$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

3 stars
5914 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
222 reviews
our aniversery

Everything was great and the weather even coroperated See full review

  • gary55
  • Nov 14, 2014
Great experience

This hotel was a perfect location on the beach, very clean, very quiet, and very affordable.... See full review

  • Firefighter matt
  • Sep 20, 2014
Steps from the beach, close to Galveston main attractions
Enjoy beachfront accommodations at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, which is also conveniently located near Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark. This hotel serves a deluxe complimentary breakfast daily, and throughout the day offers free coffee and cappuccino in the lobby. Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center guests also enjoy a heated outdoor pool, a perfect place to lounge.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast with cappuccino and hot chocolate
  • Cable channels include ESPN and HBO
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
Rooms
Quilted bedding and rich blue carpet are typical for this Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center. Each of the rooms at the property is equipped with free HBO and high-speed Internet. Standard amenities include a coffee/tea-maker, hair-dryer, iron/ironing board, air conditioning, microwave and refrigerator.
Features
Whether in the area for the beach, the water park or for a visit to the University of Texas Medical Branch, convenience is key at this Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center location. The heated outdoor pool is an ideal place for families to relax. Guests who are about to embark on a cruise are close to the ship terminal, and are welcome to leave their car at the Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center during their excursion (hotel stay required).
Transportation
  • Ellington Airport (25 mi/40 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Pier Fishing (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Beaches (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Horseback riding (1 mi/2 km)
  • Historic Strand district (2 mi/3 km)
  • IMAX Theater (2 mi/3 km)
  • Moody Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Golf (3 mi/5 km)
  • Seaport (3 mi/5 km)
  • The University of Texas Medical Branch (4 mi/6 km)
  • Shrine Burn Center (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Meeting and banquet facilities accommodate up to 100 people
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • High-speed Internet access available
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will implement a special 24-hour cancellation policy on 31 Oct to 01 Nov and 01 Nov to 08 Nov 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, 2 chairs & TV

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.4 mi

Dining

Tortuga Mexican Kitchen
Walking Distance
Rita s Ice Custard Happimess
Walking Distance

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elisabet
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Excellent location

Easy to find and a good location close to the seawall and the beach. Very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berlin49
Business
Berlin, Deutschland
Oct 23, 2011

again a great stay

I stayed at this hotel for the second time. my last visit was in April 2010. And again it was a great stay for me. For a detailed review I would like to referr to my given review on 26th April 2010 (nickname: Rugby). The only minor problem I had to encounter this time was that the Wifi didn't work on the day of my arrival. When I told the lady at the reception of the problem she tried to solve it but without success. I was told by her that an technician would take care about the problem the next morning. And as promised it worked, then. Instead ot the Wifi I could have used the free Internet acces in the lobby via Hotel PC. That's why I was referring to a minor problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Kroger Supermarket

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rogozinea
Business
New Mexico, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Cockroaches!

Roaches in every room!!! (changing the the room didn't help). The shower… didn't have any cold water. Air conditioner was too noisy. Wi-Fi didn't work. Toilet drain was almost clogged. One of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had as a traveler. Will never stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese buffet restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura2
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Great value for pre-cruise....

Stayed here the evening before my cruise out of Galveston. Hotel is directly on the beach and the pool is average sized but charmingly tucked among a garden of trees-- fairly private. My room faced the ocean and pool. The hotel was being renovated when I was there; it did seem somewhat old, but was clean and very convenient, and the staff was super friendly and polite. The room was clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. Also, the lobby has big pitchers of refreshing strawberry water and lemon/orange water--- wonderful after a long walk on the beach. A big plus was we parked the car for free while on the cruise and saved the $50 parking fee we would have paid at the dock. However the hotel did not have a free shuttle to the dock, so we had to pay for a cab. A shuttle would have been nice. Overall, though, a very good value. I would book here again before cruising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amy1560
Business
Texas
Oct 11, 2011

Advertised amenities lacking

My main complaint would have to be the so called hi speed internet in every room that they advertised because the internet was literally non existent. You can easily connect to their wifi, but if you tried to use the internet through that, the page just kept trying to load. I tried to give it the benefit of the doubt, left the room, went down to the lobby, came back-page is still trying to load. The staff said they would reboot their wifi and look into it, but I also got the impression they were not tech savvy. So I waited 20 minutes, it still was not fixed. By that point I gave up, and decided to explore the town. The next morning I tried to use it again, no luck. The rest of the hotel was blah, could be better as well, but the principle of the fact is if your going to advertise a amenity for your hotel at the very least you should have it available and/or staff to fix it if it breaks. Luckily it wasn't something worse like running toilets. Also as an after thought, there was no clock radio in the room either, even motel 6s have clock radios...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
monkies
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 24, 2011

One night Stay

room seemed clean. water had trouble draining in tub

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debby
Business
Pollok, Tx
Sep 16, 2011

A night on the beach

We found the room to be very clean and well located. We had a view of the beach from our room and we were across the street from Kroger grocery store. Also on the other side was a mexican food restrurant. We were within walking distance of other restruants and activities. Pleasant stay. Good breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fuzzybeartx.
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 2, 2011

perfect overnight

only one bad note the wifi would only last a minute or two then go out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Treat
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Perfect for our needs

This hotel was located walking distance to the convention center, which was perfect for us. We were able to keep our car parked at hotel and just walk. Even though we did not use the beach, I will use this hotel again to go stay for fun. It was located in a good spot, with easy access to beach. The pool is nothing spectacular, but does the job. The room was clean, with everything you would expect it to have and the food was good for in the morning. The staff was very nice every time I dealt with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playamade
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 29, 2011

great home away from home

This was a great place to take the family to get away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top