$35 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

3 stars
View map of 5914 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
233 reviews
Beach Time !

The Red Rood was just it. We could get to the beach quick and the restaurants were all in our price... See full review

  • Mary Mom of 5
  • Jan 6, 2015
Pet friendly. Great location. Overall Excellent ♡

Loved that I could have my pup with me, nice clean room. Great location with seawall across street.... See full review

  • Alicia QTpa2t
  • Dec 30, 2014
Steps from the beach, close to Galveston main attractions
Enjoy beachfront accommodations at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, which is also conveniently located near Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark. This hotel serves a deluxe complimentary breakfast daily, and throughout the day offers free coffee and cappuccino in the lobby. Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center guests also enjoy a heated outdoor pool, a perfect place to lounge.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast with cappuccino and hot chocolate
  • Cable channels include ESPN and HBO
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
Rooms
Quilted bedding and rich blue carpet are typical for this Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center. Each of the rooms at the property is equipped with free HBO and high-speed Internet. Standard amenities include a coffee/tea-maker, hair-dryer, iron/ironing board, air conditioning, microwave and refrigerator.
Features
Whether in the area for the beach, the water park or for a visit to the University of Texas Medical Branch, convenience is key at this Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center location. The heated outdoor pool is an ideal place for families to relax. Guests who are about to embark on a cruise are close to the ship terminal, and are welcome to leave their car at the Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center during their excursion (hotel stay required).
Transportation
  • Ellington Airport (25 mi/40 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (35 mi/56 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Pier Fishing (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Beaches (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Horseback riding (1 mi/2 km)
  • Historic Strand district (2 mi/3 km)
  • IMAX Theater (2 mi/3 km)
  • Moody Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Golf (3 mi/5 km)
  • Seaport (3 mi/5 km)
  • The University of Texas Medical Branch (4 mi/6 km)
  • Shrine Burn Center (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Meeting and banquet facilities accommodate up to 100 people
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • High-speed Internet access available
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will implement a special 24-hour cancellation policy on 31 Oct to 01 Nov and 01 Nov to 08 Nov 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, 2 chairs & TV

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.4 mi

Dining

Tortuga Mexican Kitchen
Walking Distance
Rita s Ice Custard Happimess
Walking Distance

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sheila H.
Business
Claremore, OK
Jun 9, 2014

Old Motel

This hotel doesn't look like it has had any updating since the late eighties or early nineties. It is truly showing it's age. The staff was wonderful. All very friendly and very helpful. It was great that we could travel with our pets and not have to pay any extra fees. Because of the staff and the pet friendly issues I would choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation MD
Business
Greenville, NC
Jun 6, 2014

Beachfront vacation

The staff were very friendly and gave advice on where to go in the area. Room was nonsmoking, but the shower curtains smelled like cigarettes. Pet friendly and very accommodating of our dog. Lackluster breakfast offerings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teresa Scurlock
Business
Spring Branch Texas
Jun 2, 2014

very disappointed

Even though we were right by the beach and there was a coffee next door, this place was horrible. after we checked in there was dog feces on the walkway on the way to our room. When we got to the room there was only one towel, no toilet paper, and there was old rotting food in the fridge! If I could have got my 400 dollars back I would have left and went to my regular place! There was no hot tub, the beds were uncomfortable, and we had to go to the front desk to get towels and toilet paper because the phone in our room didn't work. I would not recommend and I will not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Pleasure Pier might be a bit pricey, but it is nice clean fun. You can some times find coupons for it! Fishtales is across the street and the shrimp scampi and coconut shrimp are delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr thomas
Business
Houston, TX, USA
May 28, 2014

happy

i was very happy with everything could not have been better.will gladly stayagain and tell others about my stay.thanks dont change

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the seawall is where everything is and the hotel is on the seawall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Belm
Business
Galveston
May 27, 2014

Family getaway

My kids enjoyed it will stay again. Across the street from seawall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad sad
Business
houston, texas
May 20, 2014

Never Again!!!!!

Placed a single mom and two daughters on the back of the property facing the cemetary and partiers in the parking lot. Scary! Moved us to a room where smokers had enjoyed the room previously. The toilet was not working . Maintenance was summoned twice for this repair. Once in bed , children ran up and down the landing all night, doors slammed all around us all night . We heard people next door walls too thin. Next morning met an intoxicated man with a pit bull face on trying to get on the elevator with us . He wore an ankle monitor and looked like we angered him by askng him not to get on the elevator with us because my daughter is fearful of dogs. Never again . Never again at any Red Roof Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I HOP . Beautiful view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Outdoor people
Business
Galveston, Beaches, Texas
May 16, 2014

City Getaway Time

At the Red roof Inn in town, there are lots of stores and places to eat, beaches across street. Downtown area very historic and interesting to see in daytime. Friendly and cheerful staff at the Red Roof Inn. Good value. Comfortable bedding, but broken remote control, major annoyance. No gluten/dairy free food choices in continental breakfast, its 2014 now, no excuses, people have severe food allergies since birth. so starve or get sick, those were the choices, so tired of this. Get with it already. Ever hear of Rice Che* Cereal ?? Room next to street, very loud trucks coming through, noisy. Dirty rugs, gross. Watch out for diamond back rattlesnakes around sand dune docks, down along the grassy, sandy dune walks to some beach access points, no joke! While thrilling for an adult to discover, just watch your pets and kids! Ferry to the island is free and a fun experience.Good place to recharge from city ways. Beautiful wildflowers and scenic drive off the island (didn't take the ferry back..just gas up and go...) Work way down the island checking out different beaches its about 25 miles of shoreline before you start the drive off the island. Some fishing (off mud flats at low tide), shelling ok (way down on opposite side to mud flats) and just the outdoors. One convenience store, well stocked, but you might want to pack a cooler with lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a supermarket next door to this Inn...helpful. Beaches across street, nice. Nice place for a short visit. Ferry ride fun to the island is fun and quick if you go early, but watch out you don't get stuck in loose sand on the beaches if you opt tp drive on them!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carmie88
Business
Galveston tx.
May 10, 2014

Nice place to stay

Overall it was great! The room was comfortable and it served our needs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
555Traveler
Business
Galveston, TX
Apr 26, 2014

Not something I'd recommend

Our room was just smelly and humid--it seemed like they had cleaned the carpets after a dog had been in there and then they never dried. There was condensation everywhere. Also, it rained while we were there...so that was a bummer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beachcombers
Business
East Texas
Apr 22, 2014

What we needed!

We were pleased with the accommodations. We had a comfortable room within walking distance of the beach, and it's not too far to drive to anything you want to do in Galveston. The staff was friendly and helpful. Looking forward to the possibility of staying there again. We go to Galveston to enjoy the beach and sights, but mainly for seafood dining and relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top