$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, TX 77550

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waxahachie, TX
Jun 26, 2011

Tremont House

Just an anniversary get-away. We invited down old friends for the day. The lobby was so cool and quiet we had a great visit before we left for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The best shops in Galveston are just a block or so away. Also some of the best dinning.

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JiMiK
Business
Seabrook, TX
Mar 14, 2011

Tremont House Review

We like the Tremont because it is close to the Grand Opera House where we went to the Galveston Symphony Concert. It is also close to the Strand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston tx
Dec 28, 2010

A great get away

The turn town service in the evening was pretty cool. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
holt, MI
Dec 20, 2010

below expectations

the hotel does not have swimming pool, did not serve breakfast and steam pipe for keeping bath towels warm is leak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Porter, Texas
Dec 20, 2010

Galveston....More than you expect

It was a quiet and relaxing stay. There was more to do than we expected. Galveston has grown and made a remarkable come back since Hurricane Ike. We enjoyed the Tremont Hotel which is rich in history. We went to the Grand 1894 Opery House for a play and it was remarkable and fun.Everbody we met there was friendly and very helpful.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the Historic Strand District is the best.

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 18, 2010

Business Trip

The Tremont is a great hotel with charm and character. I highly recomend this hotel for business, it is central and convenient with a number of restaurants closeby. The rooms I have stayed in are large and comfortable with a very relaxed atmosphere. The roof top deck is a must see at sunsetwith great views over the island and port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 26, 2010

Highly Recomended...

I loved it... The rooms were really classy with a neat "Old" style. There was a beautiful lobby with a piano bar... We could hear it from the room... It added a nice romantic touch to the evening... and great if your not the type that needs complete silence. We walked the strand and had a wonderful time. This is an awesome pleace to take someone special. A night im sure we will remember forever! I liked that is was not a "typical" hotel. It had more of a "whitehouse visitor room" feel rather than a hotel in Galviston. I WILL stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katypete
Business
Katy, Texas
Jul 29, 2010

Great Experience

Hotel just recently reopened due to Hurricane IKE. Had stayed here before and they have done a great job in repairing all the damage. We really like this hotel and plan to return next year. The staff is very attentive and the housekeeping was excellent. Clean as a whistle and very comfortable. Excellent location - close to The Strand and lots of shops, bars and restaurants. Most of all the shops and restaurants have reopened on the Strand and Seawall Blvd. and you can tell, they really appreciate your business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Unfortunately, due to the oil spill oysters are not offered on any of the menues we read. Too bad. Maybe they will get it all cleaned up soon.

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 25, 2010

Tremont Hotel

Fantasic hotel with great freindly staff from arrival to departure. Rooms are spacious and have everything you could need. roof top patio is great and the sunset was amazing!! Close to shops and a couple good restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
can I pack my boots?
Business
Houston Tx
Apr 5, 2010

wonderful stay

Really enjoyed our stay and the great location to shops and restaurants. If you do stay here and like to go to sleep early request an exterior room. The piano player in the lobby is good but plays kind of late and can be heard in the interior rooms. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Saltwater Grill had excellent seafood and great service.

Back to menu Return to top