$36 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Travelodge Galveston

2 stars
3924 Ave U, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
82 reviews
weekend getaway

Location was great. The only negative was that they ran out of towels and blankets. But, Walmart... See full review

  • om84
  • Sep 3, 2013
wanted to b near texas city to leave for houston on monday mornig

my time there was amazing and outstanding i have told so many others about the value , experience... See full review

  • kleo
  • Dec 4, 2012
We are conveniently located within walking distance to the beach. Bask in the sun and play at the beach while enjoying southern hospitality at the Travelodge hotel on Galveston Island. Be sure to ask about free cruise parking and take an inexpensive taxi ride to the cruise ship terminal at the Port of Galveston, less than three miles. Great restaurants nearby. Our hotel features king and double queen rooms, all with microwaves, mini-refrigerators, and large 27in TVs with cable and free HBO, an outdoor swimming pool, free continental breakfast, and high-speed internet access. Pets allowed for a fee. Free Cruise ship parking available. Conveniently located close to UTMB Hospital.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Galveston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Galveston

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Momma Nancy
HHI, SC
May 5, 2013

Travelodge Galveston, Tx

Convenient for Disney Cruise...Free parking. Friendly & helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Precious H.
Business
League City
Dec 21, 2014

Never Again

There were loud people outside and when I asked the guy at the front desk if they were going to do this all night he blew it off and just handed me my keys. The actual room was dirty and not well kept. All night there were people outside. I literally put a chair up to the door. The locks were loose and it was obvious, which makes me question why the staff hadn't fixed them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VA17
Business
van nuys
Dec 16, 2014

Not Worth Even one Star!

That was a truly horrible motel. Extremely dirty - feces on the toilet seat, no toilet paper, hair from previous guest all over. We had no choice since it was late at night and we had an early commitment early morning. Definitely would never stay again! There was no breakfast, even though when we checked in we were told it was offered from 6 to 9am. Being a long time travelers that was the first time we ever met motel staff who were absolutely careless what was going on around, blank looks and completely emotionless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jannet super mom
Business
Galveston
Jul 4, 2014

Family getaway

A/C don't work room smealls REAL BAD stay away!...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vaccav
Business
Houston, Texas
May 20, 2014

Good for price

Overall, really nice place for the price. Right across the street from the ocean seawall. Plenty of amusements and good food around as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sisco g
Business
Dalles
Mar 17, 2014

Not so bad

I think instead of hotel it would be better to call it motel. The location is good and safe area. It's good place to save money. Every thing what you want to see is not far from there. This motel room is okay, but what i don't like it. They don't change the bed sheets When you staying more than a day. Anyway Galveston is a good place to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reno Bob
Business
Houston Texas
Oct 1, 2013

Bugs in orange juice

Waffle mix had smell. Walkways are not clean. Ice machine on the third floor. Towels left around drain area. Standing water on entrance to breakfast area. Staff not attentive to visitors. Departure from hotel no acknowledgement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
om84
Business
houston tx
Sep 3, 2013

weekend getaway

Location was great. The only negative was that they ran out of towels and blankets. But, Walmart want far and we bought our own. Other than that, great place to stay. Going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DEEinOK
Business
Oklahoma
Sep 2, 2013

Never AGAIN!!

This was horrid, when we checked in and went to our room the A/C was off on a 100 degree day so we had to wait forever for the room to cool down. There were bugs crawling in the bathroom and it was just down right nasty! On our 2nd day there all the maid did was lay towels on the edge of the bed, didn't make the beds or anything. The 1st night it was noise all night long and people banging on our door at 3am, the 2nd night was even worse got woke up by a loud drunk screaming at his woman and causing all kinds of commotion.......... If you don't mind hanging out in hot and nasty surroundings, with the good possibility of violence this is the place for you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DonnaMNicholson
Business
Crowley, Texas
Aug 27, 2013

End of Summer vacation

The room was clean and spacious. It could have been a little colder in the room but we were not hot. The table and chairs were great the kids ate breakfast there instead of on the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AJ FireDawg
Business
Alvin Tx.
Aug 21, 2013

A quick trip to remember!

Not sure why the next day our bed was not made up, about 6 towels were picked up and not replaced, the amenities such as coffee in the room was not replaced for the next day, sink was not cleaned and no extra toiletry was provided. No explanation was given by management and new towels and coffee packs where given when requested. On the positive side this room had a microwave and refrigerator that worked and a comfortable king size bed. Hotel is located near sea wall but not great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the water parks in the area and arrive early. Visit the Imax theater. If you decide to wait on the historical tours and boat tours take a short drive to the ferry landing and take a 15 or 20 minute free ride across the ship channel and go sightseeing, fishing or swimming around at Boliver Flatts beach. Good places to eat are too numerous to mention. My best advice is the highway divides the island in half, find 4 or 5 restaurants at both ends of the Island from Harborside road to the seawall....goodluck and good dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top