$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

3 stars
5914 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
223 reviews
our aniversery

Everything was great and the weather even coroperated See full review

  • gary55
  • Nov 14, 2014
Great experience

This hotel was a perfect location on the beach, very clean, very quiet, and very affordable.... See full review

  • Firefighter matt
  • Sep 20, 2014
Steps from the beach, close to Galveston main attractions
Enjoy beachfront accommodations at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, which is also conveniently located near Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark. This hotel serves a deluxe complimentary breakfast daily, and throughout the day offers free coffee and cappuccino in the lobby. Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center guests also enjoy a heated outdoor pool, a perfect place to lounge.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast with cappuccino and hot chocolate
  • Cable channels include ESPN and HBO
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
Rooms
Quilted bedding and rich blue carpet are typical for this Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center. Each of the rooms at the property is equipped with free HBO and high-speed Internet. Standard amenities include a coffee/tea-maker, hair-dryer, iron/ironing board, air conditioning, microwave and refrigerator.
Features
Whether in the area for the beach, the water park or for a visit to the University of Texas Medical Branch, convenience is key at this Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center location. The heated outdoor pool is an ideal place for families to relax. Guests who are about to embark on a cruise are close to the ship terminal, and are welcome to leave their car at the Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center during their excursion (hotel stay required).
Transportation
  • Ellington Airport (25 mi/40 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Pier Fishing (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Beaches (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Horseback riding (1 mi/2 km)
  • Historic Strand district (2 mi/3 km)
  • IMAX Theater (2 mi/3 km)
  • Moody Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Golf (3 mi/5 km)
  • Seaport (3 mi/5 km)
  • The University of Texas Medical Branch (4 mi/6 km)
  • Shrine Burn Center (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Meeting and banquet facilities accommodate up to 100 people
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • High-speed Internet access available
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will implement a special 24-hour cancellation policy on 31 Oct to 01 Nov and 01 Nov to 08 Nov 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, 2 chairs & TV

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.4 mi

Dining

Tortuga Mexican Kitchen
Walking Distance
Rita s Ice Custard Happimess
Walking Distance

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (223)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guadalajara
Jul 14, 2007

50% over priced

this was the worst stay we have ever experienced, it was sopose to be a birthday get away and it became a nightmare. we arrived around 8:00 PM checked in and it seemed that the people were already dealing with problems. we walked into my room and could not breath because of the paint fumes decided that we would go down stairs and report it but I could not leave my room because the door would not lock, decided to call instead for a change of room and they said they would send a maintenance man down, he arrived and also commented that the room was not livable. I called again to find out what they were going to do about it they told me to wait till 11 PM and report to the front desk (it was about 10:30 PM by now) we could not leave and they could not do anything, we were tiered by know so we decided to go down stair with all our belongings. comming to find out that they were all leaving for their shift and locking up the front desk with no attendent besides the maintenance person. The first thing that came out of thier mouth was do you want to check out after I told them who I was. I just told them that I was a long way from home and that heading there at this time was not an option that they had to fix the problem. they were very upset and was just waiting for their shift end to leave. I was given a smoking room, it was the only room that they had and we finaly was able to go get something to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

their are many dinning areas to count or named the shore drive is about 3 miles long with many things to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 29, 2007

Close to the beach

The Best Western Beachfront Inn was very uncomfortable, the room was humid because the air conditioning was not working someone had to come in and fix that. The T.V. batteries were missing along with the back of the remote control and the shower didn't have any cold water. I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone! The people in the front desk were rude upon arrival and we couldn't check in unitl 3:00pm. It was close to a lot of attractions but the room sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Fast food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Jun 13, 2010

Oh Dear

Spent as little time here as possible. Floors were filthy - did not want to take shoes off. Continental breakfast was sparse. Came to clean room after 5 PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
white oak, tx
Jul 27, 2010

not up to par

The pictures online are very deceving the hurricane took its toll on this hotel for sure and it never got back to the same quality it was before. If you have a bad back please dont stay here even if you dont the beds will cause you to have back pains. There were holes between the ac and the wall and around the door. The bathroom fixtures were broke, they leaked when turned on. The stairs and elevator smelled so bad that we hated to even have to go back to the room or leave just cause we couldnt stand the smell. we stayed out on the seawall looking around as long as we could just so we didnt have to sleep to long in the beds. They did "clean" the rooms but i dont think they changed the sheets or wiped anything down, the night stand had something sticky on it when we first arrived. bottom line here is just look elsewhere for your stay in galveston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the rainforest cafe is cool for the kids but the food wasnt good at all. salsa mexican food was not good either. we did eat at joes crabshack which was great and the best food we had all weekend

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rogozinea
Business
New Mexico, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Cockroaches!

Roaches in every room!!! (changing the the room didn't help). The shower… didn't have any cold water. Air conditioner was too noisy. Wi-Fi didn't work. Toilet drain was almost clogged. One of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had as a traveler. Will never stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese buffet restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Galv Gal
Business
Houston, TX
May 29, 2012

Won't stay again!

Bedspreads were paper thin. very small pillows. room was facing parking lot! Ironing board was in the way, kept running into it. No closet! The beds were somewhat comfortable though. I won't be staying there again. PRICING TOO HIGH FOR AN OLD HOTEL. I personally like the QUALITY INN FOR THEIR PERSONAL BALCONIES FACING THE WATER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TORTUGAS IS GOOD. FISHERMANN'S WHARF RESTAURANT/STRAND EXCELLENT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MeMe of 8
Business
Bartlesville, Ok
Jan 11, 2013

BAD SECURITY

The staff was great, room was ok mold on curtains,no soap or shampoo in bathroom had to go to desk to get some. But we were told there was extra security & our cars would be safe, NOT!!!! My van was broke in to & the tape was so grainy they could not get a make on the person. Took me weeks to even get that answer , Then was told they could do nothing . So if you stay there be sure you don't leave anything in it that can get taken. Because you will get no help from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
too much fun
Business
Keller, Texas
Mar 10, 2014

Spring Break with Grammy

I was very disappointed that they advertise beachside and rooms with view of beach. Not true at all. Breakfast was half of what most hotels serve for this price. I would not stay there again or recommend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rainforest Cafe. The best one we have every been to. Moody Gardens was an incredible delight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teresa Scurlock
Business
Spring Branch Texas
Jun 2, 2014

very disappointed

Even though we were right by the beach and there was a coffee next door, this place was horrible. after we checked in there was dog feces on the walkway on the way to our room. When we got to the room there was only one towel, no toilet paper, and there was old rotting food in the fridge! If I could have got my 400 dollars back I would have left and went to my regular place! There was no hot tub, the beds were uncomfortable, and we had to go to the front desk to get towels and toilet paper because the phone in our room didn't work. I would not recommend and I will not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Pleasure Pier might be a bit pricey, but it is nice clean fun. You can some times find coupons for it! Fishtales is across the street and the shrimp scampi and coconut shrimp are delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Apr 19, 2010

I was expecting a better place

Must be aware that some people are drinking licor in the pool (Bottle beer) even is not allow.Should be more careful with the rules... Bad experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top