$36 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Travelodge Galveston

2 stars
3924 Ave U, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
81 reviews
weekend getaway

Location was great. The only negative was that they ran out of towels and blankets. But, Walmart... See full review

  • om84
  • Sep 3, 2013
wanted to b near texas city to leave for houston on monday mornig

my time there was amazing and outstanding i have told so many others about the value , experience... See full review

  • kleo
  • Dec 4, 2012
We are conveniently located within walking distance to the beach. Bask in the sun and play at the beach while enjoying southern hospitality at the Travelodge hotel on Galveston Island. Be sure to ask about free cruise parking and take an inexpensive taxi ride to the cruise ship terminal at the Port of Galveston, less than three miles. Great restaurants nearby. Our hotel features king and double queen rooms, all with microwaves, mini-refrigerators, and large 27in TVs with cable and free HBO, an outdoor swimming pool, free continental breakfast, and high-speed internet access. Pets allowed for a fee. Free Cruise ship parking available. Conveniently located close to UTMB Hospital.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Galveston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Galveston

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station, TX
Aug 27, 2010

Expected better

We expected to have a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom because the picture on the website showed one in the room and once we arrived there was none. Also, the water in the bedroom never got hot enough for us to take a shower. We decided to hit the pool and the hot tub and discovered the hot tub (which was featured in the pictures) was covered up by a deck and patio chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
memer
Business
texas
Aug 15, 2010

Our Hotel stay

We arrived in Galveston after a 5 hour trip at 3:00 pm. We stayed for 6 days.(Mon-Sun) We checked in and was told that we could not enter our room until 4:00 Pm. No budging on that she seemed as though she had had a bad day. Ok we went to see our room it looked cleaned from the window. We waited until 4:00 then got our key. The room was very clean and had plenty of towels. The bed was not that great though. The pool is a little small but it was clean. The location of the hotel was good for us. Its about 3 miles after you get on the sea wall. It does not have a view. There is a set of condos in front of it that pretty much hide the beach. We had to go to the front desk 3 times to get a new key. finally the clerk came to our room and checked out the lock to find the battery had quit working so we had to get a clerk every time we had to get back in our room. Breakfast was a disaster. Not enough variety. Not enough room. Breakfast consist of Waffles,muffins,pastry,whole milk toast,2 kinds of juices and coffee. There was only 1 waffle maker So there was a line waiting to get those This hotel earns its 1-2 stars.I think to make our stay more enjoyable would be to rethink the breakfast items(oatmeal,fruit,granola bars,microwavable items. Hire a staff that is friendlier. Add a coffee pot to the rooms and maybe a better bed. over all the Hotel is worth the money we paid and will stay again. I just hope next time our locks will work!!! There's a Denny's up the street for breakfast. Happy vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Millers landing is a must to eat at. Great shrimp great oysters and the best coleslaw. If you go towards the end of the season some shops will bargain with you on the goods. I got several sun dresses buy one get one free and 15-25% off of other items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
longview,tx
Aug 13, 2010

good price for me to able to come there!

cane in got our room and that was it, would have been nicer if the people worked there had a friendly attitide and not watched your every move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Staminatic
Business
Tx
Aug 10, 2010

Pleasant Surprise

I booked the hotel before reading any previous reviews, never stayed at this hotel. Then when I read some of the reviews I was a little apprehensive about going through with the reservation. We stayed 2 nights starting on a Thursday. When I checked in at 4:15 the front desk man wasn't talkative but wasn't unfriendly either. He asked me to write down the year make model and color of my vehicle along with the license plate. I obliged bcuz I assumed it was for our protection to monitor unauthorized vehicles or non-guests who break in or come to swim in the pool. The room was BIG! Bigger than we expected, & spotless. The AC was off and the room was still quite cool. And with the AC on we were in heaven. There were plenty of towels & the television had about 20 channels & not a very good programming selection, but we had HBO & Showtime. I've seen continental breakfasts with way less than what this one had. We ventured out all day and when we came back the room was cleaned, the used towels replaced, & no personal belongings missing (always a good thing). We swam in the pool until dusk on both days, & there was no algae, the water wasnt cloudy it was crystal. The pool was small, but never crowded & it closes at 10pm every night. I am not sure, but I read in another review that the hotel houses displaced Hurricane Ike victims? And that the people stare you down & give you ugly looks if you are a new guest or arrival, and yes, I saw a few people sitting outside on the 1st floor who seemed to know the people on the 2nd & 3rd floor well, and we got stares, but nobody was threatening. i do believe this is something that should be noted, but law doesnt allow them to give that information out or something. OK this is not a 5-Star hotel, but I guess I am not a 5-star girl! I heard rumors of bedbugs, mice, flies, rude front desk personnel, and I saw nothing of the kind. The price was great for the accomodations & amenities. On this particular occasion we actually got more than what we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tabbie
Business
Franklin, LA
Jul 17, 2010

Great Destination

This was an okay hotel. We got what we paid for. The hotel was very close to the beach. We were looking for a small vacation on a budget, so this was a perfect bargain for us. It was a place for us to lay our heads and shower. We didn't really spend much time in the room because we were out and about the town. The pool was tiny and cloudy. It was closed the last day we were there. Other than that, it was fine. We got what we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive or long walk to the Rainforest Cafe. Also great for kids. Includes dining, shopping, and a river ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jul 4, 2010

Mediocre Hotgel

The staff was helpful but difficult to understand as they had heavy accent Refridgerator was not cold: warm almost room temperature I was told that was as cold as it got I had to buy an ice chest to keep my food cold There were birds dropping on the stair railings Hotel needed esthetic repairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good seafood restaurants within short distance of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JENIC
Business
Arlington, TX
Jul 1, 2010

Great Deal

It was a great place! My fiance and I loved it. The only sad part was that the cable tv wasnt working that well but location was great for my bussines trip and near the ocean too :) I liked the guy at front desk, him his wife and kid were so friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Expecting Couple
Business
Orange,TX
Jun 19, 2010

Decent, but had better stays..

The Good- Love how they redid the rooms since our last stay in June 2009. The lady at the front desk was rude at first but i got her to be polite in the end. The bed was decent. Bathroom was really nice. The Bad- False advertisement on the cable channels, your lucky if you get 3 clear channels. The breakfast left much to be desired (they knew they had many guests staying, so wouldnt you think to put out more breakfast?also, there was nowhere to sit so we had to take our breakfast back up to our room), there were 2 flies in our room that bugged us constantly, the neighbors were quite loud, people who were not guests were swimming in the pool. But overall, you got what you paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Where its located, you can have a short walk to places to eat if you dont feel like driving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LeRoy OH
Business
Anacoco, la
Jun 14, 2010

good trip

it was a clean room all and all it was great the room that was above mine had kid that jumped around but it was so close to the beach and i didnt have to go far to ge some food it was awesome tiny pool but two thumbs up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Palestine, Texas
Jun 7, 2010

HORRIBLE HOTEL!!!!!!!!!

The room was absolutely awful and the staff was worse. The only light working in the room was the bathroom and when I told the front desk clerk he just said ok. When you showered there was 12-14 inches of water that was standing in the tub. Th handle kept coming off of the sink. It was advertised that there was a hot tub and hair dryers in the room which neither is true. The staff was awful and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top