$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Super 8 Galveston

2 stars
2825 1/2 B 61st Street, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
79 reviews
family getaway

Good comfortable stay the kids enjoyed it. Pool was little but it was a great hotel. See full review

  • tolling45
  • Jul 12, 2014
39th wedding anniversary

Was nice enough but saw some bugs in the bathroom. That always creeps me out, makes me wonder if I... See full review

  • grandma kitty
  • Oct 12, 2014
Award-winning property, walking distance from the beach
The Super 8 Galveston has won "The Pride of Super 8" designation several times. Located just one-half block from the beach and the Galveston Seawall, the motel is just minutes from the Cruise Terminal and conveniently located near several other area attractions, including Moody Gardens and the Schlitterbahn Waterpark. Guest rooms at the Super 8 Galveston include free Wi-Fi, and a complimentary continental breakfast awaits guests each morning.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast, newspapers and coffee in the lobby
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • HBO in guest rooms
Rooms
Spacious guest rooms are decorated with modern flavor, including oversized headboards and a vibrant color scheme. All of the 27-inch televisions include HBO channels. The hotel provides cribs free of charge (limited availability) and rollaway beds for a small fee (limited availability). Rooms include standard amenities, including a hair-dryer and an alarm clock.
Features
The Super 8 Galveston has won multiple "Pride of Super 8" awards. Start the day with breakfast before heading to the beach, or to the outdoor swimming pool. The motel is just minutes from many of the most visited attractions in Galveston, including Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens. It is walking distance to the Convention Center. Guests who are in the area for a cruise may park a vehicle at the Super 8 Galveston at no charge (with stay).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38 mi/61.2 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Fort Crockett (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Moody Gardens (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Port of Galveston (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Texas A and M University - Galveston (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Strand District (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (3.7 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Laundry facilities available (fees apply)
Policies and fees
No pets allowed. Rollaway cot available in only some rooms and, if available, at $10 USD per room night. Call motel to verify.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Galveston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Galveston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 30, 2009

Great time

We had a great time and the hotel was in walking distance to the beach. The room was nicer than expected. Large and very clean. The staff were very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately the strand

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garland Texas
Jul 13, 2009

No so nice Hotel Clerk

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. I will not stay there again the desk clerk [...] was as RUDE as they come. If she hates her job that bad why don't she get another one?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
May 31, 2009

Recent stay

For a one night stay it was OK but I probably will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas
May 26, 2009

decent place

room was big. fridge, micro, great location! just a short 2 min walk from the seawall. and the seawall was the nicer of all the beaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steel Player
Business
Arkansas
May 11, 2009

Not Exactly What I Expected

Asked for King Bed - It was two Queen Asked for Non-smoking. Room smelled as if there was a smoking convention the night before. There was no other rooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Winged Beauty
Business
Houston, Texas
May 10, 2009

Not My Idea Stay

Not convenient to the beach area. Although 1/2 block from seawall, busy intersection, no sidewalk, had to cut through another hotels parking lot. Parking was difficult and the hotel is hidden and hard to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super scared of this hotel
Business
waco, tx
May 8, 2009

um...so about this hotel....

From the second I pulled up, I knew this was going to be bad. There were tons of people loitering, there was a puddle of "something" in the lobby, and once I got to my room I made a video just to show my friends how bad this really was! There was first a sign of a break-in, then inside the lock was shaky and broken. The fire alerter beeped at me the whole night because it was broken, the tables had a filmy substance that when I touched them and smelled to see if it was cleaning fluid IT WAS NOT! It smelled like sex! It was gross! The walls had cracks, the toilet and shower I didn't even want to touch. I know a hurricane hit, but when you say it's nice, it should be nice. I'm very disappointed and I will NOT be staying here or recommending this place to anyone!!!!!!! HORRIBLE!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is apparently a 1/2 block from the beach, but I would never walk that "longer than 1/2 a block" to get there. I was scared for my life just leaving to get dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JFF
Business
JACKSONVILLE, FL
Apr 29, 2009

DISGUSTING HOTEL

THIS WAS BY FAR THE WORST ROOM I HAVE EVER STAYED IN. I FELT DIRTY. THE ROOM WAS DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY, THE COUNTER TOPS WERE INFESTED WITH COCKROACHES EVERY WHERE, ON THE SINK, COUNTER TOP, IN THE BATHROOM, CRAWLING ON THE WALLS. THE CARPET WAS SO DISGUSTING THAT I DID NOT TAKE MY SOCKS OFF TO WALK ON IT. THE SHEETS WAS SOILED, THE BEDDING HORRIBLE. THE MANAGEMENT OF THE HOTEL SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF OFFERING SUCH A ROOM. WHEN I COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS THEY JUST SIMPLY SAID "SORRY"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 19, 2008

very roomy and clean

The Super 8 was very roomy and clean. We really liked the seperate living area with couch and table and chairs. The bedroom area was seperated by a wall from the living area. The only problem we had with the hotel is the coffee pot didn't work. It kept popping the circuit breaker when you tried to turn it on. The location was in walking distance to the gulf and dining was nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waffle Houseright next door for a good breakfast or the hoteloffered a continential breakfast if you wanted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top