$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
Wonderful Stay!

We had a wonderful stay at the Tremont. We were traveling with our 9.5 month old and the room was a... See full review

  • Jencollier8
  • Aug 2, 2014
Island fun

Refurbished classic. Great location near the waterfront and the Strand, recently named one of the... See full review

  • Lswim
  • Oct 6, 2013
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel combines grand style and modern amenities for a timeless comfort. This smoke-free hotel, in a stately 19th century building close to the Galveston waterfront, is close to beaches, parks, museums and shopping. Walk to nearby restaurants, the historic Strand District and nightlife. State-of-the-art amenities include complimentary wireless Internet, a charging station for electric vehicles and hybrids, PURE air-filtration technology in select guest rooms, fully equipped fitness center and business center, and a full-service spa. The onsite restaurant serves delicious fare for all meals and room service. Over 15,000 square feet of flexible space including two spectacular ballrooms and rooftop bar makes events easy. Gracious guest rooms feature hardwood floors, soaring ceilings, MP3 dock and rainfall shower. Select suites offer separate parlor, dining and sleeping areas as well as wet bar. Pool use Offsite Sister property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 0.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
holt, MI
Dec 20, 2010

below expectations

the hotel does not have swimming pool, did not serve breakfast and steam pipe for keeping bath towels warm is leak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Porter, Texas
Dec 20, 2010

Galveston....More than you expect

It was a quiet and relaxing stay. There was more to do than we expected. Galveston has grown and made a remarkable come back since Hurricane Ike. We enjoyed the Tremont Hotel which is rich in history. We went to the Grand 1894 Opery House for a play and it was remarkable and fun.Everbody we met there was friendly and very helpful.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the Historic Strand District is the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 18, 2010

Business Trip

The Tremont is a great hotel with charm and character. I highly recomend this hotel for business, it is central and convenient with a number of restaurants closeby. The rooms I have stayed in are large and comfortable with a very relaxed atmosphere. The roof top deck is a must see at sunsetwith great views over the island and port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 26, 2010

Highly Recomended...

I loved it... The rooms were really classy with a neat "Old" style. There was a beautiful lobby with a piano bar... We could hear it from the room... It added a nice romantic touch to the evening... and great if your not the type that needs complete silence. We walked the strand and had a wonderful time. This is an awesome pleace to take someone special. A night im sure we will remember forever! I liked that is was not a "typical" hotel. It had more of a "whitehouse visitor room" feel rather than a hotel in Galviston. I WILL stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katypete
Business
Katy, Texas
Jul 29, 2010

Great Experience

Hotel just recently reopened due to Hurricane IKE. Had stayed here before and they have done a great job in repairing all the damage. We really like this hotel and plan to return next year. The staff is very attentive and the housekeeping was excellent. Clean as a whistle and very comfortable. Excellent location - close to The Strand and lots of shops, bars and restaurants. Most of all the shops and restaurants have reopened on the Strand and Seawall Blvd. and you can tell, they really appreciate your business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Unfortunately, due to the oil spill oysters are not offered on any of the menues we read. Too bad. Maybe they will get it all cleaned up soon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 25, 2010

Tremont Hotel

Fantasic hotel with great freindly staff from arrival to departure. Rooms are spacious and have everything you could need. roof top patio is great and the sunset was amazing!! Close to shops and a couple good restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
can I pack my boots?
Business
Houston Tx
Apr 5, 2010

wonderful stay

Really enjoyed our stay and the great location to shops and restaurants. If you do stay here and like to go to sleep early request an exterior room. The piano player in the lobby is good but plays kind of late and can be heard in the interior rooms. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Saltwater Grill had excellent seafood and great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 27, 2010

Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel overall, the room was clean and well decorated and the service was excellent. The only aspect that I did not appreciate was the fact that the valet parking out front indicated that it was for hotel guests and the next morning there was a $15 fee for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 29, 2010

Great Downtown Location

High quality service, very clean, attentive staff, beautifully decorated all describe the Tremont House. The beds were comfortable and attractive. The TV was placed in an awkward location and the room was plenty big to make other arrangements. We didn't care for the jazz music in the public areas. We suggest soft classical in that environment. If you want to be in the center of town, this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many small shops are just 1 street behind the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 19, 2009

Do not stay here

Staff was not friendly and did not care when I approached them about this. The coffee maker did not work, when we called about this they told us that the maids were not in yet so no one could bring us a new one. When they finally sent someone up hours later, they did not even bother bringing a new one up. We also wanted to pay for a half day and check out after the event we were in town for. I inquired about this during check in - no one there could answer if this was possible. I inquired again in the AM - I was told this should not be a problem. While we were trying to take a nap with the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door the staff came up knocking on the door asking if we were going to check out. After knocking on the door then we were called and told that they were unable to let us check out at 6 as requested. The extra 75 dollars (50% of the room cost) would only let us stay until 5. Four hours and they wanted 50% room rate. This would have been a problem except they wanted a full nights cost if we stayed in the room until 6pm and we had not planned to check out of the room until after our engagement. SO we ended up having to rush to get ready, pack and check out. When I approached the manager about this he was rude. I will not ever stay at the Treemont house again after this. I will also advise anyone I know to avoid this hotel as well. There are no vending machines and room service closed at 10 pm. There are no establishments with in walking distance at this time that is open to get anything to eat or drink. There is also no parking for the hotel. You have to look for a spot on the street or pay for valet which is an extra $15 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top