$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

3 stars
View map of 5914 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arcyN
Business
Dallas tx
Jun 5, 2012

great location

We all loved the convenience to the grocery store, to the restaurant and best of all to the beach. The front desk staff were very sweet and attentive! Breakfast was very very good. My next trip we will for sure stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask were to park closer to your room.

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Galv Gal
Business
Houston, TX
May 29, 2012

Won't stay again!

Bedspreads were paper thin. very small pillows. room was facing parking lot! Ironing board was in the way, kept running into it. No closet! The beds were somewhat comfortable though. I won't be staying there again. PRICING TOO HIGH FOR AN OLD HOTEL. I personally like the QUALITY INN FOR THEIR PERSONAL BALCONIES FACING THE WATER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TORTUGAS IS GOOD. FISHERMANN'S WHARF RESTAURANT/STRAND EXCELLENT.

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
josereyna2006
Business
Houston, Tx
May 14, 2012

It was ok

The employees were great at getting me in having my info ready I didn't have to give anything at the front desk other than a damage card. I asked for a beach view but they placed me on the backside of the hotel that's all that they had available. Got to the room and was hit by a strong smell of wet carpet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancy Gayle
Business
Galveston, Texas
May 9, 2012

sister cruise

The hotel was in a nice location, had a wonderful staff...especially a young lady named Tay. She went above and beyond to make sure our needs were met and the stay enjoyable. Kuddos to her!! The continental bkfst was a cut above the rest. We enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Kroger

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2 Relaxed
Business
Round Rock, Texas
Apr 11, 2012

Great Location Poorly Maintained

While the hotel is located right on the seawall, it is obvious that there has been no professional maintenance done anywhere in the hotel for a long time. There are numerous small repairs still incomplete or that have been done very poorly by someone that could not have been a professional. Additionally, it took 15 minutes to get checked in because there was only one clerk on duty (and this was on Easter Good Friday at 6 pm). The poor clerk had about a dozen incoming phone calls she had to take while she was attempting to complete the check in of the ONE person in front of me. Yes, it took 15 minutes to get two people checked in (due to the high number of incoming phone calls that the ONE clerk on duty had to take).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAS43
Business
Kingsland, Arkansas
Mar 30, 2012

Low price, an okay stay

First, the internet picture of the room that i paid for was a "Double Queen Deluxe" It showed two queens with a seperate living area..There was no such room.. We did get a double queen room..The carpet was wet throughout the room..I dont know how they usually deal with that being right next to the ocean and pool but it was nasty to walk bare foot on. We asked for an extra blanket, a pillow and a light bulb for the lamp... The bulb came the next day, the pillow and blanket never came after two requests..we stayed for three days...On the plus side, they had a free continental breakfast, the kids enjoyed the heated pool, and it was right across the street from the beach...On the fourth day we stayed at the Quality Inn next door for around the same price and boy what a difference...The room was very clean and dry, Every room has a private balcony with a veiw of the ocean, attentive staff(esp Melanie!) heated indoor pool with hot tub, and beautiful decor. ....We will definately be staying at the Quality Inn on our next trip to Galveston. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to go to Moody Gardens! The Aquatic Museum is a must..The whole family enjoyed that! To see the other attractions there can be quite pricey to do all but that one is really all you need to do.. The rainforest was interesting, but not near as enjoyable as the aquatic exibits.. The science exibit was not all that great. Not much to it.. I would not go back. It was too cold for the paddleboat so didnt do that.. The 4D theater was very interesting, we all enjoyed that. The ride theater made me feel claustrophobic and sick to my stomach but the kids enjoyed it. ..............Be sure to go shopping at the Strand in downtown Galveston Island....:)

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moe Jr
Business
Magnolia Tx n 77355
Jan 2, 2012

Good Times...Happy New Year

The room was comfortable and clean. One guest banging on the door half the night cause he was locked out. Overall pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Make the trip down to the strand for a little sight seeing and shopping in the shops. Fun times for a couple or the girlfriends.

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chico1965
Business
Mesquite, TX, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Galveston getaway

The room was just what we had expected. The only thing that we found that was unpleasant was the musky smell in the room the entire time we were there. We enjoyed the location of the hotel, right across the street from the beach. Although it is not tourist season, we did find plenty of things to do in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elisabet
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Excellent location

Easy to find and a good location close to the seawall and the beach. Very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berlin49
Business
Berlin, Deutschland
Oct 23, 2011

again a great stay

I stayed at this hotel for the second time. my last visit was in April 2010. And again it was a great stay for me. For a detailed review I would like to referr to my given review on 26th April 2010 (nickname: Rugby). The only minor problem I had to encounter this time was that the Wifi didn't work on the day of my arrival. When I told the lady at the reception of the problem she tried to solve it but without success. I was told by her that an technician would take care about the problem the next morning. And as promised it worked, then. Instead ot the Wifi I could have used the free Internet acces in the lobby via Hotel PC. That's why I was referring to a minor problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Kroger Supermarket

Back to menu Return to top