$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Motel 6 Galveston, TX

1 star
7404 Ave J, I-45 at 61st Street/71st Street, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
90 reviews
good

Wasnt expecting for the room to look that well, Loved the room setup See full review

  • LNJH
  • Aug 26, 2013
Diva Run

Was all I needed - an overnight stay. Was close to Target, McDonalds and the race start. I liked... See full review

  • Dtm1962
  • Apr 14, 2014
Newly remodeled rooms and close to Galveston beaches

The Motel 6 Galveston looks like a boutique motel a visitor would expect to see in Europe. Rooms include large flat-screen televisions, with an audiovisual connection for gaming and music. Wi-Fi is available (fee applies) in all rooms. Enjoy a seasonal outdoor pool and patio. Close to the beach, and to popular Galveston attractions such as Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens, the Motel 6 Galveston is the ultimate in economical convenience.

Highlights
  • Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms (fee applies)
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • Complimentary coffee
  • LCD television with audiovisual connection for gaming
Rooms
Guests who have not visited a Motel 6 in awhile will find the newly remodeled rooms at this Galveston property a welcome change. Rooms are sleek and modern, complete with a large flat-screen television and audiovisual connection for games and music players. Bathrooms feature granite countertops and all rooms have a convenient "nook" and desk area for working and dining. There is a microwave in each guest room. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas (fee applies) at the Motel 6 Galveston.
Features
The Motel 6 Galveston looks clean and modern, like European boutique-style hotel rooms. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas (fee applies). A seasonal outdoor pool offers a place to lounge, but the beach is just a few minutes' drive away. Kids stay free with a paying parent and pets are welcome at this motel. Motel policy states that as long as they are well behaved, pets stay free. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day. Free local calls are available.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38.7 mi/62.2 km)
Attractions
  • Texas A&M Galveston (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Moody Gardens (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Beach Central Convention Center (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Ferry Terminal (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi available throughout (fee applies)

Motel 6 Galveston, TX Rooms

Premier
Modern 2 Full Beds Non-Smoking
Premier
Modern Queen Bed Non-Smoking

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
TV remote control
Electronic door locks

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Galveston, TX also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2883 -94.8549
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 36.00, MI, SE; Galveston Intl Scholes Field Airport, (GLS), 40.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4 mi

Dining

Clarys Seafood
3/4 Mile
Subway
2 Miles
Mcdonalds
3 Miles
Taco Bell
3 Miles
Waffle House
3 Miles
Jack in the Box
4 Miles
KFC
4 Miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Overall score

2.7 / 5
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
m m
houston vacationing , living in ar,
Sep 8, 2009

good,bad,ugly

auful , not cleen - pillows hard and flat , old

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

3
Get up and go Girl
Lake Charles, LA
Sep 3, 2009

Great bargain!

My son and I were taking a trip to Moody Gardens. This hotel was a great location and a great value for us. There are no frills, but clean and decent rooms. Looks new!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 16, 2009

Very clean, very modern, great price!

I have come to Galveston every year for at least 26 years. My friends, family and I love it. The motel was great, new, clean, and a nice price. I believe I might go back next year, with my husband and kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Millers on the Strand. They had awesome service, quality food, huge portions, great prices and good variety.

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

1
Kaci's mom
San Antonio, TEXAS
May 10, 2009

Bare minimum

We were there for only 1 night- door didn't lock- too small to maneuver wheelchair-even though suppose to be wheelchair accessible room-room very dirty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Houston,TX
Mar 9, 2009

Motel 6

We attended a wedding, looked at the houses and restaurants because hurrican Ike damaged a lot of properties in Galveston. Room was clean and quiet. I asked for handicapped room, because of the storm surge, they are redoing all downstairs rooms. Was not told until we arrived that no downstairs rooms where availabler. I managed to get upstairs, but it should been told upfront that no downstairs rooms where available. No elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Granite City
May 27, 2008

Best value for the money

We were welcomed and the room was ready for us. The pool was good. The room was a good size for the price. There was a table with one chair. The bathroom was self-contained with the sink in the bath. The Beach/Seawall was a short driving distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

We ate dinner and breakfast at Miller's Landing on the Seawall by the visitors center and the Galvez Hotel.

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

4
JANTAS
Austin, TX
Mar 16, 2008

Good Location

The Motel 6 was comfortable. It was good for one night. It has reasonable rates. It is a short rive to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Aug 12, 2007

MINI VACATION

THE ONLY THING WAS THE SHOWER WAS TOO SMALL.... NOT ENOUGH ROOM TO MOVE AROUND....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

SHORT DRIVE BY CAR THERE IS MCDONALD'S

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
Jul 5, 2007

good receptionist service

the room was alot smaller than other motel 6, that I have stayed at, other than that everything was fine. I would recomend this to my friends and family. I only wish that there would have been a table and chairs so we could have been alittle more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

there were alot of food places that you could drive to. It was also close to the downtown area

Review of Motel 6 Galveston, TX

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 10, 2007

Cheap for Galveston

If you like to stay at a location for a low rate and do not care about the room this is the place to stay in Galveston. It has a nice view of the water, but otherwise the location was nothing to rave about. There was no shampoo (but they did have soap!). The bed was lump city and I woke up with a backache. I would rate this hotel in Galveston as non-returnable, but you may like it if you like the cheap rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the beach

Back to menu Return to top