$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

4 stars
Seven Hope Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
31 reviews
Loved it..!!

Everything is so beautiful and clean. Excellent location. Hotel See full review

  • shereton
  • Apr 21, 2014
I'd do it again

Staff were extremely friendly and knew answers to my questions. Restaurant (cafe) food was good for... See full review

  • Big Dog 18
  • Mar 22, 2014
Imagine a beautiful botanical setting where you can host a large convention book an important corporate meeting plan a memorable wedding or a special catered event. Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center in Galveston Texas is a Tropical paradise perfect for a weekend getaway or a family vacation. 428 luxurious guest rooms and over 100000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting and convention space this world class Galveston hotel and conference facility is set among 242 acres of botanical beauty and accented by magnificent pyramids that contain a living rainforest a Texas-sized aquarium and a Giant Screen 3-D Theatre.Minimum age to check into hotel is 21 years old.

Hotel Map

29.2728 -94.8526
Nearby airports
Galveston Intl Scholes Field Airport, (GLS), 0.67, MI, N; William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 41.13, MI, N; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 71.10, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center Rooms

Standard
Our spacious and comfortable king bed guest room overlooks the Moody Gardens Pyramids can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches televisions com
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable two queen bed guest room overlooks the Moody Gardens Pyramids can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches television
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable two queen bed guest room overlooks the Galveston Bay can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches televisions complim
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable king bed with Balcony guest room overlooks the Moody Gardens Pyramids can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches te
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable king bed guest room overlooks the Galveston Island can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches televisions complimen
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable two queen bed guest room overlooks the Galveston Island can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches televisions comp
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable king bed with Jacuzzi guest room overlooks the Moody Gardens Pyramids can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches te
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable two queen beds with Balcony guest room overlooks the Moody Gardens Pyramids can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inc
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable king bed guest room overlooks the Galveston Bay can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches televisions compliments

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Play ground
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.3 mi

Dining

Shearns Restaurant
Located on the ninth floor Shearns Restaurant is Galvestons finest restaurant unsurpassed both in cuisine and service with an upscale ambiance.Local Galvestonians flock to this Island oasis to enjoy the signature dishes of Urs Schmid including his Shrimp
The Terrace Restaurant
Filled with tropical plants hand painted murals hand painted stained ceilings and magnificent butterflies The Terrace Restaurant was designed to literally bring the outdoors within.Specialties include fresh seafood dishes delightful salads and wonderful h

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 31
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjin
Southlake, Texas
May 19, 2014

An Expensive Hotel at Great Location

I like this hotel - did not give it a higher mark just because I booked for a date that was very expensive due to some conventions. Otherwise, I would give it a 5 star. The room has good size, with 2 couches and a desk. The bed is very comfortable, and the room I stayed has a nice view. The location was excellent. Actually, the feature I enjoyed the most is the jogging trail and side walks. I was able to use the outside jogging trail and side walk to run on a mile loop; half of distance was on the shoreline, can not beat that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irwin S.
Georgetown, TX
Jan 20, 2014

Great Weekend!

Really pleased with the hotel, nice room, comfortable bed. Nice pools, exercise room and enjoyed piano bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LINDA BENTLEY
HOUSTON, TEXAS
Oct 8, 2013

FRONT DESK DIDN'T KNOW RIGHT INFORMATION

WE DID ENJOY THIS HOTEL, AND IT WAS BEAUTIFUL. WE DID NOT LIKE THE FACT THEY DID NOT SELL SCHLITTERBAHN TICKETS, FRONT DESK WAS SNIPPY WHEN WE ASKED WHY THE HOTEL DOESN'T ASSOCIATE WITH THEM AS IT WOULD BE CASH ATTRACTION FOR BOTH STAY AT HOTEL AND GET TICKETS. WE ASKED HER HOW TO GET TO FRONT GATE AND SHE SAID IT WAS JUST AROUND THE CORNER. WE LATER SCOPED IT OUT IN CAR, THANK GOD CAUSE IT WAS AT LEAST A COUPLE OF MILES FROM FRONT DOOR TO FRONT DOOR. ALSO OUR COFFEE POT IN ROOM WAS A KOERIG AND DID NOT WORK, WE TOLD THEM BUT WAS NEVER FIXED. SWIMMING POOL WITH SWIM UP BAR WAS HEATED BUT TOO HOT, AND DRINKS WERE SUPER EXPENSIVE FOR ABOUT A 6 OZ DRINK X 2 WAS $21.00. PRICES PER NIGHT $ 250.00 WAS ALSO VERY EXPENSIVE AND WASN'T WORTH THE MONEY. ALSO WAS TOLD THAT THE PALM BEACH WAS OPEN.. WAS DISAPPOINTED WHEN WE ARRIVE TO BE TOLD THAT IS WAS CLOSED FOR SEASON. I CALLED IN ADVANCE AND WAS GIVEN INCORRECT INFORMATION..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brown Eyes
Houston, Texas
Sep 3, 2013

So Peaceful

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. This is a wonderful location and peaceful. I will be back very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BandC
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 28, 2012

Fun Holiday Time

Moody Gardens hotel was excellent, as usual. We had never stayed at Holiday time, and greatly enjoyed the decorations Christmas Light Show around the Moody Gardens grounds....exceeded our expectation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed the walktrhu Christmas light show, it was worth the trip.

Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 2, 2008

great for kids

The Moody Gardens hotel was clean, and the pool was great. We got their in the late afternoon and had planned to do some of the activities. Unfortunately, this time of the year, everything closed at 6:00. Other than that, the stay was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 23, 2007

Weekend Getaway

My girlfriend and I decided at the last minute on a Friday morning to go down to Galveston to enjoy the last weekend at the Schlitterbahn Waterpark before it closed for the season. The Moody Gardens Hotel was very nice and made us feel like we were a long ways from the hustle and bustle of Houston as soon as we arrived. The pool area was great and the swim-up bar was well utilized by us during our stay. The proximity to Moody Gardens and the Schlitterbahn was fantastic. No need to drive to get to either place. My girlfriend had a facial at the hotel spa on Saturday morning and said it was excellent. One negative note on the stay - when we checked in the floor was sticky and there was a bad odor in the bathroom. I called the front desk and they sent housecleaning up to clean it while we were out at dinner. It appeared clean but the odor came back a few hours later. The next morning I passed this on to the front desk. We were out of the room all day Saturday and when we returned around 6:00 PM the room hadn't been cleaned and the bathroom smelled even worse. I once again called the front desk and once again they sent housekeeping up while we were at dinner. The smell in the bathroom never did go totally away. When we checked out Sunday AM I asked for some sort of compensation for the housekeeping issues and was given 25% off of the room for both nights which seemed fair to me. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to get away to a reort like atmosphere, especially during the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Di Bella Italian restaurant. Off the beaten path but a local favorite. Excellent food & quaint atmosphere. Plastic not accepted so bring cash. Fisherman's Wharf. Touristy but great seafood & reasonable prices. Try the crab, spinach & artichoke heart queso appetizer!

Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 20, 2007

bad time to go

Our stay was not pleasant. We could not find a place to park when we arrived and could not get near the entrance to check in. There was a convention, circus, reunion, etc., going on and the place was like a zoo. We would not had stayed except for their cancelation policy. We finally found a place to park, but didn't want to leave to eat dinner for fear of not finding another parking place when we returned. Intead we decided to eat at the Hotel. The food was cold, and did not taste good. Kids were everywhere. We walked to the pool area and I have never seen a pool so full of kids and people. We went back up to our room and kids were running and screaming in the halls. The stay was certainly not worth the price and we decided not to stay a second night. We have stayed at this hotel before and always enjoyed our stay. This was not one of those times, and we will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 15, 2007

For the cost a bit rough around the edges

The hotel had some cosmetic defecencies like flaking paint on the ceiling in the bath room, and base boards below the windows. And the automatic gratuaty that is charged to your ticket when you use your room # is some what deceiving: kind of a double dipping technique; if you add a tip to the bill, you'll get charged again at check out. And if you are looking for a pricey night out with out the kids this might not be the place to go because it is a family oriented outing, with lots of children!The outdoor pool is a refeshing experience, that is very relaxing. A plesent way to just relax and enjoy the ice chilled water in the 100 degree heat of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I-Max theatres, moody garden pyramids, water park, and palm beach are a short walking distance from the hotel.

Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
College Station, TX
Jul 6, 2007

Highly Satisfied

The staff was great right off the bat. We were greeted with smiles at check-in, check-out, and at the lovely Terrace Restaurant. Although we did not get the chance to enjoy the attractions due to weather conditions and personal time constraints, we loved the spacious, cozy, and very clean rooms. Lounging around in bed all day was just as good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search