$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 4, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Super 8 Galveston

2 stars
2825 1/2 B 61st Street, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
80 reviews
cheer compatition

room was very hot when we checked in. the heater was on high.it was late so it took a while to fall... See full review

  • Susan S.
  • Jan 14, 2015
family getaway

Good comfortable stay the kids enjoyed it. Pool was little but it was a great hotel. See full review

  • tolling45
  • Jul 12, 2014
Award-winning property, walking distance from the beach
The Super 8 Galveston has won "The Pride of Super 8" designation several times. Located just one-half block from the beach and the Galveston Seawall, the motel is just minutes from the Cruise Terminal and conveniently located near several other area attractions, including Moody Gardens and the Schlitterbahn Waterpark. Guest rooms at the Super 8 Galveston include free Wi-Fi, and a complimentary continental breakfast awaits guests each morning.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast, newspapers and coffee in the lobby
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • HBO in guest rooms
Rooms
Spacious guest rooms are decorated with modern flavor, including oversized headboards and a vibrant color scheme. All of the 27-inch televisions include HBO channels. The hotel provides cribs free of charge (limited availability) and rollaway beds for a small fee (limited availability). Rooms include standard amenities, including a hair-dryer and an alarm clock.
Features
The Super 8 Galveston has won multiple "Pride of Super 8" awards. Start the day with breakfast before heading to the beach, or to the outdoor swimming pool. The motel is just minutes from many of the most visited attractions in Galveston, including Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens. It is walking distance to the Convention Center. Guests who are in the area for a cruise may park a vehicle at the Super 8 Galveston at no charge (with stay).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38 mi/61.2 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Fort Crockett (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Moody Gardens (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Port of Galveston (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Texas A and M University - Galveston (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Strand District (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (3.7 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Laundry facilities available (fees apply)
Policies and fees
No pets allowed. Rollaway cot available in only some rooms and, if available, at $10 USD per room night. Call motel to verify.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Galveston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Galveston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super scared of this hotel
Business
waco, tx
May 8, 2009

um...so about this hotel....

From the second I pulled up, I knew this was going to be bad. There were tons of people loitering, there was a puddle of "something" in the lobby, and once I got to my room I made a video just to show my friends how bad this really was! There was first a sign of a break-in, then inside the lock was shaky and broken. The fire alerter beeped at me the whole night because it was broken, the tables had a filmy substance that when I touched them and smelled to see if it was cleaning fluid IT WAS NOT! It smelled like sex! It was gross! The walls had cracks, the toilet and shower I didn't even want to touch. I know a hurricane hit, but when you say it's nice, it should be nice. I'm very disappointed and I will NOT be staying here or recommending this place to anyone!!!!!!! HORRIBLE!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is apparently a 1/2 block from the beach, but I would never walk that "longer than 1/2 a block" to get there. I was scared for my life just leaving to get dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scott C.
Business
Spanaway Wa
May 13, 2012

FILTHY

This is by far the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in when we got to the room after a long day of traavel we were exhausted, took off our shoes and laid on the bed, my kids socks were just as black as night after walking into the bathroom I checked mine.. BLACK we had to wear shoes wherever we stepped. The Breakfast provided was a joke rotten fruit and stale breads....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daystay
Business
orange tx
Sep 9, 2012

What's that smell??

Overpriced for what it was, the room smelled bad. The shower was not near hot enough. The only thing that worked well was the ac. With all the other hotels in the area I will not be staying here next time ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the beach, but alas no sidewalk on this side of the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
krissy
Business
tulsa, ok
Apr 15, 2013

too much for such low grade rooms

I honestly wouldn't stay here again, the door was broken like someone had tried breaking in. Lamp in the room was broken the blankets and bed were uncomfortable, the carpet was dirty. There was loud music and kids playing for hours that the hotel staff did nothing about . Thier value for this hotel is too much paid 100 a night for a 40 room. It was a good location ill give it that but we will NEVER stay here again. I thought that maybe reading the reviews there was some good omes but no I wouldn't stay there. I didn't feel safe and I have a 10month old couldn't sleep too noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LSMed
Business
South Central Texas
May 21, 2013

Overpriced!

Extremely disappointed with accommodations for the price paid. Facility is in dire need of repair and renovation. The door to room had a 1/2" gap and didn't close all the way, but it did lock and stay closed. I did not leave valuables in the room for fear the door could be kicked in. While room appeared clean, there was wrapped candy under edge of bed and debris under couch. TV was old, mattress sagged in middle, linens were worn and stained, and entire room had shoddy paint job. Did I say disappointed?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Snikwah
Business
Houston
Oct 1, 2013

gross

The hotel should not be called the Super 8.... It should be called the The Roach Motel. Roaches... roaches.. roaches!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelJoyce
Business
Texas
Apr 14, 2014

Staff Screaming on the phone

The staff was slow, impatient, and unprofessional. The customers were waiting in line to check in, but the staff was on the phone screaming loudly complaining to her friend about the customers .... Very odd!!!! The room was OK, but you can hear all sorts of noice in the hall way and from next rooms. The breakfast was a joke. Three choices, very dry! We won't go to this specific hotel and we won't recommend it to any friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GalvestonGuy
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 17, 2011

The owner yelled at us!

The owner screamed at my girlfriend in her room and yelled at me. She told us to "Get out of here!" I never have been treated like this anywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steel Player
Business
Arkansas
May 11, 2009

Not Exactly What I Expected

Asked for King Bed - It was two Queen Asked for Non-smoking. Room smelled as if there was a smoking convention the night before. There was no other rooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JFF
Business
JACKSONVILLE, FL
Apr 29, 2009

DISGUSTING HOTEL

THIS WAS BY FAR THE WORST ROOM I HAVE EVER STAYED IN. I FELT DIRTY. THE ROOM WAS DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY, THE COUNTER TOPS WERE INFESTED WITH COCKROACHES EVERY WHERE, ON THE SINK, COUNTER TOP, IN THE BATHROOM, CRAWLING ON THE WALLS. THE CARPET WAS SO DISGUSTING THAT I DID NOT TAKE MY SOCKS OFF TO WALK ON IT. THE SHEETS WAS SOILED, THE BEDDING HORRIBLE. THE MANAGEMENT OF THE HOTEL SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF OFFERING SUCH A ROOM. WHEN I COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS THEY JUST SIMPLY SAID "SORRY"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top