$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

3 stars
View map of 5914 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joneschick260
Business
fort wayne, in
Jun 15, 2014

birthday trip

A friend and i stayed at this hotel for her birthday and it was a good deal for the location. The room was on the small side but we spent very little time in the room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is right across the street from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store right next to the hotel. We bought stuff from there to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacationing in Galveston
Business
Houston, texas
Jun 9, 2014

Smoking room

I specifically requested a non smoking room and they gave me a smoking one. Also I was supposed to what two queen beds and ended up with two fulls. When we arrived in the hotel there wasn't any toilet paper, so I called down and they said they would bring it up right away but 3 hours later I still had no toilet paper so I had to call down again. I'm not sure how all the mix ups happened... I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sheila H.
Business
Claremore, OK
Jun 9, 2014

Old Motel

This hotel doesn't look like it has had any updating since the late eighties or early nineties. It is truly showing it's age. The staff was wonderful. All very friendly and very helpful. It was great that we could travel with our pets and not have to pay any extra fees. Because of the staff and the pet friendly issues I would choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation MD
Business
Greenville, NC
Jun 6, 2014

Beachfront vacation

The staff were very friendly and gave advice on where to go in the area. Room was nonsmoking, but the shower curtains smelled like cigarettes. Pet friendly and very accommodating of our dog. Lackluster breakfast offerings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teresa Scurlock
Business
Spring Branch Texas
Jun 2, 2014

very disappointed

Even though we were right by the beach and there was a coffee next door, this place was horrible. after we checked in there was dog feces on the walkway on the way to our room. When we got to the room there was only one towel, no toilet paper, and there was old rotting food in the fridge! If I could have got my 400 dollars back I would have left and went to my regular place! There was no hot tub, the beds were uncomfortable, and we had to go to the front desk to get towels and toilet paper because the phone in our room didn't work. I would not recommend and I will not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Pleasure Pier might be a bit pricey, but it is nice clean fun. You can some times find coupons for it! Fishtales is across the street and the shrimp scampi and coconut shrimp are delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr thomas
Business
Houston, TX, USA
May 28, 2014

happy

i was very happy with everything could not have been better.will gladly stayagain and tell others about my stay.thanks dont change

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the seawall is where everything is and the hotel is on the seawall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Belm
Business
Galveston
May 27, 2014

Family getaway

My kids enjoyed it will stay again. Across the street from seawall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad sad
Business
houston, texas
May 20, 2014

Never Again!!!!!

Placed a single mom and two daughters on the back of the property facing the cemetary and partiers in the parking lot. Scary! Moved us to a room where smokers had enjoyed the room previously. The toilet was not working . Maintenance was summoned twice for this repair. Once in bed , children ran up and down the landing all night, doors slammed all around us all night . We heard people next door walls too thin. Next morning met an intoxicated man with a pit bull face on trying to get on the elevator with us . He wore an ankle monitor and looked like we angered him by askng him not to get on the elevator with us because my daughter is fearful of dogs. Never again . Never again at any Red Roof Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I HOP . Beautiful view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Outdoor people
Business
Galveston, Beaches, Texas
May 16, 2014

City Getaway Time

At the Red roof Inn in town, there are lots of stores and places to eat, beaches across street. Downtown area very historic and interesting to see in daytime. Friendly and cheerful staff at the Red Roof Inn. Good value. Comfortable bedding, but broken remote control, major annoyance. No gluten/dairy free food choices in continental breakfast, its 2014 now, no excuses, people have severe food allergies since birth. so starve or get sick, those were the choices, so tired of this. Get with it already. Ever hear of Rice Che* Cereal ?? Room next to street, very loud trucks coming through, noisy. Dirty rugs, gross. Watch out for diamond back rattlesnakes around sand dune docks, down along the grassy, sandy dune walks to some beach access points, no joke! While thrilling for an adult to discover, just watch your pets and kids! Ferry to the island is free and a fun experience.Good place to recharge from city ways. Beautiful wildflowers and scenic drive off the island (didn't take the ferry back..just gas up and go...) Work way down the island checking out different beaches its about 25 miles of shoreline before you start the drive off the island. Some fishing (off mud flats at low tide), shelling ok (way down on opposite side to mud flats) and just the outdoors. One convenience store, well stocked, but you might want to pack a cooler with lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a supermarket next door to this Inn...helpful. Beaches across street, nice. Nice place for a short visit. Ferry ride fun to the island is fun and quick if you go early, but watch out you don't get stuck in loose sand on the beaches if you opt tp drive on them!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carmie88
Business
Galveston tx.
May 10, 2014

Nice place to stay

Overall it was great! The room was comfortable and it served our needs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top