and almost charged us another whole day. In conclusion, this was one of the worst hotels we've ever been to, with poor service, poor room conditions, and poor sanitary conditions too. After this expirience we are for certain, never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lilmsmary
Business
Galveston, Texas
May 31, 2010

Nothing Spectacular

Beds not very comfortable, Bathtub was (old) set in dirty stain,cannot take your breakfast back to your room so it was a little crowded. It was just okay, I have stayed in better places in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mario's Ristorante pizza place. Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Apr 26, 2010

Loved the Hotel

I was there for a family and friend reunion. The service and cleanliness was great. However When I checked in I tried to reserve an additional room and I was told it would cost $154.00 for it. This was a mark up of 200% in comparison to my already reserved room and in comparison to similiar hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SAE
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 17, 2010

Great for the price

This is a good Hotel for price. Great location. Rooms are large. Firm beds. Clean bathroom. Clean sheets and towels. Carpet in room needed a steam cleaning. Free breakfast was just ok. Didn't pay for high class didn't get high class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't wait till late to try to eat within walking distance. We went to dinner at 8:30pm and good places were closed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Apr 15, 2010

A tired hotel

This was a tired, old, not clean hotel near the ocean, but not worth even the low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange Tx
Apr 6, 2010

Terrible hotel and service.

The service was awful. The lights flickered non-stop for two days. Only 7 cable channels worked out of the 20 something advertised. The wireless internet was out, i asked the staff what i was doing wrong and they said there was nothing they could do, "sometimes it just doesn't work." Besides the location and the decent looking rooms, this hotel is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
May 28, 2008

Excellent Location

The room was upstairs, with no elevator. Despite this, the hotel was exactly what we were looking for; perfect location in relationship to Galveston beaches and the main road, easy access, easy large parking lot, continental breakfast in the morning, and we called and were able to receive late check out. It was an excellent value for our money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top