$35 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

3 stars
5914 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
217 reviews
great getaway

The staff was great the room was very clean and the bed was great See full review

  • gary55
  • Sep 13, 2014
Loved it!!

Best place I have ever stayed!! Can't wait to stay again!!! See full review

  • Amandatarlton
  • Apr 11, 2014
Steps from the beach, close to Galveston main attractions
Enjoy beachfront accommodations at the Best Western Beachfront Inn, which is also conveniently located near Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark. This hotel serves a deluxe complimentary breakfast daily, and throughout the day offers free coffee and cappuccino in the lobby. Best Western Beachfront Inn guests also enjoy a heated outdoor pool, a perfect place to lounge.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast with cappuccino and hot chocolate
  • Cable channels include ESPN and HBO
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
Rooms
Quilted bedding and rich blue carpet are typical for this Best Western Beachfront Inn. Each of the rooms at the property is equipped with free HBO and high-speed Internet. Standard amenities include a coffee/tea-maker, hair-dryer, iron/ironing board, air conditioning, microwave and refrigerator.
Features
Whether in the area for the beach, the water park or for a visit to the University of Texas Medical Branch, convenience is key at this Best Western Beachfront Inn location. The heated outdoor pool is an ideal place for families to relax. Guests who are about to embark on a cruise are close to the ship terminal, and are welcome to leave their car at the Best Western Beachfront Inn during their excursion (hotel stay required).
Transportation
  • Ellington Airport (25 mi/40 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Pier Fishing (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Beaches (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Horseback riding (1 mi/2 km)
  • Historic Strand district (2 mi/3 km)
  • IMAX Theater (2 mi/3 km)
  • Moody Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Golf (3 mi/5 km)
  • Seaport (3 mi/5 km)
  • The University of Texas Medical Branch (4 mi/6 km)
  • Shrine Burn Center (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Meeting and banquet facilities accommodate up to 100 people
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • High-speed Internet access available

Hotel Map

29.2674 -94.8247
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 40.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, 2 chairs & TV

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.4 mi

Dining

Tortuga Mexican Kitchen
Walking Distance
Rita s Ice Custard Happimess
Walking Distance

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancy Gayle
Galveston, Texas
May 9, 2012

sister cruise

The hotel was in a nice location, had a wonderful staff...especially a young lady named Tay. She went above and beyond to make sure our needs were met and the stay enjoyable. Kuddos to her!! The continental bkfst was a cut above the rest. We enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Kroger

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2 Relaxed
Round Rock, Texas
Apr 11, 2012

Great Location Poorly Maintained

While the hotel is located right on the seawall, it is obvious that there has been no professional maintenance done anywhere in the hotel for a long time. There are numerous small repairs still incomplete or that have been done very poorly by someone that could not have been a professional. Additionally, it took 15 minutes to get checked in because there was only one clerk on duty (and this was on Easter Good Friday at 6 pm). The poor clerk had about a dozen incoming phone calls she had to take while she was attempting to complete the check in of the ONE person in front of me. Yes, it took 15 minutes to get two people checked in (due to the high number of incoming phone calls that the ONE clerk on duty had to take).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAS43
Kingsland, Arkansas
Mar 30, 2012

Low price, an okay stay

First, the internet picture of the room that i paid for was a "Double Queen Deluxe" It showed two queens with a seperate living area..There was no such room.. We did get a double queen room..The carpet was wet throughout the room..I dont know how they usually deal with that being right next to the ocean and pool but it was nasty to walk bare foot on. We asked for an extra blanket, a pillow and a light bulb for the lamp... The bulb came the next day, the pillow and blanket never came after two requests..we stayed for three days...On the plus side, they had a free continental breakfast, the kids enjoyed the heated pool, and it was right across the street from the beach...On the fourth day we stayed at the Quality Inn next door for around the same price and boy what a difference...The room was very clean and dry, Every room has a private balcony with a veiw of the ocean, attentive staff(esp Melanie!) heated indoor pool with hot tub, and beautiful decor. ....We will definately be staying at the Quality Inn on our next trip to Galveston. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to go to Moody Gardens! The Aquatic Museum is a must..The whole family enjoyed that! To see the other attractions there can be quite pricey to do all but that one is really all you need to do.. The rainforest was interesting, but not near as enjoyable as the aquatic exibits.. The science exibit was not all that great. Not much to it.. I would not go back. It was too cold for the paddleboat so didnt do that.. The 4D theater was very interesting, we all enjoyed that. The ride theater made me feel claustrophobic and sick to my stomach but the kids enjoyed it. ..............Be sure to go shopping at the Strand in downtown Galveston Island....:)

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moe Jr
Magnolia Tx n 77355
Jan 2, 2012

Good Times...Happy New Year

The room was comfortable and clean. One guest banging on the door half the night cause he was locked out. Overall pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Make the trip down to the strand for a little sight seeing and shopping in the shops. Fun times for a couple or the girlfriends.

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chico1965
Mesquite, TX, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Galveston getaway

The room was just what we had expected. The only thing that we found that was unpleasant was the musky smell in the room the entire time we were there. We enjoyed the location of the hotel, right across the street from the beach. Although it is not tourist season, we did find plenty of things to do in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elisabet
Dallas, TX, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Excellent location

Easy to find and a good location close to the seawall and the beach. Very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berlin49
Berlin, Deutschland
Oct 23, 2011

again a great stay

I stayed at this hotel for the second time. my last visit was in April 2010. And again it was a great stay for me. For a detailed review I would like to referr to my given review on 26th April 2010 (nickname: Rugby). The only minor problem I had to encounter this time was that the Wifi didn't work on the day of my arrival. When I told the lady at the reception of the problem she tried to solve it but without success. I was told by her that an technician would take care about the problem the next morning. And as promised it worked, then. Instead ot the Wifi I could have used the free Internet acces in the lobby via Hotel PC. That's why I was referring to a minor problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Kroger Supermarket

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rogozinea
New Mexico, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Cockroaches!

Roaches in every room!!! (changing the the room didn't help). The shower… didn't have any cold water. Air conditioner was too noisy. Wi-Fi didn't work. Toilet drain was almost clogged. One of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had as a traveler. Will never stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese buffet restaurant

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura2
San Antonio, TX, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Great value for pre-cruise....

Stayed here the evening before my cruise out of Galveston. Hotel is directly on the beach and the pool is average sized but charmingly tucked among a garden of trees-- fairly private. My room faced the ocean and pool. The hotel was being renovated when I was there; it did seem somewhat old, but was clean and very convenient, and the staff was super friendly and polite. The room was clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. Also, the lobby has big pitchers of refreshing strawberry water and lemon/orange water--- wonderful after a long walk on the beach. A big plus was we parked the car for free while on the cruise and saved the $50 parking fee we would have paid at the dock. However the hotel did not have a free shuttle to the dock, so we had to pay for a cab. A shuttle would have been nice. Overall, though, a very good value. I would book here again before cruising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amy1560
Texas
Oct 11, 2011

Advertised amenities lacking

My main complaint would have to be the so called hi speed internet in every room that they advertised because the internet was literally non existent. You can easily connect to their wifi, but if you tried to use the internet through that, the page just kept trying to load. I tried to give it the benefit of the doubt, left the room, went down to the lobby, came back-page is still trying to load. The staff said they would reboot their wifi and look into it, but I also got the impression they were not tech savvy. So I waited 20 minutes, it still was not fixed. By that point I gave up, and decided to explore the town. The next morning I tried to use it again, no luck. The rest of the hotel was blah, could be better as well, but the principle of the fact is if your going to advertise a amenity for your hotel at the very least you should have it available and/or staff to fix it if it breaks. Luckily it wasn't something worse like running toilets. Also as an after thought, there was no clock radio in the room either, even motel 6s have clock radios...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search