$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

4 stars
Seven Hope Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
34 reviews
honeymoon

I was very satisfied with the hotel from the staff to the room to the amenities. Made my honeymoon... See full review

  • newlywed00
  • Oct 9, 2014
mom & daughters

The room was lovely and large. Bed was super comfortable. The refrigerator wasn't working. Someone... See full review

  • Lu458
  • Sep 30, 2014
Imagine a beautiful botanical setting where you can host a large convention book an important corporate meeting plan a memorable wedding or a special catered event. Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center in Galveston Texas is a Tropical paradise perfect for a weekend getaway or a family vacation. 428 luxurious guest rooms and over 100000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting and convention space this world class Galveston hotel and conference facility is set among 242 acres of botanical beauty and accented by magnificent pyramids that contain a living rainforest a Texas-sized aquarium and a Giant Screen 3-D Theatre.Minimum age to check into hotel is 21 years old.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center Rooms

Standard
Our spacious and comfortable king bed guest room overlooks the Moody Gardens Pyramids can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches televisions com
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable two queen bed guest room overlooks the Moody Gardens Pyramids can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches television
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable two queen bed guest room overlooks the Galveston Bay can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches televisions complim
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable king bed with Balcony guest room overlooks the Moody Gardens Pyramids can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches te
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable king bed guest room overlooks the Galveston Island can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches televisions complimen
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable two queen bed guest room overlooks the Galveston Island can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches televisions comp
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable king bed with Jacuzzi guest room overlooks the Moody Gardens Pyramids can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches te
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable two queen beds with Balcony guest room overlooks the Moody Gardens Pyramids can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inc
Standard
Our spacious and comfortable king bed guest room overlooks the Galveston Bay can make even the weariest traveler feel relaxed and at home. Coffee Makers hairdryers iron and full size ironing boards mini refrigerators and 37 inches televisions compliments

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Play ground
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.3 mi

Dining

Shearns Restaurant
Located on the ninth floor Shearns Restaurant is Galvestons finest restaurant unsurpassed both in cuisine and service with an upscale ambiance.Local Galvestonians flock to this Island oasis to enjoy the signature dishes of Urs Schmid including his Shrimp
The Terrace Restaurant
Filled with tropical plants hand painted murals hand painted stained ceilings and magnificent butterflies The Terrace Restaurant was designed to literally bring the outdoors within.Specialties include fresh seafood dishes delightful salads and wonderful h

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 20, 2007

bad time to go

Our stay was not pleasant. We could not find a place to park when we arrived and could not get near the entrance to check in. There was a convention, circus, reunion, etc., going on and the place was like a zoo. We would not had stayed except for their cancelation policy. We finally found a place to park, but didn't want to leave to eat dinner for fear of not finding another parking place when we returned. Intead we decided to eat at the Hotel. The food was cold, and did not taste good. Kids were everywhere. We walked to the pool area and I have never seen a pool so full of kids and people. We went back up to our room and kids were running and screaming in the halls. The stay was certainly not worth the price and we decided not to stay a second night. We have stayed at this hotel before and always enjoyed our stay. This was not one of those times, and we will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
URIRAP
Business
TLV
Oct 16, 2014

over priced

Breakfast buffet is with less choices than a breakfast in Motel 6 at a price of 5 star hotel in NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 15, 2007

For the cost a bit rough around the edges

The hotel had some cosmetic defecencies like flaking paint on the ceiling in the bath room, and base boards below the windows. And the automatic gratuaty that is charged to your ticket when you use your room # is some what deceiving: kind of a double dipping technique; if you add a tip to the bill, you'll get charged again at check out. And if you are looking for a pricey night out with out the kids this might not be the place to go because it is a family oriented outing, with lots of children!The outdoor pool is a refeshing experience, that is very relaxing. A plesent way to just relax and enjoy the ice chilled water in the 100 degree heat of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I-Max theatres, moody garden pyramids, water park, and palm beach are a short walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimi to two
Business
Texas
Jul 23, 2012

Fun time with family

Spent a nice day at the resort and in town. The Palm Beach is nice but crowded. The pool area is better since only hotel guests are allowed. I eat only a plant based diet and was pleasantly surprised to find food that fit my diet. I would like to go back for a spa weekend with friends and enjoy the resort again. Having the Moody Gardens right outside is a plus if you plan on visiting them. Really worth the time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are put off by traffic and a slow pace then be prepared to be frustrated. If you know in advance to expect delays, your visit will be so much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BandC
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 28, 2012

Fun Holiday Time

Moody Gardens hotel was excellent, as usual. We had never stayed at Holiday time, and greatly enjoyed the decorations Christmas Light Show around the Moody Gardens grounds....exceeded our expectation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed the walktrhu Christmas light show, it was worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LINDA BENTLEY
Business
HOUSTON, TEXAS
Oct 8, 2013

FRONT DESK DIDN'T KNOW RIGHT INFORMATION

WE DID ENJOY THIS HOTEL, AND IT WAS BEAUTIFUL. WE DID NOT LIKE THE FACT THEY DID NOT SELL SCHLITTERBAHN TICKETS, FRONT DESK WAS SNIPPY WHEN WE ASKED WHY THE HOTEL DOESN'T ASSOCIATE WITH THEM AS IT WOULD BE CASH ATTRACTION FOR BOTH STAY AT HOTEL AND GET TICKETS. WE ASKED HER HOW TO GET TO FRONT GATE AND SHE SAID IT WAS JUST AROUND THE CORNER. WE LATER SCOPED IT OUT IN CAR, THANK GOD CAUSE IT WAS AT LEAST A COUPLE OF MILES FROM FRONT DOOR TO FRONT DOOR. ALSO OUR COFFEE POT IN ROOM WAS A KOERIG AND DID NOT WORK, WE TOLD THEM BUT WAS NEVER FIXED. SWIMMING POOL WITH SWIM UP BAR WAS HEATED BUT TOO HOT, AND DRINKS WERE SUPER EXPENSIVE FOR ABOUT A 6 OZ DRINK X 2 WAS $21.00. PRICES PER NIGHT $ 250.00 WAS ALSO VERY EXPENSIVE AND WASN'T WORTH THE MONEY. ALSO WAS TOLD THAT THE PALM BEACH WAS OPEN.. WAS DISAPPOINTED WHEN WE ARRIVE TO BE TOLD THAT IS WAS CLOSED FOR SEASON. I CALLED IN ADVANCE AND WAS GIVEN INCORRECT INFORMATION..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BDBDBD
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 4, 2014

Moody Gardens Hotel

The hotel is very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Stearns Restaurant. The hotel is also close to the attractions which makes it easy to walk to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irwin S.
Business
Georgetown, TX
Jan 20, 2014

Great Weekend!

Really pleased with the hotel, nice room, comfortable bed. Nice pools, exercise room and enjoyed piano bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Momn
Business
Birnmingham, AL
May 26, 2014

Great vacation to New orleans and TX

The hotel is very nice and the loctaion is perfect for visiting Moody Gardens and Schlitterbaun. Our only complaint is that our room wasn't fully stocked and the TV remote did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take food to Moody Gardens and Schlitterbaun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katymom
Business
Katy tx
May 18, 2014

Nice family gataway

Nice heated pool, kids program my family enjoyed. I wish they had a continental breakfast included but overall a very nice hotel, highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top