$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 4, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Super 8 Galveston

2 stars
2825 1/2 B 61st Street, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
80 reviews
cheer compatition

room was very hot when we checked in. the heater was on high.it was late so it took a while to fall... See full review

  • Susan S.
  • Jan 14, 2015
family getaway

Good comfortable stay the kids enjoyed it. Pool was little but it was a great hotel. See full review

  • tolling45
  • Jul 12, 2014
Award-winning property, walking distance from the beach
The Super 8 Galveston has won "The Pride of Super 8" designation several times. Located just one-half block from the beach and the Galveston Seawall, the motel is just minutes from the Cruise Terminal and conveniently located near several other area attractions, including Moody Gardens and the Schlitterbahn Waterpark. Guest rooms at the Super 8 Galveston include free Wi-Fi, and a complimentary continental breakfast awaits guests each morning.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast, newspapers and coffee in the lobby
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • HBO in guest rooms
Rooms
Spacious guest rooms are decorated with modern flavor, including oversized headboards and a vibrant color scheme. All of the 27-inch televisions include HBO channels. The hotel provides cribs free of charge (limited availability) and rollaway beds for a small fee (limited availability). Rooms include standard amenities, including a hair-dryer and an alarm clock.
Features
The Super 8 Galveston has won multiple "Pride of Super 8" awards. Start the day with breakfast before heading to the beach, or to the outdoor swimming pool. The motel is just minutes from many of the most visited attractions in Galveston, including Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens. It is walking distance to the Convention Center. Guests who are in the area for a cruise may park a vehicle at the Super 8 Galveston at no charge (with stay).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38 mi/61.2 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Fort Crockett (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Moody Gardens (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Port of Galveston (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Texas A and M University - Galveston (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Strand District (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (3.7 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Laundry facilities available (fees apply)
Policies and fees
No pets allowed. Rollaway cot available in only some rooms and, if available, at $10 USD per room night. Call motel to verify.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Galveston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Galveston

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corpus Christi TX
Jun 7, 2010

It was ok

The bed was very comfortable, but the toilet seat was loose. There was a loveseat in a separate alcove, but it was hard to see the tv from where it was located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It was close to the seawall and the beach, which was great. It was a slightly longer drive to the tourist shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Magnolia, TX
Jun 1, 2010

Excellent Service, above and beyond!

Everything, from the excellent staff at the front desk, to a prime spot for handicapped parking, handicapped room near front office, made our stay the best! Thank you. Usually, I grade tough, but Super 8 Galveston, deserves the highest score!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We visited the Waffle House, the staff gave excellent service and served hot, excellent food. I have and will recommend it to other people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Native Texan visiting
Business
Wichita, Kansas
Apr 19, 2010

Super! 8

The room was very large and for the most part very clean. The tub drained slowly, so we were standing in water at the end of our showers. Could have been from washing all the Galveston sand out of our hair? We got to Galveston really early after driving all night from Wichita, and we were allowed to check in without an additional fee. This made the stay worth it. Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location within walking distance of the beach. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Boliver ferry is free and so much fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
austin, tx
Feb 6, 2010

Okay if you just need a place to sleep

I chose this motel being that it was the cheapest and I just needed a place a stay for one night. The room was fairly clean except for the fact that it had moldy smell to it. Some of the light fixtures didn't work and we could hear everything that was said and done next door. Location is great and a block away from the beach. Minus the noisy neighbor and the moldy smell and it would have been a decent room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Mexico
Feb 3, 2010

Super 8 Galveston

Ok trip, weather was cold, so couldn't be outside much. Rooms clean and close to beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fargo, ND
Nov 18, 2009

Good

great hotel for the price. large room, comfy bed, HUGE bathroom. just 2 blocks from seawall blvd and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sa, TX
Nov 9, 2009

Good location for price

Great rate for location and convenience. Was is town for conference and hotel was 2 blocks away from the convention center and 1.6 miles from the Moody Gardens. I had not noise isuues and the room was very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to many entertainment venues, but most hotels are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Oct 26, 2009

good location/good price

Good location Good breakfast....love the Sunday morning breakfast... and it's free!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Oct 3, 2009

not very super

the room was half redecorated, paint was peeling on one wall and the door, the telephone did not work and the free internet did not work at all the night we were there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Sep 26, 2009

paid full price, orbitz not found

upon arriving at the hotel the person working there could not find our orbitz reservation. It was getting late so instead of wandering around for who knows how long, I decided to go ahead and just pay full price for the hotel room. She said she would call our room and let us know when she got the info from orbitz. I said ok. Went to sleep, having never heard anything, in the morning checking out the next shift person working knew nothing about it, nor anything about the refund i discussed with the girl last night. So ended up stuck with paying the full price, almost 70 dollars instead of around 40 something with my orbitz reservation. orbitz gave us a refund today, but it doesn't help much considering i had to pay almost twice as much as i would have if orbitz would have sent the reservation, or maybe the girl working at the hotel lost it? I dont know. aside from that it was ok, the hotel was / worth 40 something, but not really worth almost 70 which i could have paid at a different / better hotel. i always use orbitz for hotels and have never had this problem until this time. I'll probably consider a different option for hotel searching next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top