$52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

3 stars
1402 Seawall Blvd, 1402 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550-8199
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
91 reviews
Walking distance to the beach!

Had a wonderful experience. Staff is amazing! Arrived to Galveston a couple hours before the... See full review

  • Your Average Traveler.
  • May 9, 2014
great night

my sons wedding was just a few miles away, so the location was perfect, and the hotel was great to... See full review

  • mother of the groom tx
  • Jan 1, 2014
Close to Galveston Convention Center, with continental breakfast
For beachfront lodging, it is hard to beat the La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach. The price rings in well below most of the beachside hotels, yet guests have prominent sea views from the pool and from the balcony of many rooms. Visitors in town for conventions are about 10 minutes from the Galveston Island Convention Center, and the La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach is just minutes from the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Strand Historic District.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Outdoor pool and patio
  • Walk to beach
Rooms
Earthy reds and oranges are the featured tones in the generously sized rooms at the La Quinta Galveston East Beach. Each of the 121 rooms and suites include a coffeep-maker, iron/ironing board and free Wi-Fi. Some rooms also feature a balcony with a Gulf view, and microwave and refrigerator.
Features
After a filling breakfast at the La Quinta Galveston East Beach, including fresh fruit and waffles, head to the beach, or to one of many family attractions in Galveston. The Lone Star Flight Museum, Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark are also close by. Or step out on the beach just outside the door of the La Quinta Inn Galveston Each Beach. At the Strand Historic District, guests shop and dine, enjoying dozens of boutiques and restaurants. Nonsmoking rooms are available. Rooms accommodate rollaway beds (fee may apply).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (39 mi/62 km)
Attractions
  • Beach and seawall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Bishop's Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Moody Mansion (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Ocean Star Drilling (3 mi/5 km)
  • Ashton Villa (3 mi/5 km)
  • Moody Gardens (6 mi/10 km)
  • Texas Aviation Hall of Fame (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Laundry facilities (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach also booked these hotels.

La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and microwave refrigerator

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LAETTITIA
SAN MARCOS TX
Jan 28, 2013

GREAT AND FUN

WE HAD GREAT TIME AND RELAX WE ENJOYED AND HAVE PEACE IT WAS WE WERE LOOKING FOR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

YOU CAN WALK TO ANY RESTAURANT OR PLACE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blerg
Business
Oklahoma
Sep 23, 2014

weekend fun

Right across the street from the water, and down the street from a the sandy part of the beach. Staff was really friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mom who likes clean room
Business
Houston Texas
Sep 2, 2014

Unfortunate getaway weekend

Oh my word!!!, the double beds sanitized. Bed sheets are molded & stained. Carpet floor is damp & smelly. There is no ice bucket nor coffee jar for coffee. This hotel looks nothing like in the picture, it's ghetto & very filthy. It's not worth the money at all. My family hated it and they never want to go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ape210
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Aug 23, 2014

Great family getaway

Comfortable and at a great price. Was close to Pleasure pier and good restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Your Average Traveler.
Business
Galveston, Texas
May 9, 2014

Walking distance to the beach!

Had a wonderful experience. Staff is amazing! Arrived to Galveston a couple hours before the designated check-in time and the staff was able to accommodate me. The room was clean and chic! Most importantly they are pet friendly!!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tinymoney
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 29, 2014

Good value but a few issues

This hotel was about average as far as hotels go. PROS: 1. My room faced the ocean. 2. Free breakfast with waffles, juice, fruits, cereals, and breads. 3. Within walking distance to the beach. 4. Cable. 5. Staff was very nice. CONS: 1. Parking is TERRIBLE. I was blocked into my parking space by another resident TWICE during my two night stay. 2. The shower needed some bleach (pink stuff!). 3. Room smelled of smoke. Good value compared to some of the other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaido's - You must eat the bacon wrapped shrimp at Gaido's. It is fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2krazykats
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 8, 2014

Nice, value hotel along the beach strip

The hotel is a typical La Quinta. If not for the location, I would rate it much lower. The beds are tiny - they are doubles and you practically have to sleep on your side as adults or huddle together on the bed. The rooms are decent - they are older and is a little dingy. Its location is fabulous which is the reason we booked it and at the price for $125 after taxes, it's one of the better values to give you direct access to the beach. Be warned that if you drive, they only allocate one car per room. The elevator is slow and small, typical of an older room. It's next to a Denny's which isn't anything to write home about but in a pinch and you're hungry enough to stomach it. They have a continental breakfast that is included with the room and comes with cold stuff as well as hard boiled eggs and a waffle maker. It's enough to fill up on but again, nothing that's remarkable. We were there before our cruise and there is no shuttle so you have to call for a cab which while we were there, about 30 other people were also waiting for cabs so make sure you call early and get your name on their list otherwise you could we waiting for several hours. The total cost of our ride to the cruise ship from hotel was under $10; not bad considering! It's about a 20 minute walk to the Pleasure Pier that has the carnival stuff that you can see from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mother of the groom tx
Business
crosby,tx
Jan 1, 2014

great night

my sons wedding was just a few miles away, so the location was perfect, and the hotel was great to get in, get dressed in our wedding clothes, and then to crash afterwards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Team RWB Traveller
Business
Houston
Dec 25, 2013

Didn't even check in

I didn't even check in. The pictures on the website were incredibly misleading - taken under the absolute best angles and lighting. The location is right on the beach, but the hotel looked scary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
woody819
Business
okc, ok
Aug 12, 2013

Nice hotel

This was a very nice hotel for a quick trip to the beach. Clean rooms, working wifi, and close to the beach. We will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SIENND
Business
DURANT, OKLA.
Jun 14, 2013

OUR 3 DAY GET-A-WAY, OUCH!!!

WE MADE RESERVATIONS THROUGH ------ WHEN WE GOT THEIR THEY ASK FOR ME TO PAY, I EXPLAINED THAT WE PAID THROUGH ---------THEN SHE ASK FOR MY CREDIT CARD AND SAID THAT THE CARD INFORMATION DID NOT MATCH THE CARD I HANDED HER. I PAID THROUGH A VISA CARD AND SHE SAID THE CARD WAS AN AMERICAN EXPRESS. THE ROOM THAT THEY GAVE TO US WAS COMPLETELY HANDICAPPED, THEIR WAS NO BATH ONLY A SHOWER. THEY DID MOVE THE NEXT MORNING WHICH WAS HARD SINCE I NEEDED TO BE AT A MEETING BEFORE 9:00AM MADE IT TO THE MEETING AROUND 4;00PM. BY NOW I 'AM NOT TO HAPPY. THEY THE NEXT MORNING MY WIFE SLIPPED TO THE FLOOR AND HIT ON HER TAIL, I ASK FOR A FORM TO FILL OUT WHICH I RECEIVED ONLY PROBLEM IT NEEDED TO BE FILLED OUT BY THE MANAGER. I WENT TO THE FRONT DESK AND WAS TOLD THE MANAGER WOULD BE THEIR TILL 6:30 PM. I WENT TO THE STORE AND BOUGHT SOME MEDICATION FOR MY WIFE FOR PAIN, WENT IN THE OFFICE AT 4:30PM, ASKED TO SPEAK TO THE MANAGER AND WAS TOLD THAT SHE HAD ALREADY GONE FOR THE DAY. THE LADY AT THE FRONT DESK STARTED QUESTIONING ME ABOUT THE PROBLEM WITH MY WIFE, THEN SAID THEY WOULD HAVE TO REVIEW THE TAPE FIRST AT THAT POINT I FELT LIKE SHE WAS SAYING WE SET THIS ACCIDENT UP. I EXPLAINED TO HER THAT I WOULD GIVE THIS TO MY ATTORNEY AND LET HIM HANDLE THE SITUATION. I WILL NEVER USE --------- AGAIN TO BOOK RESERVATIONS BECAUSE THE ROOM CHARGE FOR THE CLASSIFICATION OF THE HOTEL THAT IT WAS LISTED AT. I DO NOT MIND PAYING FOR A PLACE IF IT LIVES UP TO THE CLASSIFICATION, BUT THIS HOTEL SHOULD NOT BE RATED AS A 3 STAR, MAYBE A 2 STAR AT THE MOST. I SPENT $433.38 FOR A VERY UNPLEASANT 3 DAYS. IF YOU WOULD LIKE I WOULD BE GLAD TO ACCEPT A REFUND OF AT LEAST$433.38 AND WOULD USE ------ FOR FUTURE BOOKING. BUT UNTIL THEN, I COULD ONLY RATE ------ AS SUBSTANDARD ON THEIR BOOKINGS FOR HOTEL/MOTEL BOOKINGS. SORRY TO HAVE TO BE THIS WAS BUT ON A PASTORS SALARY AND I REALLY WAS EXPECTING MORE THAN MY WIFE AND I RECEIVED. THIS IS THE ONLY TIME WE,VE BEEN ABLE TO GET AWAY AND THIS EXPERIENCE FOR A VACATION HAS BEEN TOTALLY UNPLEASANT BECAUSE OF THE SITUATION WE EXPERIENCED. HAVE A BLESSED DAY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top