$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Travelodge Galveston

2 stars
3924 Ave U, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
80 reviews
weekend getaway

Location was great. The only negative was that they ran out of towels and blankets. But, Walmart... See full review

  • om84
  • Sep 3, 2013
Travelodge Galveston, Tx

Convenient for Disney Cruise...Free parking. Friendly & helpful staff! See full review

  • Proud Momma Nancy
  • May 5, 2013
We are conveniently located within walking distance to the beach. Bask in the sun and play at the beach while enjoying southern hospitality at the Travelodge hotel on Galveston Island. Be sure to ask about free cruise parking and take an inexpensive taxi ride to the cruise ship terminal at the Port of Galveston, less than three miles. Great restaurants nearby. Our hotel features king and double queen rooms, all with microwaves, mini-refrigerators, and large 27in TVs with cable and free HBO, an outdoor swimming pool, free continental breakfast, and high-speed internet access. Pets allowed for a fee. Free Cruise ship parking available. Conveniently located close to UTMB Hospital.

Hotel Map

29.2793 -94.8052
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Galveston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Galveston

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain Awesome of Texas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 30, 2012

good family gateway

The rooms could have been a bit cleaner and the pool is a bit small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMenefee
Business
Lufkin, Texas
Oct 10, 2012

Loud!!!

Was a pleasant stay over all..Room was clean did smell funny so bought a candle..they made the bed everyday...could use a coffee machine...Good Breakfast...very short walk from the beach....would stay again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waffle had Great Food!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
qwertyuiopasdfghjklzxcvbn
Business
Richardson, TX
Oct 8, 2012

Typical Beach Hotel

Not horable. What was a nice hotel a bit beaten up by too many spring breaks and college students. Could use quite a few repairs. Room clean and no major noise issues. Good location near beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Halby
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 9, 2012

Musty

Air within the room was very musty and we had to run the AC continous to try and get the humidity and smell out of the air. AC unit had been cleaned since probably IKE or before, so that didn't help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Goldameyer
Business
Texas
Sep 5, 2012

Attention!! Bed Bugs!!!!

The location is good. There are a few good restaurants right across the street from the hotel. The staff has no idea how to run this sort of business. The room was full of bed bugs. When I notified the manager about bed bugs, he didn't look disappointed. He knows for sure they have them. No excuses. The breakfast is terrible. Don't waste your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaido's, Casey's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Goldameyer
Business
Texas
Sep 3, 2012

ATTENTION!!!! BED BUGS!!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

We have booked the room with two king beds. The staff is not friendly and has no idea how to run this sort of business. When I notified the staff we have bed bugs in our room, they didn't look disappointed. They know for sure they DO HAVE them. The breakfast could not be consider as such.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaido's, Casey's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hughton
Business
Lubbock, Texas
Aug 25, 2012

Our vacation

When we arrived, they gave us a room that wasn't ready. The price of the room was avg., could've been cheaper. Too many people in the pool area. Pool not big enough for that many.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleasure Pier was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mohs
Business
Tx
Aug 10, 2012

It is what it is

This is a ordinary hotel nothing special. Was clean and served it purpose. The breakfast is lacking good if you want a cup of weak coffee thats about it. I have had better for the price but can't complain It was an average hotel for an average price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TEX FT.W
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Aug 6, 2012

Road Trip from Ft.Worth

The pictures are always better than the real place but overall me and my wife were happy with the location and price. We needed a motel style because we took our Paddle Boards and Mountain Bikes so this worked well. It was real close to the beach and although not right across the street it was close enough to take a small walk. It's a small hotel and lacked in the breakfest dept compared to others but that will not keep me from staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bel24
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 4, 2012

Ideal Location

The best feature about this hotel is its location. It is a very short walk to the seawall and surrounded by restaurants like Salsa's, Gaidos, Joe's Crab Shack and many more. I would recommend staying on the top floor because we stayed on the ground floor and could constantly hear the people above us walking around. Skip the free breakfast that consist of packaged pastries and bagel. There is a waffle maker but I did not get to use it since there was a line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for something fun and cheap to do, try Magic Carpet mini golf, a short drive from the hotel off the seawall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top