$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

3 stars
5914 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
332 reviews
Loved it!!

Best place I have ever stayed!! Can't wait to stay again!!! See full review

  • Amandatarlton
  • Apr 11, 2014
Excellent Location

Great value. Very well maintained and comfortable. Great location on sea front with multiple... See full review

  • Yeovil
  • May 17, 2013
Steps from the beach, close to Galveston main attractions
Enjoy beachfront accommodations at the Best Western Beachfront Inn, which is also conveniently located near Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark. This hotel serves a deluxe complimentary breakfast daily, and throughout the day offers free coffee and cappuccino in the lobby. Best Western Beachfront Inn guests also enjoy a heated outdoor pool, a perfect place to lounge.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast with cappuccino and hot chocolate
  • Cable channels include ESPN and HBO
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
Rooms
Quilted bedding and rich blue carpet are typical for this Best Western Beachfront Inn. Each of the rooms at the property is equipped with free HBO and high-speed Internet. Standard amenities include a coffee/tea-maker, hair-dryer, iron/ironing board, air conditioning, microwave and refrigerator.
Features
Whether in the area for the beach, the water park or for a visit to the University of Texas Medical Branch, convenience is key at this Best Western Beachfront Inn location. The heated outdoor pool is an ideal place for families to relax. Guests who are about to embark on a cruise are close to the ship terminal, and are welcome to leave their car at the Best Western Beachfront Inn during their excursion (hotel stay required).
Transportation
  • Ellington Airport (25 mi/40 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Pier Fishing (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Beaches (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Horseback riding (1 mi/2 km)
  • Historic Strand district (2 mi/3 km)
  • IMAX Theater (2 mi/3 km)
  • Moody Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Golf (3 mi/5 km)
  • Seaport (3 mi/5 km)
  • The University of Texas Medical Branch (4 mi/6 km)
  • Shrine Burn Center (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Meeting and banquet facilities accommodate up to 100 people
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • High-speed Internet access available

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, 2 chairs & TV

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

29.2674 -94.8247
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 40.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.4 mi

Dining

Tortuga Mexican Kitchen
Walking Distance
Rita s Ice Custard Happimess
Walking Distance

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Treat
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Perfect for our needs

This hotel was located walking distance to the convention center, which was perfect for us. We were able to keep our car parked at hotel and just walk. Even though we did not use the beach, I will use this hotel again to go stay for fun. It was located in a good spot, with easy access to beach. The pool is nothing spectacular, but does the job. The room was clean, with everything you would expect it to have and the food was good for in the morning. The staff was very nice every time I dealt with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playamade
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 29, 2011

great home away from home

This was a great place to take the family to get away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pris
Huntsville, TX
Aug 14, 2011

Needs improvement!

I had 2 issues here. Although the hotel was located on the seawall, I did not get an ocean view. The second issue was I had to walk up and down a set of stairs that smelled like urine. They were closed in and there was even some discarded clothes in the stairway. Had I been by myself, I would not have felt very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pris
Huntsville, TX
Aug 14, 2011

Needs improvement!

I had 2 issues here. Although the hotel was located on the seawall, I did not get an ocean view. The second issue was I had to walk up and down a set of stairs that smelled like urine. They were closed in and there was even some discarded clothes in the stairway. Had I been by myself, I would not have felt very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
das_traveller
Dallas TX
Aug 8, 2011

Not good for the price

The hotel though on the beach, does not have rooms facing the ocean. For the price I paid for the hotel room, the rooms were not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
das_traveller
Dallas TX
Aug 8, 2011

Not good for the price

The hotel though on the beach, does not have rooms facing the ocean. For the price I paid for the hotel room, the rooms were not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Longtime visitor to Galveston
Longview, TX
Jul 28, 2011

Not worth the money

The hotel was average but over priced for the quality. We could of slept on the floor and had as much comfort as the bed provided. The bathroom sink was stopped up. Check in and lobby staff was efficient and friendly but for the price I won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Longtime visitor to Galveston
Longview, TX
Jul 28, 2011

Not worth the money

The hotel was average but over priced for the quality. We could of slept on the floor and had as much comfort as the bed provided. The bathroom sink was stopped up. Check in and lobby staff was efficient and friendly but for the price I won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southwest Missouri
Jul 27, 2011

The good, the bad and the really ugly...

My wife, 2 adult daughters and I drove to Galveston from SW Missouri the day before our Caribbean cruise departed. We've always loved Galveston and we arrived the day before the cruise just to spend a little time around town. Looking for only a Saturday night stay over proved to be a bit difficult and costly. There were very few hotel rooms available to choose from. Based on pictures of the hotel on the internet and the location of the Best Western Beachfront Inn, we decided to go ahead and pay the high price tag for the room and not really think about it; after all it is right across the street from a fantastic beach. That decision turned out to be a mistake. When we checked into the hotel, I immediately was disappointed that the fee had already been paid and it was non-refundable. This is a hotel that I would have immediately checked out of but we were stuck! The place was dirty. The beds were small and broken down. The bathroom was disgusting. The shower didn't work at all and it took maintenance over 2 hours to come and fix it. The stairwell leading upstairs had a definite odor of urine. It was obvious that we had stepped into a "party hotel" that was not well kept. The continental breakfast was a joke. The pool was okay. I've traveled a lot over the years and stayed in many different hotels and can put up with just about anything as long as it is clean...this one was not. If the room would have been around $100 per night it still wouldn't have been acceptable but since it almost $300 for the night, it made for a pretty bad start to a wonderful vacation. Unless you are looking for some place that you can get drunk and go crazy and nobody cares, this is not the place you want to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel is great. It is right in the middle of everything; beach, dining and entertainment.

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southwest Missouri
Jul 27, 2011

The good, the bad and the really ugly...

My wife, 2 adult daughters and I drove to Galveston from SW Missouri the day before our Caribbean cruise departed. We've always loved Galveston and we arrived the day before the cruise just to spend a little time around town. Looking for only a Saturday night stay over proved to be a bit difficult and costly. There were very few hotel rooms available to choose from. Based on pictures of the hotel on the internet and the location of the Best Western Beachfront Inn, we decided to go ahead and pay the high price tag for the room and not really think about it; after all it is right across the street from a fantastic beach. That decision turned out to be a mistake. When we checked into the hotel, I immediately was disappointed that the fee had already been paid and it was non-refundable. This is a hotel that I would have immediately checked out of but we were stuck! The place was dirty. The beds were small and broken down. The bathroom was disgusting. The shower didn't work at all and it took maintenance over 2 hours to come and fix it. The stairwell leading upstairs had a definite odor of urine. It was obvious that we had stepped into a "party hotel" that was not well kept. The continental breakfast was a joke. The pool was okay. I've traveled a lot over the years and stayed in many different hotels and can put up with just about anything as long as it is clean...this one was not. If the room would have been around $100 per night it still wouldn't have been acceptable but since it almost $300 for the night, it made for a pretty bad start to a wonderful vacation. Unless you are looking for some place that you can get drunk and go crazy and nobody cares, this is not the place you want to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel is great. It is right in the middle of everything; beach, dining and entertainment.

Back to menu Return to top