$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 29, 2015

Super 8 Galveston

2 stars
View map of 2825 1/2 B 61st Street, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
78 reviews
family getaway

Good comfortable stay the kids enjoyed it. Pool was little but it was a great hotel. See full review

  • tolling45
  • Jul 12, 2014
ray

100 good , love it......................................................................go back again See full review

  • raymond l.
  • May 19, 2015
The Super 8 Galveston has won "The Pride of Super 8" designation several times. Located just one-half block from the beach and the Galveston Seawall, the motel is just minutes from the Cruise Terminal and conveniently located near several other area attractions, including Moody Gardens and the Schlitterbahn Waterpark. Guest rooms at the Super 8 Galveston include free Wi-Fi, and a complimentary continental breakfast awaits guests each morning.
Rooms
Spacious guest rooms are decorated with modern flavor, including oversized headboards and a vibrant color scheme. All of the 27-inch televisions include HBO channels. The hotel provides cribs free of charge (limited availability) and rollaway beds for a small fee (limited availability). Rooms include standard amenities, including a hair-dryer and an alarm clock.
Property features
The Super 8 Galveston has won multiple "Pride of Super 8" awards. Start the day with breakfast before heading to the beach, or to the outdoor swimming pool. The motel is just minutes from many of the most visited attractions in Galveston, including Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens. It is walking distance to the Convention Center. Guests who are in the area for a cruise may park a vehicle at the Super 8 Galveston at no charge (with stay).
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast, newspapers and coffee in the lobby
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • HBO in guest rooms
Nearby attractions
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Fort Crockett (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Moody Gardens (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Port of Galveston (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Texas A and M University - Galveston (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Strand District (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (3.7 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Laundry facilities available (fees apply)
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38 mi/61.2 km)
Policies
No pets allowed. Rollaway cot available in only some rooms and, if available, at $10 USD per room night. Call motel to verify.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Galveston also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Galveston

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
future PT student
Business
Bellevue, WA
Feb 9, 2013

Not bad

If you paid for a cheap place, expect what you'll get. Don't expect luxurious service, but it's really worth what you pay for. The staff are extremely nice and helpful. The one bad thing was that the hair dryer was kind of sticky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LETICIA G.
Family
N/A
Aug 9, 2015

Summer vacation Aug 2015

The hotel was nice but when we walked in the room smelled of disinfectant. It was a smoke free room but in the morning the bathroom fan blew in a bunch of cigarette smoke. The blankets were thin and the ac didn't work. Very limited parking had to park on opposite side of building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
raymond l.
Couples
N/A
May 19, 2015

ray

100 good , love it......................................................................go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandma kitty
Couples
seligmsn, mo
Oct 12, 2014

39th wedding anniversary

Was nice enough but saw some bugs in the bathroom. That always creeps me out, makes me wonder if I am taking them home with me. The cleaning person did notalways make it tto our room but not really her fault, I saw the hotel was hiring so my guess is they were understaffed. We have come to this same super 8 several years in a row. I would suggest some different foods for their breakfast, something with more protein and less sugar, I always bring my own, never eat theirs tho hubby does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
netdr
Couples
plano tx
Oct 7, 2014

clean

AOK Room was clean and staff was helpful. What else do you want me to say ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derek of the woods
Family
nacogdoches tx
Sep 24, 2014

Great place

The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The staff friendly and helpful. We almost stayed an additional night just because of the comforts. For the price it was amazing. Only bas thing was the driveway. Has to go through the waffle house parking lot to get to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
load off my shoulder
Family
houston
Sep 15, 2014

great night

we have not taken a quick getaway in years.. I had a very good night the bed was so comfortable I wish I could have taken then ben home with me,. we woke up a bit late for breakfast. when we got down to the breakfast area the staff was putting up the food we asked if we could still get breakfast they allowed us to get it. other hotels would have just cut us off. I really enjoy my stay I will make sure I return on our next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCSfromDallas
Family
Dallas, TX
Aug 22, 2014

last fling before school starts

I wanted to take my kids on one last getaway, before the start of school. Everything was just fine... especially on a shoestring budget. Being located only 1 block from the beach made it even better. This is my 2nd time using this motel this year. At this point, for the money, I have no immediate plans to change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
root 1
Family
Houston
Jul 27, 2014

great location

Easy access to pier & beach. Great value. Good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stickybud
Single
Fort Worth tx
Jul 14, 2014

OK 8

It was my first time to stay in a super 8 and it turned out to be ok. The room was clean but bed bumpy. The break fast was basic but did have yogurt and fruit. The staff were friendly and helpful. I liked the proximity to the beach but unfortunately it was covered in old decaying seaweed which gave gave off a terrible stench that could be smelt in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check to see if Galveston is being bombarded with seaweed!

Review of Super 8 Galveston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tolling45
Family
Galveston, texas
Jul 12, 2014

family getaway

Good comfortable stay the kids enjoyed it. Pool was little but it was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top