$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Motel 6 Galveston, TX

1 star
7404 Ave J, I-45 at 61st Street/71st Street, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
128 reviews
Greatest Staff in the World........

Omg well I was taking back by the location Great Staff excellent Crystal.and Millie the desk clerks... See full review

  • Jamie mrcutie
  • Apr 29, 2014
good

Wasnt expecting for the room to look that well, Loved the room setup See full review

  • LNJH
  • Aug 26, 2013
Newly remodeled rooms and close to Galveston beaches

The Motel 6 Galveston looks like a boutique motel a visitor would expect to see in Europe. Rooms include large flat-screen televisions, with an audiovisual connection for gaming and music. Wi-Fi is available (fee applies) in all rooms. Enjoy a seasonal outdoor pool and patio. Close to the beach, and to popular Galveston attractions such as Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens, the Motel 6 Galveston is the ultimate in economical convenience.

Highlights
  • Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms (fee applies)
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • Complimentary coffee
  • LCD television with audiovisual connection for gaming
Rooms
Guests who have not visited a Motel 6 in awhile will find the newly remodeled rooms at this Galveston property a welcome change. Rooms are sleek and modern, complete with a large flat-screen television and audiovisual connection for games and music players. Bathrooms feature granite countertops and all rooms have a convenient "nook" and desk area for working and dining. There is a microwave in each guest room. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas (fee applies) at the Motel 6 Galveston.
Features
The Motel 6 Galveston looks clean and modern, like European boutique-style hotel rooms. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas (fee applies). A seasonal outdoor pool offers a place to lounge, but the beach is just a few minutes' drive away. Kids stay free with a paying parent and pets are welcome at this motel. Motel policy states that as long as they are well behaved, pets stay free. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day. Free local calls are available.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38.7 mi/62.2 km)
Attractions
  • Texas A&M Galveston (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Moody Gardens (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Beach Central Convention Center (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Ferry Terminal (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi available throughout (fee applies)

Hotel Map

29.2883 -94.8549
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 36.00, MI, SE; Galveston Intl Scholes Field Airport, (GLS), 40.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Galveston, TX also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Motel 6 Galveston, TX Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 1 Queen Bed

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4 mi

Dining

Clarys Seafood
3/4 Mile
Subway
2 Miles
Mcdonalds
3 Miles
Taco Bell
3 Miles
Waffle House
3 Miles
Jack in the Box
4 Miles
KFC
4 Miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaci's mom
San Antonio, TEXAS
May 10, 2009

Bare minimum

We were there for only 1 night- door didn't lock- too small to maneuver wheelchair-even though suppose to be wheelchair accessible room-room very dirty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not pleased ASA man
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Oct 11, 2010

[...]

[...] this motel 6 sucks really bad. Small shower with a confused water temperature. It's either too cold or too hot in that shower. [...] DO NOT BOOK with MOTEL 6. EVER!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mbbeyer
Galveston, Texas
Jun 28, 2013

Horrible Customer Service

I had planned a vacation starting this last Saturday, June 22, 2013. I booked the room at the end of May and I called a week in advance to request a refrigerator. At that time I asked how early we could check in. I was told that 11:00am would be fine. I called again 2 days before my scheduled trip and was told the same thing about check in time. On Saturday, we got to Galveston at 12:00 and went straight to the hotel. I was told that check in wasn't until 3 and to come back then. However, they were checking In other people at that time. I went to lunch and drove around for a while but wanted to get to my room and unload the car. I called at 2:30 to see if they might have my room ready and the person who answered the phone (didn't say her name) was extremely rude and said to come after 3 and a room would be ready. Then she hung up on me. I specifically asked about check in time and would not have gone down there so early if I wasn't able to get into my room before 3. I was so upset that I found the Days Inn who not only was able to give me the room at the same price but was able to get me in immediately. When I called the hotel back to cancel, the person answering the phone said "FINE" and hung up on me. I would rather pay double the room charge than stay in this Motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MardiGrasGoer
Belton, TX
Mar 8, 2011

Beware Galveston Hotel 6

Check-in experience was literally the worst I've ever had anywhere. The room was Spartan, no microwave, no fridge, cheap furnishings, cheap blankets and sheets. Staff could not provide another pillow or blanket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
May 24, 2011

Scam Motel

Bugs in room,No Internet unless you pay $3.00 per night,pool and grounds dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
m m
houston vacationing , living in ar,
Sep 8, 2009

good,bad,ugly

auful , not cleen - pillows hard and flat , old

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unknown Scared Mom
Savoy
Aug 5, 2013

Not Good

We checked in and checked right back out! Looked like a crack house and I was afraid to stay there with my kids. The room was very small and there was no way that 4 of us could stay in that room for 5 days and 4 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaci's mom
San Antonio, TEXAS
May 10, 2009

Bare minimum

We were there for only 1 night- door didn't lock- too small to maneuver wheelchair-even though suppose to be wheelchair accessible room-room very dirty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SlimGhost
Fallbrook, CA
Jul 25, 2010

The worst

Very unpleasant. Rooms were very small. There wasn't enough towels for my family. Was not able to get WIFI. Toilet in the bathroom didn't work. Ice Machine didn't work. This was the worse family trip that I ever went own. The Hotel was not worth the money I spent. The majority of the amenities there was not available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ronnie N.
Quinton, OK
Mar 21, 2014

Mini-Vacation

Door was missing inside lock and the deadbolt would not lock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top