$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, TX 77550

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
43 reviews
Very Nice Place

Second time there for girlfriend and I. Love the hardwoods, crown moldings and high ceilings. Nice... See full review

  • Joseph K.
  • Jul 15, 2015
Great casual setting

Great place to stay centrally located, staff was super customer focused! See full review

  • TWRanger
  • Feb 4, 2015
The historic Tremont House hotel combines old-world elegance with modern conveniences, including free Wi-Fi. Located in the historic Strand District of Galveston, guests have dozens of restaurants, shops and major attractions right out the front door. Those who want to stay in can enjoy a cocktail while taking in views of the Strand Historic District from the Rooftop Bar, or sit back and listen to live piano in the Toujouse Bar. A free shuttle service delivers Tremont House guests to various local attractions within a few miles of the hotel.
Rooms
Upon entering one of the 199 guest rooms at the Tremont House, guests feel like they have stepped into another era. The spacious rooms, all with 12-foot ceilings, were recently restored to their period specific charm but updated to fit modern standards. Simmons Health Smart mattresses are made with House of Anchini linens, and rooms all feature 32-inch flat-screen televisions. In the bathroom, find hand-painted tiles, rainfall showerheads, luxurious towels, and Gilchrest and Soames toiletries.
Property features
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel offers the best of both words. Built in 1879, the hotel is an example of elegant Edwardian architecture, but has been renovated to meet the demands of modern guests. Spacious rooms feature new Simmons Health Smart mattresses and flat-screen televisions. The Tremont Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner but guests also have many other options just steps from the historic property. Tremont House guests are welcome to use the pool and full-service spa at the sister property, the Hotel Galvez.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Meeting and conferences rooms available
  • Fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • Strand District (adjacent)
  • Galveston History Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Seawolf Park (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Offers 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • CleanAir Meeting Rooms, with PURE purification system
  • Audiovisual services available (fees apply)
  • Full catering available
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 0.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 43
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jencollier8
Business
Fort Worth Texas
Aug 2, 2014

Wonderful Stay!

We had a wonderful stay at the Tremont. We were traveling with our 9.5 month old and the room was a perfect size for us to be comfortable with all of our baby gear. We also had to spend a lot more time in the room than we typically would for nap time and early bedtime, so it was a real treat to have the comfortable bed, high ceilings and wood floors. The staff helped us with recommendations, and even unlocked the gym for me to use after hours. We also enjoyed the Tremont cafe very much, which is located onsite. We loved being located on the strand too so we could stroll to nearby restaurants. I would absolutely recommend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The beef pot roast is delicious!!

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delane
Business
Richardson, TX, USA
May 10, 2013

Great Getaway

Such a pretty room. Jen at the lobby bar made my wife and I feel like "regulars" on our first visit too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Strand is THE place to be in Galveston. The Treemont House is THE place to stay when there!

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jake529
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Good atmosphere, service is average at best.

Showed up and the Valet's were lost. Ended up parking my own car and carrying my own bags to the room. Breakfast consisted of slow service and the waiter repeatedly asking us what we ordered. Maybe I'm mistaken but I thought it was part of the waiters job to know what we ordered. We took the car out so we returned and used the valet parking service when checking out. Twenty minutes after giving our ticket to the valet we were still waiting for our car. Tremont uses 3 lots and could not keep up with what car was in which lot. I found the valet wandering around and asked for my keys back. He told me "the car was probably in one of the lots". Ultimately the car was located and we headed out. It's a shame because it is a great hotel and the service used to be just as good. Roof top bar was probably the highlight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
holt, MI
Dec 20, 2010

below expectations

the hotel does not have swimming pool, did not serve breakfast and steam pipe for keeping bath towels warm is leak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 27, 2009

Beautiful Hotel - Poor customer service

This is a lovely, historic hotel. Our room was large, with 2 beds and a sitting area. However, the service was horrible. The staff claimed they did not have our reservation, despite our providing the confirmation number. They were rude and dismissive. They made no attempt to assist me until Orbitz contacted them to resolve the matter. Also, we called to get our car from valet and the front desk told us no one was at the valet stand and to call back later. We will not return to this hotel due to the poor service and lack of courtesy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shellylouise71
Business
Katy, Texas
Jul 6, 2009

4th of July at the Tremont

While we were there, we ate at some wonderful resturants that the hotel suggested. We saw fireworks from the roof top and it was amazing! We swam at the sister hotel and that was very cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 15, 2008

My review of Wyndham Tremont House Hotel

Very modern decor and comfortable room, fluffy towels in the chic black and white bathroom. Our 15 yr. granddaughter was definitely impressed. We enjoyed the piano player in the ball one evening. Great margueritas! Convenient valet parking with speedy and courteous attendants. It was fun staying in the older part of Galveston. Enjoyed Moody Gardens and many other tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots nearby: shopping, dining, and entertainment. We did't have enough days to enjoy everything.

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waxahachie
Jul 1, 2008

Great historic hotel

This hotel is the perfect venue for a couples weekend. The room was fabulous, although the bed was a bit firm for my taste. The staff is friendly and professional. A few things to take into consideration. If you are going to Galveston to spend most of your time at the beach, this may not be the place for you. It's about 15 blocks off the seawall. If you are going for the history, site seeing, good restaurants, etc. This is the place to stay. Walking distance to several restaurants on the Strand but we were approached by at least one local asking for money the evening we walked. I suggest driving to any destination even if it is within walking distance. Can't say enough good things about the actual hotel, though. The room is spacious, high ceilings, beautifully appointed, elegant entrance and public areas, and very clean. And let's not forget turndown service and mints on the pillow. Can't resist those!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Crabcake at Fisherman's Wharf was worth every penny! Next trip we intend to try Merchant Prince - the restaurant in the hotel. It looks very inviting.

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nederland
May 26, 2008

My review of Wyndham Tremont House Hotel

Great location ! Nextdoor to restaurants and Texas Seaport Museum. Gated parking in front of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Willie G's and Fisherman's Wharf,a short walk away, both serve excellent seafood. Starbuck's(if you are into that) is a block away. Shopping on the Stand is one street over.

Back to menu Return to top