$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Motel 6 Galveston, TX

1 star
7404 Ave J, I-45 at 61st Street/71st Street, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
97 reviews
Greatest Staff in the World........

Omg well I was taking back by the location Great Staff excellent Crystal.and Millie the desk clerks... See full review

  • Jamie mrcutie
  • Apr 29, 2014
good

Wasnt expecting for the room to look that well, Loved the room setup See full review

  • LNJH
  • Aug 26, 2013
Newly remodeled rooms and close to Galveston beaches

The Motel 6 Galveston looks like a boutique motel a visitor would expect to see in Europe. Rooms include large flat-screen televisions, with an audiovisual connection for gaming and music. Wi-Fi is available (fee applies) in all rooms. Enjoy a seasonal outdoor pool and patio. Close to the beach, and to popular Galveston attractions such as Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens, the Motel 6 Galveston is the ultimate in economical convenience.

Highlights
  • Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms (fee applies)
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • Complimentary coffee
  • LCD television with audiovisual connection for gaming
Rooms
Guests who have not visited a Motel 6 in awhile will find the newly remodeled rooms at this Galveston property a welcome change. Rooms are sleek and modern, complete with a large flat-screen television and audiovisual connection for games and music players. Bathrooms feature granite countertops and all rooms have a convenient "nook" and desk area for working and dining. There is a microwave in each guest room. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas (fee applies) at the Motel 6 Galveston.
Features
The Motel 6 Galveston looks clean and modern, like European boutique-style hotel rooms. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas (fee applies). A seasonal outdoor pool offers a place to lounge, but the beach is just a few minutes' drive away. Kids stay free with a paying parent and pets are welcome at this motel. Motel policy states that as long as they are well behaved, pets stay free. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day. Free local calls are available.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38.7 mi/62.2 km)
Attractions
  • Texas A&M Galveston (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Moody Gardens (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Beach Central Convention Center (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Ferry Terminal (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi available throughout (fee applies)

Hotel Map

29.2883 -94.8549
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 36.00, MI, SE; Galveston Intl Scholes Field Airport, (GLS), 40.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Galveston, TX also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Motel 6 Galveston, TX Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 1 Queen Bed

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4 mi

Dining

Clarys Seafood
3/4 Mile
Subway
2 Miles
Mcdonalds
3 Miles
Taco Bell
3 Miles
Waffle House
3 Miles
Jack in the Box
4 Miles
KFC
4 Miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ronnie N.
Business
Quinton, OK
Mar 21, 2014

Mini-Vacation

Door was missing inside lock and the deadbolt would not lock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MardiGrasGoer
Business
Belton, TX
Mar 8, 2011

Beware Galveston Hotel 6

Check-in experience was literally the worst I've ever had anywhere. The room was Spartan, no microwave, no fridge, cheap furnishings, cheap blankets and sheets. Staff could not provide another pillow or blanket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chaz michaels
Business
Waco tx
Jul 23, 2012

Terrible stay!

I made a short list of the cons of this hotel: 1. The beds are rock hard and are a pain to sleep in. 2. The room was infested with Mosquitos. 3. The room looked like it had been built in 30 minutes. 4. The only nice thing in the room was the TV. 5. The staff were inconsiderate and rude. Most didn't speak English. 6. Toilet was messed up. 7. They have Wi-Fi, but you cannot use it. You have to pay for it. 8. Free breakfast? Don't think so! Not at this hotel! Now the good things: 1. It was cheap. 2. Only a 10 minute drive from the beach. Never again will you choose to stay at a cheap hotel... Wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Spend the extra, and get a decent hotel. Don't be cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Park near a surf shop. It's free, and right across from the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LuisHad spiders
Business
Houston tx
Jun 12, 2012

Not good

Room was messy floor sticky bugs smushed on the walls , spiders in corners of room and spiders and a bunch of spider eggs under the beds . The worst stay ever . Room 123 was a mess I paid for wifi and even that did not reach the room ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angry Father
Business
Galveston Tx.
Aug 5, 2012

Poor experience

First of all the room I ordered with 2 double beds was not available and theree was 4 of us. All they had was a queen available and we took it. We got to the room and not only was it tiny but it smelled bad we immediately called the office and got our money back and checked out. The clerk was to every question i asked and was content to be vague and blow me off and not try to remedy the situation. Over all it a poor experience. We ended up having to spend double for a room at another hotel because that was all that was available for my family and us needing two double beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
md2020
Business
murphy, tx
Aug 7, 2012

never again

i and i have stayed in many motels over the years, and i settled on m6 due to the franchisees running others. this m6 is undoubtly the worst. 3 dollar motels have better accomadations. the pool had milky white water, the beds looked and felt like roll a ways, the floors had hard rubber tile, not carpet, and not last, but nothing will be done, i requested a special room because i am a disabled veteran. i was put by the pool with all the screaming kids, and i had to carry my luggage across the parking area and down the walkway to get to my room instead of being assigned a handicap room on the other side of the motel, with a handicap parking space right in front of the entry door to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
peglg
Business
OKC, OK
Aug 27, 2012

Horrible!!

We had a front ground floor room and it rained overnight. When I got up the next morning, there was water all over the floor where it leaked in around the window. The floor and bathroom were dirty. I will never stay in this motel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Whitey30
Business
Galveston, TX
Aug 27, 2012

1st impression

We arrived at the hotel a little early and the room was ready for early check in...room was ok beds were ok but not happy with the bug issues. We were overwhelmed with a certain little bug. Not happy at all ended up checking out the next day and goin to another hotel. Staff did help in resolving the issue and gave us a refund just was not a good start for our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mrs woods
Business
texas
Mar 14, 2013

Horrible

The shower had dirt stains and hair in it. It smelled like a pack of dogs. The maid did not change our sheets after she somewhat cleaned our room. Very uncomfortable for my family. Not worth $211.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KATIE66
Business
LOUISIANA
Mar 26, 2013

VERY BAD EXPERIENCE WITH COCKROACHES

VERY,VERY BAD EXPERIENCE. I WOULD NEVER STAY AT THAT HOTEL AGAIN. WE HAD COCKROACHES IN OUR BED. THEY SPRAYED BUG AND I GOT SICK FROM IT AFTERWARDS. WE GOT A DISCOUNT BUT IT WAS STILL A BAD EXPERIENCE FOR US.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

KEMAH AMUSEMENT PARK WAS REALLY FUN.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top