$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
Wonderful Stay!

We had a wonderful stay at the Tremont. We were traveling with our 9.5 month old and the room was a... See full review

  • Jencollier8
  • Aug 2, 2014
Island fun

Refurbished classic. Great location near the waterfront and the Strand, recently named one of the... See full review

  • Lswim
  • Oct 6, 2013
Landmark Galveston hotel with rich history offers comfort and elegance
The historic Tremont House hotel combines old-world elegance with modern conveniences, including free Wi-Fi. Located in the historic Strand District of Galveston, guests have dozens of restaurants, shops and major attractions right out the front door. Those who want to stay in can enjoy a cocktail while taking in views of the Strand Historic District from the Rooftop Bar, or sit back and listen to live piano in the Toujouse Bar. A free shuttle service delivers Tremont House guests to various local attractions within a few miles of the hotel.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Meeting and conferences rooms available
  • Fitness center
Rooms
Upon entering one of the 199 guest rooms at the Tremont House, guests feel like they have stepped into another era. The spacious rooms, all with 12-foot ceilings, were recently restored to their period specific charm but updated to fit modern standards. Simmons Health Smart mattresses are made with House of Anchini linens, and rooms all feature 32-inch flat-screen televisions. In the bathroom, find hand-painted tiles, rainfall showerheads, luxurious towels, and Gilchrest and Soames toiletries.
Features
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel offers the best of both words. Built in 1879, the hotel is an example of elegant Edwardian architecture, but has been renovated to meet the demands of modern guests. Spacious rooms feature new Simmons Health Smart mattresses and flat-screen televisions. The Tremont Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner but guests also have many other options just steps from the historic property. Tremont House guests are welcome to use the pool and full-service spa at the sister property, the Hotel Galvez.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
Attractions
  • Strand District (adjacent)
  • Galveston History Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Seawolf Park (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Offers 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • CleanAir Meeting Rooms, with PURE purification system
  • Audiovisual services available (fees apply)
  • Full catering available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 0.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lswim
Kingwood,TX
Oct 6, 2013

Island fun

Refurbished classic. Great location near the waterfront and the Strand, recently named one of the top ten historic streets in the country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jencollier8
Business
Fort Worth Texas
Aug 2, 2014

Wonderful Stay!

We had a wonderful stay at the Tremont. We were traveling with our 9.5 month old and the room was a perfect size for us to be comfortable with all of our baby gear. We also had to spend a lot more time in the room than we typically would for nap time and early bedtime, so it was a real treat to have the comfortable bed, high ceilings and wood floors. The staff helped us with recommendations, and even unlocked the gym for me to use after hours. We also enjoyed the Tremont cafe very much, which is located onsite. We loved being located on the strand too so we could stroll to nearby restaurants. I would absolutely recommend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The beef pot roast is delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cobs
Business
Amherst, MA
Jun 6, 2014

Galveston at its best

The Tremont House gave me a sense of what Galveston must have been like in its heyday. The hotel is conveniently located in the hear of the historic district, within easy walking distance of many excellent restaurants, shops and historic homes. There is also a shuttle to its sister Wyndham hotel, which directly faces the beach, so we had the best of both worlds. The high ceilinged rooms with their comfortable brass beds had all the important modern conveniences without sacrificing their old world charm. The food was decent and not overpriced, by hotel standards. The staff were unfailingly welcoming and friendly. I 'd definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try the little electric trolley tour of the historic district. The little golf cart-like trolleys hold about 12 people. Ours picked us up at our hotel and our driver was a fund of funny, useful local info. Taking the tour will give you a sense of how close by many other attractions are. If you book it for early in your stay you'll have all the knowledge you'll need to be able to fit in a lot of other activities, even if you are in town on business.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lswim
Business
Kingwood,TX
Oct 6, 2013

Island fun

Refurbished classic. Great location near the waterfront and the Strand, recently named one of the top ten historic streets in the country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1hotmama
Business
Pearland
Sep 1, 2013

Nice hotel experience

The staff was very friendly & had great experience from valet to check-in. Friday nights they have live piano music in lounge right off of lobby. Great touch! Next, we loved the rooms! The cathedral ceilings were fabulous & a rare find in a hotel. Our faux window overlooked the lobby, which was nice. The tile in the bathroom could stand to be replaced, it was a bit scuffed & stained, but still clean nonetheless. Wish they had a pool/spa on the premises, but sister property is nice & not a far drive. You get full privileges there. Overall, enjoyable place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ginger Take Vacation
Business
Cleburne, TX
Aug 2, 2013

Much Needed Get Away!

We got here a little late the night we arrived, so we did not get to get a good feel for how wonderful the neighborhood was until the next day. However, I feel in love with the room immediately! It was like walking into a quant little bed and breakfast. I loved the lighting system. you push one button, next to your bed, and you can control all the lights. Awesomeness!! We had trouble sleeping because it seemed hot to us. The termastat was set to 68, we never have it that low in our house, but we slept with only a sheet and we were hot. Not sure why, like I said the termastat showed the room to be cooled it just didn't feel like it. We had breakfast at the in house Cafe, it was wonderful! The fresh fruit with yogurt was great. All the fruit was ripe and was presented beautifully!! Hubby had the breakfast panani, I loved that too. I actually found myself wanting one for dinner, but that was not an option. The giant cinnamon roll was also very tasty, we shared that and it did not last long! We ordered dinner too. Neither of us were impressed! The roasted chicken was very dry and so were the potatos. I actually started with the chicken pot pie, it was watery inside, not thick and creamy like I am accustom too. I traded dinners with my hubby, he eats anything, but we wound up wasting $50.00 cause we wound up ordering pizza, because we did not like the food. Everything else was great! Be prepared to pay 18.00 a day for valet parking or runing down to the street by 9:00Am to put money in the meter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to El Jardin Mexican Cafe the morning we were leaving and I wish we had gone for lunch one day. It is a small hole in the wall and the decor is questionable, but oh my goodness, the breakfast burritos are to die for!! The reviews we read said it was a local favorite and I know why!! We both ordered the Surprise 1 Breakfast burrito. I was heaven in my mouth!! The homemade chips and salsa were hot, but also very good. It is located on the corner of 24th and Market, it's just 2 blocks away from hotel. It is very worth the walk!! Yummy!! Wish I had one right now!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flinstone
Business
Houston TX
Jun 17, 2013

Great getaway!

Great one night getaway. The hotel is beautiful. The room was extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly. Overall is was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delane
Business
Richardson, TX, USA
May 10, 2013

Great Getaway

Such a pretty room. Jen at the lobby bar made my wife and I feel like "regulars" on our first visit too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Strand is THE place to be in Galveston. The Treemont House is THE place to stay when there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonster 23 23
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 4, 2013

Great hotel, Great location!!!

The hotel staff was very nice. The rooftop bar is gorgeous!! Rooms were very nice, comfortable. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gumbo Bar is deliscious!! They do not take reservations. You want to plan activities around eating here at a non-busy, off time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chevesgal
Business
To
Sep 10, 2012

Nice place from the greeting to the goodbye!!

We were well received upon arrival to the time we were handed our vehicle when we left. All staff were courteous and helpful. Our room was clean bright and airy and the temparture was perfect. I don't have any complaints of our one night stay. The roof top bar is a must after hour visit...great ambiance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Road Trip John
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 23, 2012

Great stay at the Tremont!

This hotel had the perfect mixture of classic/traditional beauty and character combined with modern amenities and exceptional customer service. Although my stay was short, this hotel definitely made an impression. This was my first trip to Galveston, and I plan to make many more... The Tremont will be my ONLY choice of where to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top