$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, TX 77550

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
44 reviews
Great casual setting

Great place to stay centrally located, staff was super customer focused! See full review

  • TWRanger
  • Feb 4, 2015
stay

best experience,i was really impresssed by the friendly staff,got my moneys worth See full review

  • oscareet
  • Oct 7, 2014
The historic Tremont House hotel combines old-world elegance with modern conveniences, including free Wi-Fi. Located in the historic Strand District of Galveston, guests have dozens of restaurants, shops and major attractions right out the front door. Those who want to stay in can enjoy a cocktail while taking in views of the Strand Historic District from the Rooftop Bar, or sit back and listen to live piano in the Toujouse Bar. A free shuttle service delivers Tremont House guests to various local attractions within a few miles of the hotel.
Rooms
Upon entering one of the 199 guest rooms at the Tremont House, guests feel like they have stepped into another era. The spacious rooms, all with 12-foot ceilings, were recently restored to their period specific charm but updated to fit modern standards. Simmons Health Smart mattresses are made with House of Anchini linens, and rooms all feature 32-inch flat-screen televisions. In the bathroom, find hand-painted tiles, rainfall showerheads, luxurious towels, and Gilchrest and Soames toiletries.
Property features
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel offers the best of both words. Built in 1879, the hotel is an example of elegant Edwardian architecture, but has been renovated to meet the demands of modern guests. Spacious rooms feature new Simmons Health Smart mattresses and flat-screen televisions. The Tremont Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner but guests also have many other options just steps from the historic property. Tremont House guests are welcome to use the pool and full-service spa at the sister property, the Hotel Galvez.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Meeting and conferences rooms available
  • Fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • Strand District (adjacent)
  • Galveston History Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Seawolf Park (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Offers 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • CleanAir Meeting Rooms, with PURE purification system
  • Audiovisual services available (fees apply)
  • Full catering available
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 0.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 19, 2009

Do not stay here

Staff was not friendly and did not care when I approached them about this. The coffee maker did not work, when we called about this they told us that the maids were not in yet so no one could bring us a new one. When they finally sent someone up hours later, they did not even bother bringing a new one up. We also wanted to pay for a half day and check out after the event we were in town for. I inquired about this during check in - no one there could answer if this was possible. I inquired again in the AM - I was told this should not be a problem. While we were trying to take a nap with the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door the staff came up knocking on the door asking if we were going to check out. After knocking on the door then we were called and told that they were unable to let us check out at 6 as requested. The extra 75 dollars (50% of the room cost) would only let us stay until 5. Four hours and they wanted 50% room rate. This would have been a problem except they wanted a full nights cost if we stayed in the room until 6pm and we had not planned to check out of the room until after our engagement. SO we ended up having to rush to get ready, pack and check out. When I approached the manager about this he was rude. I will not ever stay at the Treemont house again after this. I will also advise anyone I know to avoid this hotel as well. There are no vending machines and room service closed at 10 pm. There are no establishments with in walking distance at this time that is open to get anything to eat or drink. There is also no parking for the hotel. You have to look for a spot on the street or pay for valet which is an extra $15 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 27, 2009

Beautiful Hotel - Poor customer service

This is a lovely, historic hotel. Our room was large, with 2 beds and a sitting area. However, the service was horrible. The staff claimed they did not have our reservation, despite our providing the confirmation number. They were rude and dismissive. They made no attempt to assist me until Orbitz contacted them to resolve the matter. Also, we called to get our car from valet and the front desk told us no one was at the valet stand and to call back later. We will not return to this hotel due to the poor service and lack of courtesy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jake529
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Good atmosphere, service is average at best.

Showed up and the Valet's were lost. Ended up parking my own car and carrying my own bags to the room. Breakfast consisted of slow service and the waiter repeatedly asking us what we ordered. Maybe I'm mistaken but I thought it was part of the waiters job to know what we ordered. We took the car out so we returned and used the valet parking service when checking out. Twenty minutes after giving our ticket to the valet we were still waiting for our car. Tremont uses 3 lots and could not keep up with what car was in which lot. I found the valet wandering around and asked for my keys back. He told me "the car was probably in one of the lots". Ultimately the car was located and we headed out. It's a shame because it is a great hotel and the service used to be just as good. Roof top bar was probably the highlight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
holt, MI
Dec 20, 2010

below expectations

the hotel does not have swimming pool, did not serve breakfast and steam pipe for keeping bath towels warm is leak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 29, 2010

Great Downtown Location

High quality service, very clean, attentive staff, beautifully decorated all describe the Tremont House. The beds were comfortable and attractive. The TV was placed in an awkward location and the room was plenty big to make other arrangements. We didn't care for the jazz music in the public areas. We suggest soft classical in that environment. If you want to be in the center of town, this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many small shops are just 1 street behind the hotel.

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Broncogerry
Business
Colorado, USA
Mar 6, 2012

The Tremont was very nice.

Great hotel in Galveston! The room and service was above any other that we have stayed in there in Galveston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happygrrl
Business
Columbia, MO, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Great hotel but not very sexy.

We had booked this hotel for a wedding weekend getaway, our first trip without the baby. It was a great hotel but wasn't quite the sexy hideaway we were hoping for. When I asked for a different room the staff was quick to jump to my request and the second room was larger and less like your Grandma's attic. The location was great - just one block from the Strand and within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants and a short drive from the public beach. Would we stay there again? Yes, but maybe with family the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WOW upside down MOM
Business
Waco, Texas
May 18, 2012

Great Location

Our experience was basically good. We have stayed at the Tremont on numerous occasions. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They really make you feel at home. The room was very small compared to some in the hotel which is a bummer. Felt cramped. We ate breakfast in the hotel and it took more than 35 minutes to be served which was off putting. I feel they have priced themselves out of our market. Over $200 for a one night stay is not in our budget for the value we received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant on the Wharf

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chevesgal
Business
To
Sep 10, 2012

Nice place from the greeting to the goodbye!!

We were well received upon arrival to the time we were handed our vehicle when we left. All staff were courteous and helpful. Our room was clean bright and airy and the temparture was perfect. I don't have any complaints of our one night stay. The roof top bar is a must after hour visit...great ambiance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ginger Take Vacation
Business
Cleburne, TX
Aug 2, 2013

Much Needed Get Away!

We got here a little late the night we arrived, so we did not get to get a good feel for how wonderful the neighborhood was until the next day. However, I feel in love with the room immediately! It was like walking into a quant little bed and breakfast. I loved the lighting system. you push one button, next to your bed, and you can control all the lights. Awesomeness!! We had trouble sleeping because it seemed hot to us. The termastat was set to 68, we never have it that low in our house, but we slept with only a sheet and we were hot. Not sure why, like I said the termastat showed the room to be cooled it just didn't feel like it. We had breakfast at the in house Cafe, it was wonderful! The fresh fruit with yogurt was great. All the fruit was ripe and was presented beautifully!! Hubby had the breakfast panani, I loved that too. I actually found myself wanting one for dinner, but that was not an option. The giant cinnamon roll was also very tasty, we shared that and it did not last long! We ordered dinner too. Neither of us were impressed! The roasted chicken was very dry and so were the potatos. I actually started with the chicken pot pie, it was watery inside, not thick and creamy like I am accustom too. I traded dinners with my hubby, he eats anything, but we wound up wasting $50.00 cause we wound up ordering pizza, because we did not like the food. Everything else was great! Be prepared to pay 18.00 a day for valet parking or runing down to the street by 9:00Am to put money in the meter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to El Jardin Mexican Cafe the morning we were leaving and I wish we had gone for lunch one day. It is a small hole in the wall and the decor is questionable, but oh my goodness, the breakfast burritos are to die for!! The reviews we read said it was a local favorite and I know why!! We both ordered the Surprise 1 Breakfast burrito. I was heaven in my mouth!! The homemade chips and salsa were hot, but also very good. It is located on the corner of 24th and Market, it's just 2 blocks away from hotel. It is very worth the walk!! Yummy!! Wish I had one right now!!

Back to menu Return to top