$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

3 stars
1402 Seawall Blvd, 1402 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550-8199
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Walking distance to the beach!

Had a wonderful experience. Staff is amazing! Arrived to Galveston a couple hours before the... See full review

  • Your Average Traveler.
  • May 9, 2014
great night

my sons wedding was just a few miles away, so the location was perfect, and the hotel was great to... See full review

  • mother of the groom tx
  • Jan 1, 2014
Close to Galveston Convention Center, with continental breakfast
For beachfront lodging, it is hard to beat the La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach. The price rings in well below most of the beachside hotels, yet guests have prominent sea views from the pool and from the balcony of many rooms. Visitors in town for conventions are about 10 minutes from the Galveston Island Convention Center, and the La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach is just minutes from the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Strand Historic District.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Outdoor pool and patio
  • Walk to beach
Rooms
Earthy reds and oranges are the featured tones in the generously sized rooms at the La Quinta Galveston East Beach. Each of the 121 rooms and suites include a coffeep-maker, iron/ironing board and free Wi-Fi. Some rooms also feature a balcony with a Gulf view, and microwave and refrigerator.
Features
After a filling breakfast at the La Quinta Galveston East Beach, including fresh fruit and waffles, head to the beach, or to one of many family attractions in Galveston. The Lone Star Flight Museum, Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark are also close by. Or step out on the beach just outside the door of the La Quinta Inn Galveston Each Beach. At the Strand Historic District, guests shop and dine, enjoying dozens of boutiques and restaurants. Nonsmoking rooms are available. Rooms accommodate rollaway beds (fee may apply).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (39 mi/62 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and seawall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Bishop's Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Moody Mansion (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Ocean Star Drilling (3 mi/5 km)
  • Ashton Villa (3 mi/5 km)
  • Moody Gardens (6 mi/10 km)
  • Texas Aviation Hall of Fame (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Laundry facilities (fees apply)

Hotel Map

29.297 -94.7803
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 30.00, MI, S; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 70.00, MI, S; Galveston Intl Scholes Field Airport, (GLS), 4.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach also booked these hotels.

La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and microwave refrigerator

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Sep 3, 2007

Terrible Hotel

The room was very terrible. The refrig did not work the microwave did not work in the bath tub the water would not drain nor would the sink. Nothing worked. We only stayed one night. Was not happy with hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The ocean was right accross the street.

Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 12, 2010

sketchy hotel

The hotel was full of very sketch looking people that made you feel uncomfortable. I was concerned about my door getting kicked in by the hoodlums upstairs, so I didn't get much sleep. I booked for two nights, but only stayed for one. While packing our suitcase we discovered bed bugs. Worst hotel experience EVER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Team RWB Traveller
Houston
Dec 25, 2013

Didn't even check in

I didn't even check in. The pictures on the website were incredibly misleading - taken under the absolute best angles and lighting. The location is right on the beach, but the hotel looked scary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SIENND
Business
DURANT, OKLA.
Jun 14, 2013

OUR 3 DAY GET-A-WAY, OUCH!!!

WE MADE RESERVATIONS THROUGH ------ WHEN WE GOT THEIR THEY ASK FOR ME TO PAY, I EXPLAINED THAT WE PAID THROUGH ---------THEN SHE ASK FOR MY CREDIT CARD AND SAID THAT THE CARD INFORMATION DID NOT MATCH THE CARD I HANDED HER. I PAID THROUGH A VISA CARD AND SHE SAID THE CARD WAS AN AMERICAN EXPRESS. THE ROOM THAT THEY GAVE TO US WAS COMPLETELY HANDICAPPED, THEIR WAS NO BATH ONLY A SHOWER. THEY DID MOVE THE NEXT MORNING WHICH WAS HARD SINCE I NEEDED TO BE AT A MEETING BEFORE 9:00AM MADE IT TO THE MEETING AROUND 4;00PM. BY NOW I 'AM NOT TO HAPPY. THEY THE NEXT MORNING MY WIFE SLIPPED TO THE FLOOR AND HIT ON HER TAIL, I ASK FOR A FORM TO FILL OUT WHICH I RECEIVED ONLY PROBLEM IT NEEDED TO BE FILLED OUT BY THE MANAGER. I WENT TO THE FRONT DESK AND WAS TOLD THE MANAGER WOULD BE THEIR TILL 6:30 PM. I WENT TO THE STORE AND BOUGHT SOME MEDICATION FOR MY WIFE FOR PAIN, WENT IN THE OFFICE AT 4:30PM, ASKED TO SPEAK TO THE MANAGER AND WAS TOLD THAT SHE HAD ALREADY GONE FOR THE DAY. THE LADY AT THE FRONT DESK STARTED QUESTIONING ME ABOUT THE PROBLEM WITH MY WIFE, THEN SAID THEY WOULD HAVE TO REVIEW THE TAPE FIRST AT THAT POINT I FELT LIKE SHE WAS SAYING WE SET THIS ACCIDENT UP. I EXPLAINED TO HER THAT I WOULD GIVE THIS TO MY ATTORNEY AND LET HIM HANDLE THE SITUATION. I WILL NEVER USE --------- AGAIN TO BOOK RESERVATIONS BECAUSE THE ROOM CHARGE FOR THE CLASSIFICATION OF THE HOTEL THAT IT WAS LISTED AT. I DO NOT MIND PAYING FOR A PLACE IF IT LIVES UP TO THE CLASSIFICATION, BUT THIS HOTEL SHOULD NOT BE RATED AS A 3 STAR, MAYBE A 2 STAR AT THE MOST. I SPENT $433.38 FOR A VERY UNPLEASANT 3 DAYS. IF YOU WOULD LIKE I WOULD BE GLAD TO ACCEPT A REFUND OF AT LEAST$433.38 AND WOULD USE ------ FOR FUTURE BOOKING. BUT UNTIL THEN, I COULD ONLY RATE ------ AS SUBSTANDARD ON THEIR BOOKINGS FOR HOTEL/MOTEL BOOKINGS. SORRY TO HAVE TO BE THIS WAS BUT ON A PASTORS SALARY AND I REALLY WAS EXPECTING MORE THAN MY WIFE AND I RECEIVED. THIS IS THE ONLY TIME WE,VE BEEN ABLE TO GET AWAY AND THIS EXPERIENCE FOR A VACATION HAS BEEN TOTALLY UNPLEASANT BECAUSE OF THE SITUATION WE EXPERIENCED. HAVE A BLESSED DAY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mosborn
Tulsa, OK
Jul 5, 2012

Not recommended

I chose this hotel because it got high ratings on cleanliness and sounded like it was worth the extra money. The room was not clean at all. They might have changed the sheets but I couldn't even be sure of that! It was supposed to be non-smoking room but it smelled of smoke. There was a burn hole in one of the pillows. It hadn't even been vacuumed. Our reservation said that the room was supposed to have a fridge & microwave but did not. We were told that those rooms shouldn't have been offered for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Aug 17, 2010

Below expectations

The hotel room didn't appear to be clean. There were multiple pest throughout, the linen had spots on it, and there was crumbs in the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's and Salt Grass Steakhouse

Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Mar 16, 2008

Skip this One

The La Quinta Inn Galveston was a comfortable size room. Adequate space, bathroom size fine, vanity area spacious. But all of that does not really matter when you walk into the room and what hits you is a foul odor. We had to go to the store to get disinfectant spray. Also the bathroom did not look very clean. The continental breakfast was not adequate either, there was no milk, no yogurt. Cream cheese & bagels were on low supply. When asked about lack of breakfast, one of the hotel staff stated it was her fault she forgot to defrost the milk. This was the first weekend of Spring break & the hotel & staff were not prepared for the fully booked hotel crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Along the seawall, there are several places to rent bikes by the hour. First time ever doing that it was a great time. Adults & children would have a great time.

Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 26, 2008

Memorial week end

The hotel up keep was very poor. I am not a smoker and had no other option than to stay in a smoking room. There were burn marks on everything, the bath tub, the sink and even the dresser. The TV was also an issue. Every 30 seconds the channel would change all on it's own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel was right on the Seawall. That was very nice.

Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
church treasurer
Clifton, NJ
Jun 22, 2010

Nice staff

The hotel was right across from the ocean and there was easy access to the beach. I was placed on the first floor in a handicapped room. The room was nice. But it had a smell-probably the water was treated with something-couldn't decide if it was the usual smell you get when just across from a large body of water. Toured a few sites in Galveston-only there overnight. The staff was very helpful-helped me print my boarding pass and baggage receipt on the front desk computer as I don't have a computer. They also made a great suggestion as far as a seafood place to dine: Fisherman's Wharf. Since I was on the first floor, I could really hear the cars pulling in, altho it quieted down around midnight. There were some people yelling outside around midnight and another person was outside on his cell phone talking 10-15 minutes and that was rather annoying as his language was not very nice. Also had a problem with the toilet not flushing via the handle-had to manually maneuver the innards of the toilet to get it to flush. I did notify the staff in the morning and they quickly noted my comment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many great seafood restaurants in the area, so if you like seafood, make sure you eat it in Galveston!

Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucky333
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 25, 2012

Lower priced for a reason

The staff was friendly but not the cleanest place I have stayed at. Shows some wear. Not the worse place I have stayed either. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search