$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
Wonderful Stay!

We had a wonderful stay at the Tremont. We were traveling with our 9.5 month old and the room was a... See full review

  • Jencollier8
  • Aug 2, 2014
Island fun

Refurbished classic. Great location near the waterfront and the Strand, recently named one of the... See full review

  • Lswim
  • Oct 6, 2013
Landmark Galveston hotel with rich history offers comfort and elegance
The historic Tremont House hotel combines old-world elegance with modern conveniences, including free Wi-Fi. Located in the historic Strand District of Galveston, guests have dozens of restaurants, shops and major attractions right out the front door. Those who want to stay in can enjoy a cocktail while taking in views of the Strand Historic District from the Rooftop Bar, or sit back and listen to live piano in the Toujouse Bar. A free shuttle service delivers Tremont House guests to various local attractions within a few miles of the hotel.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Meeting and conferences rooms available
  • Fitness center
Rooms
Upon entering one of the 199 guest rooms at the Tremont House, guests feel like they have stepped into another era. The spacious rooms, all with 12-foot ceilings, were recently restored to their period specific charm but updated to fit modern standards. Simmons Health Smart mattresses are made with House of Anchini linens, and rooms all feature 32-inch flat-screen televisions. In the bathroom, find hand-painted tiles, rainfall showerheads, luxurious towels, and Gilchrest and Soames toiletries.
Features
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel offers the best of both words. Built in 1879, the hotel is an example of elegant Edwardian architecture, but has been renovated to meet the demands of modern guests. Spacious rooms feature new Simmons Health Smart mattresses and flat-screen televisions. The Tremont Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner but guests also have many other options just steps from the historic property. Tremont House guests are welcome to use the pool and full-service spa at the sister property, the Hotel Galvez.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
Attractions
  • Strand District (adjacent)
  • Galveston History Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Seawolf Park (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Offers 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • CleanAir Meeting Rooms, with PURE purification system
  • Audiovisual services available (fees apply)
  • Full catering available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 0.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 40
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lswim
Business
Kingwood,TX
Oct 6, 2013

Island fun

Refurbished classic. Great location near the waterfront and the Strand, recently named one of the top ten historic streets in the country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1hotmama
Business
Pearland
Sep 1, 2013

Nice hotel experience

The staff was very friendly & had great experience from valet to check-in. Friday nights they have live piano music in lounge right off of lobby. Great touch! Next, we loved the rooms! The cathedral ceilings were fabulous & a rare find in a hotel. Our faux window overlooked the lobby, which was nice. The tile in the bathroom could stand to be replaced, it was a bit scuffed & stained, but still clean nonetheless. Wish they had a pool/spa on the premises, but sister property is nice & not a far drive. You get full privileges there. Overall, enjoyable place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ginger Take Vacation
Business
Cleburne, TX
Aug 2, 2013

Much Needed Get Away!

We got here a little late the night we arrived, so we did not get to get a good feel for how wonderful the neighborhood was until the next day. However, I feel in love with the room immediately! It was like walking into a quant little bed and breakfast. I loved the lighting system. you push one button, next to your bed, and you can control all the lights. Awesomeness!! We had trouble sleeping because it seemed hot to us. The termastat was set to 68, we never have it that low in our house, but we slept with only a sheet and we were hot. Not sure why, like I said the termastat showed the room to be cooled it just didn't feel like it. We had breakfast at the in house Cafe, it was wonderful! The fresh fruit with yogurt was great. All the fruit was ripe and was presented beautifully!! Hubby had the breakfast panani, I loved that too. I actually found myself wanting one for dinner, but that was not an option. The giant cinnamon roll was also very tasty, we shared that and it did not last long! We ordered dinner too. Neither of us were impressed! The roasted chicken was very dry and so were the potatos. I actually started with the chicken pot pie, it was watery inside, not thick and creamy like I am accustom too. I traded dinners with my hubby, he eats anything, but we wound up wasting $50.00 cause we wound up ordering pizza, because we did not like the food. Everything else was great! Be prepared to pay 18.00 a day for valet parking or runing down to the street by 9:00Am to put money in the meter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to El Jardin Mexican Cafe the morning we were leaving and I wish we had gone for lunch one day. It is a small hole in the wall and the decor is questionable, but oh my goodness, the breakfast burritos are to die for!! The reviews we read said it was a local favorite and I know why!! We both ordered the Surprise 1 Breakfast burrito. I was heaven in my mouth!! The homemade chips and salsa were hot, but also very good. It is located on the corner of 24th and Market, it's just 2 blocks away from hotel. It is very worth the walk!! Yummy!! Wish I had one right now!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flinstone
Business
Houston TX
Jun 17, 2013

Great getaway!

Great one night getaway. The hotel is beautiful. The room was extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly. Overall is was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonster 23 23
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 4, 2013

Great hotel, Great location!!!

The hotel staff was very nice. The rooftop bar is gorgeous!! Rooms were very nice, comfortable. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gumbo Bar is deliscious!! They do not take reservations. You want to plan activities around eating here at a non-busy, off time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chevesgal
Business
To
Sep 10, 2012

Nice place from the greeting to the goodbye!!

We were well received upon arrival to the time we were handed our vehicle when we left. All staff were courteous and helpful. Our room was clean bright and airy and the temparture was perfect. I don't have any complaints of our one night stay. The roof top bar is a must after hour visit...great ambiance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WOW upside down MOM
Business
Waco, Texas
May 18, 2012

Great Location

Our experience was basically good. We have stayed at the Tremont on numerous occasions. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They really make you feel at home. The room was very small compared to some in the hotel which is a bummer. Felt cramped. We ate breakfast in the hotel and it took more than 35 minutes to be served which was off putting. I feel they have priced themselves out of our market. Over $200 for a one night stay is not in our budget for the value we received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant on the Wharf

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happygrrl
Business
Columbia, MO, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Great hotel but not very sexy.

We had booked this hotel for a wedding weekend getaway, our first trip without the baby. It was a great hotel but wasn't quite the sexy hideaway we were hoping for. When I asked for a different room the staff was quick to jump to my request and the second room was larger and less like your Grandma's attic. The location was great - just one block from the Strand and within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants and a short drive from the public beach. Would we stay there again? Yes, but maybe with family the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Broncogerry
Business
Colorado, USA
Mar 6, 2012

The Tremont was very nice.

Great hotel in Galveston! The room and service was above any other that we have stayed in there in Galveston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fit chick
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 10, 2011

Awesomely beautiful

Was everything and more. Enjoyed the sister hotel's pool and hot tub also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed the beautiful water scenery at pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top