$51 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Motel 6 Galveston, TX

1 star
7404 Ave J, I-45 at 61st Street/71st Street, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
94 reviews
Greatest Staff in the World........

Omg well I was taking back by the location Great Staff excellent Crystal.and Millie the desk clerks... See full review

  • Jamie mrcutie
  • Apr 29, 2014
good

Wasnt expecting for the room to look that well, Loved the room setup See full review

  • LNJH
  • Aug 26, 2013
Newly remodeled rooms and close to Galveston beaches

The Motel 6 Galveston looks like a boutique motel a visitor would expect to see in Europe. Rooms include large flat-screen televisions, with an audiovisual connection for gaming and music. Wi-Fi is available (fee applies) in all rooms. Enjoy a seasonal outdoor pool and patio. Close to the beach, and to popular Galveston attractions such as Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens, the Motel 6 Galveston is the ultimate in economical convenience.

Highlights
  • Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms (fee applies)
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • Complimentary coffee
  • LCD television with audiovisual connection for gaming
Rooms
Guests who have not visited a Motel 6 in awhile will find the newly remodeled rooms at this Galveston property a welcome change. Rooms are sleek and modern, complete with a large flat-screen television and audiovisual connection for games and music players. Bathrooms feature granite countertops and all rooms have a convenient "nook" and desk area for working and dining. There is a microwave in each guest room. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas (fee applies) at the Motel 6 Galveston.
Features
The Motel 6 Galveston looks clean and modern, like European boutique-style hotel rooms. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas (fee applies). A seasonal outdoor pool offers a place to lounge, but the beach is just a few minutes' drive away. Kids stay free with a paying parent and pets are welcome at this motel. Motel policy states that as long as they are well behaved, pets stay free. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day. Free local calls are available.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38.7 mi/62.2 km)
Attractions
  • Texas A&M Galveston (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Moody Gardens (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Beach Central Convention Center (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Ferry Terminal (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi available throughout (fee applies)

Hotel Map

29.2883 -94.8549
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 36.00, MI, SE; Galveston Intl Scholes Field Airport, (GLS), 40.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Galveston, TX also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Motel 6 Galveston, TX Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 1 Queen Bed

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4 mi

Dining

Clarys Seafood
3/4 Mile
Subway
2 Miles
Mcdonalds
3 Miles
Taco Bell
3 Miles
Waffle House
3 Miles
Jack in the Box
4 Miles
KFC
4 Miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 94
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.9

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dtm1962
Waco, TX
Apr 14, 2014

Diva Run

Was all I needed - an overnight stay. Was close to Target, McDonalds and the race start. I liked that I didn't have to travel down the seawall to get where I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Target

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karen l carroll
Forney tx
Sep 3, 2013

It was an ok place

I would stay again it was close to the hwy an not a haste

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovepotionno5
Proivdence Village, Tx
Aug 19, 2013

Comfortable Stay

I enjoyed the new design in the rooms and the pool was great for my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pleasure Pier was a lot of fun

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unknown Scared Mom
Savoy
Aug 5, 2013

Not Good

We checked in and checked right back out! Looked like a crack house and I was afraid to stay there with my kids. The room was very small and there was no way that 4 of us could stay in that room for 5 days and 4 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mamawwolf
bandera tx
Jul 29, 2013

ok for money

rooms were clean but beds were hard. shower had hole in floor. Hotel sets by its self no resturants stores or fast food places close by. Only delivery person who would come out there was papa john's pizza over all it was ok but would be better if they fixed it up and added better beds it is a 10 minute dirve to resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Galveston is charging to park any where on the sea wall now 1.00 per hour have to call or pay on line no meters.

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
looking for savings mom
Kansas
Jul 15, 2013

lost in translation

The best thing about this hotel is that is located only 10 mins away from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coach cosmo
Galveston,tx
Jul 15, 2013

It's okay place to stay

not bad at all for the money Mosquitoes are bad so keep the door close once there gone from your room from being clean every thing is alright

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Palm beach at the Moody gardens

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
loe lisa
La.
May 15, 2013

bugs

I was in the room only 2 hrs before I check out because the room was full of bugs not fleas they was bigger than fleas An I got bitten to many times an my daughter did also I had to find another hotel in the middle of the night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bobwoz
morris il
Mar 29, 2013

not what we expected

this motel is not what we expected..the rooms are small.there was no amenities..the staff was non existent..we had noisy kids running on the balcony's screaming and shouting till midnight...we called the front desk to complain and all they could tell us was they couldn't do anything or leave the office..we had to ask for more towels..and toilet paper...also the price was a little high for a room ...and was shocked to find out they charged a higher rate for Saturday than the rest of the days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

sea wall...bars and resturants

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hollyholli
texas
Mar 25, 2013

Not too bad

Honestly, expected the worst. The good: the room wasn't too bad for the price (online for $75 plus tax#, modern looking room. Clean sheets and enough towels, so that was good. The bad: floors were dirty, shower floor was filthy #needs a deep scrub), one cleaning staff member was unhelpful. Guests that were staying there "questionable". Overall experience: not bad for the price, could've been worse. Yes, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search