$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

3 stars
View map of 5914 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
220 reviews
Wedding Anniversary

We have stayed previously, we like it every time that we stay. Front desk is always polite as well... See full review

  • Amberlee T.
  • Jul 8, 2015
getaway

Just needed a place to rest. Good location, We would stay again. See full review

  • p. rivas
  • May 1, 2015
Enjoy beachfront accommodations at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, which is also conveniently located near Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark. This hotel serves a deluxe complimentary breakfast daily, and throughout the day offers free coffee and cappuccino in the lobby. Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center guests also enjoy a heated outdoor pool, a perfect place to lounge.
Rooms
Quilted bedding and rich blue carpet are typical for this Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center. Each of the rooms at the property is equipped with free HBO and high-speed Internet. Standard amenities include a coffee/tea-maker, hair-dryer, iron/ironing board, air conditioning, microwave and refrigerator.
Property features
Whether in the area for the beach, the water park or for a visit to the University of Texas Medical Branch, convenience is key at this Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center location. The heated outdoor pool is an ideal place for families to relax. Guests who are about to embark on a cruise are close to the ship terminal, and are welcome to leave their car at the Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center during their excursion (hotel stay required).
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast with cappuccino and hot chocolate
  • Cable channels include ESPN and HBO
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
Nearby attractions
  • Pier Fishing (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Beaches (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Horseback riding (1 mi/2 km)
  • Historic Strand district (2 mi/3 km)
  • IMAX Theater (2 mi/3 km)
  • Moody Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Golf (3 mi/5 km)
  • Seaport (3 mi/5 km)
  • The University of Texas Medical Branch (4 mi/6 km)
  • Shrine Burn Center (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Meeting and banquet facilities accommodate up to 100 people
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • High-speed Internet access available
Transportation
  • Ellington Airport (25 mi/40 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Policies
  • The hotel will implement a special 24-hour cancellation policy on 31 Oct to 01 Nov and 01 Nov to 08 Nov 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, 2 chairs & TV

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.4 mi

Dining

Tortuga Mexican Kitchen
Walking Distance
Rita s Ice Custard Happimess
Walking Distance

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 220
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
birthdaynothappy
Business
Beaulmont
Jun 23, 2014

No Happy

we get there the room is dirty, had to switch rooms, ok can deal with that..........things happens. But was told it was a queens beds and balcony which was both a lie, this hotel does not even have balconys and only king and full beds so was misleading all the way around.......I wish I could get my money back are at least part of it.......was not worth the money at all..........very sad.........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joneschick260
Business
fort wayne, in
Jun 15, 2014

birthday trip

A friend and i stayed at this hotel for her birthday and it was a good deal for the location. The room was on the small side but we spent very little time in the room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is right across the street from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store right next to the hotel. We bought stuff from there to save money.

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacationing in Galveston
Business
Houston, texas
Jun 9, 2014

Smoking room

I specifically requested a non smoking room and they gave me a smoking one. Also I was supposed to what two queen beds and ended up with two fulls. When we arrived in the hotel there wasn't any toilet paper, so I called down and they said they would bring it up right away but 3 hours later I still had no toilet paper so I had to call down again. I'm not sure how all the mix ups happened... I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Outdoor people
Business
Galveston, Beaches, Texas
May 16, 2014

City Getaway Time

At the Red roof Inn in town, there are lots of stores and places to eat, beaches across street. Downtown area very historic and interesting to see in daytime. Friendly and cheerful staff at the Red Roof Inn. Good value. Comfortable bedding, but broken remote control, major annoyance. No gluten/dairy free food choices in continental breakfast, its 2014 now, no excuses, people have severe food allergies since birth. so starve or get sick, those were the choices, so tired of this. Get with it already. Ever hear of Rice Che* Cereal ?? Room next to street, very loud trucks coming through, noisy. Dirty rugs, gross. Watch out for diamond back rattlesnakes around sand dune docks, down along the grassy, sandy dune walks to some beach access points, no joke! While thrilling for an adult to discover, just watch your pets and kids! Ferry to the island is free and a fun experience.Good place to recharge from city ways. Beautiful wildflowers and scenic drive off the island (didn't take the ferry back..just gas up and go...) Work way down the island checking out different beaches its about 25 miles of shoreline before you start the drive off the island. Some fishing (off mud flats at low tide), shelling ok (way down on opposite side to mud flats) and just the outdoors. One convenience store, well stocked, but you might want to pack a cooler with lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a supermarket next door to this Inn...helpful. Beaches across street, nice. Nice place for a short visit. Ferry ride fun to the island is fun and quick if you go early, but watch out you don't get stuck in loose sand on the beaches if you opt tp drive on them!!!

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Techie Grandma
Business
Galveston, Texas
May 9, 2013

Overnight Respite

The staff arranged for us to have just the kind of room we wanted. The beds were very comfortable and it was nice to have a refrigerator, microwave, and under-the-counter safe. The breakfast had a very nice assortment; we especially enjoyed the waffles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zeke88
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 2, 2013

Great location

doesn't get any better for the price. great location, clean room, comfortable beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MeMe of 8
Business
Bartlesville, Ok
Jan 11, 2013

BAD SECURITY

The staff was great, room was ok mold on curtains,no soap or shampoo in bathroom had to go to desk to get some. But we were told there was extra security & our cars would be safe, NOT!!!! My van was broke in to & the tape was so grainy they could not get a make on the person. Took me weeks to even get that answer , Then was told they could do nothing . So if you stay there be sure you don't leave anything in it that can get taken. Because you will get no help from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moe Jr
Business
Magnolia Tx n 77355
Jan 2, 2012

Good Times...Happy New Year

The room was comfortable and clean. One guest banging on the door half the night cause he was locked out. Overall pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Make the trip down to the strand for a little sight seeing and shopping in the shops. Fun times for a couple or the girlfriends.

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura2
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Great value for pre-cruise....

Stayed here the evening before my cruise out of Galveston. Hotel is directly on the beach and the pool is average sized but charmingly tucked among a garden of trees-- fairly private. My room faced the ocean and pool. The hotel was being renovated when I was there; it did seem somewhat old, but was clean and very convenient, and the staff was super friendly and polite. The room was clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. Also, the lobby has big pitchers of refreshing strawberry water and lemon/orange water--- wonderful after a long walk on the beach. A big plus was we parked the car for free while on the cruise and saved the $50 parking fee we would have paid at the dock. However the hotel did not have a free shuttle to the dock, so we had to pay for a cab. A shuttle would have been nice. Overall, though, a very good value. I would book here again before cruising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Watsontown, PA
Nov 12, 2010

Great place to stay overnight!

Unfortunately, the weather was not too good. Went to a recommended BBQ for lunch and it was fantastic. Did a little shopping and took a drive around the Island. Very good time. Even had a laundromat, which we really needed because of the long trip we were on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I believe the BBQ was called Queen's but I cannot remember the street. I know it was a block back from the main highway that runs along the coast.

Back to menu Return to top