$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
133 reviews
Great price

The room is huge and very clean. The staff was friendly! See full review

  • Bbeachbbum04
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great Galveston Hotel

My wife and I really loved this hotel. Its right on the seawall and close to the beaches. See full review

  • dgillett4215
  • Sep 22, 2014
On Galveston Seawall, shuttle to cruise terminal
At the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, guests watch spectacular sunsets from their own private balcony. The hotel is convenient for the beach, the Schlitterbahn Water Park, Seawolf Park and Moody Gardens. For nightlife, the Strand Historic District is just minutes away. Comfortable and spacious rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator. A large outdoor pool and hot tub are just made for relaxing at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West.
Highlights
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
  • Hot tub and fitness center
  • Near The Strand entertainment district
  • Pet friendly
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, decorated in rich red and green tones and with crisp white bedding, offer views of the Gulf and the nightly spectacle of a beautiful sunset. Guests have free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, plus data port phones and television with premium cable. Other amenities include a microwave, refrigerator (in some rooms), coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
The beach, the water park, the University of Texas Medical Branch and the Strand Historic District are all within minutes of the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West. The signature Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty of free parking is available. Guests who stay one night at the hotel before departing on a cruise are invited to leave a car at the hotel for seven days free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West offers a shuttle to the cruise terminal and picks guests upon their return (nominal fee applies).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (41 mi/74 km)
Attractions
  • Cruise Ports (1 mi/2 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston College (4 mi/6 km)
  • Moody Gardens (4 mi/6 km)
  • Seawolf Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Port of Galveston (6 mi/9 km)
  • The Strand National Historic Landmark District (6 mi/9 km)
  • Port Bolivar Ferry (8 mi/13 km)
  • R.A. Apffel East Beach Park (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jampre
Business
TX
Sep 17, 2011

Galveston Trip

Room hadn't had the bed made, transferred to a different room. Safe did not work. Asked for more towels, had to track down maid staff to get them. Asked to keep room one more day beyond reservation and couldn't get staff to name the price, didn't stay extra night. Overall problems with staff, not hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I make a living
Business
Texas
Jul 6, 2012

Felt Ripped Off

Paid 200 per night when in-laws dropped in at same location and paid only 129. Granted this was on July 2 & 3 but we left 2 rooms for the 4th. The off peak rate was also only 79 per night which would have been alright given that the hotel was under repair and needed it. Was hoping for much more at 200 a night. And since booked through O there was no backing out when we finally saw the place but at least we had a place to stay. Other hotels were fully booked even for our time ahead of the 4th. One more thing, no Returns points since booked through O.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ohana's surf lessons - ask for Jarred (with blond hair). My 8 year old is now a surfer dude

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Romanram
Business
Houston ,Texas
Jul 9, 2012

4th of July get away

Hotel needs more cleaning , it was horrible staff is not friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nick upset
Business
galveston
Jul 15, 2012

it was really sad horribel

it was horribel. i was really unhappy the staff reallybad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
utamanda98
Business
Round Rock, TX
Jan 1, 2013

Hotel in ruins

The hotel was in the middle of renovation, which made this trip horrible. First floor was in construction so the noise was loud and annoying. This cause a lot trouble with the dogs that I had with me. Also the hotel had a pet weight limit that was not list anywhere so we had to change hotel the middle of the night and cancel the reservation with the book agent. I was very disappointed with this reservation and would never recommend this location to anyone traveling with pets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lovelychichi21
Business
houston
Mar 15, 2013

NEVER AGAIN!

I guess you get what u pay for these days. My sister and I were just wanting to get out of the house a day but we shouldnt have wasted money on this hotel. First off when I arrived there the manager was arguing with a guest while I was waiting to check in that was the first sign that we should have canceled the resevations and went back home. Anyways we saw that dogs could stay there. When we got to our room it smelled like wet dog and perfume. Then the remote to the television didnt work nor did the wifi in the room. I felt that we paid 135 bucks for nothing. smh... You can here everything through the hallways and our doors werent that secure. Also the breakfast was horrible there wasnt enough waffle griddles for everyone to get waffles. I was so angered I wanted a waffle but it wasn't worth the extremely long line. After that my sister and I couldn't wait to get back home and out of that hotel never again!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
no one bad experience
Business
Houston Texas
May 28, 2013

Horribleexperience

The guest were somewhat unproffesional.They were loudly complaining about a previous guest uncomfortable stay. I booked the executive king suite for 350 for one night but sure they gave me a standard room, there was no wifi available. the room smelled like mold the hotel was filthy looked like a truckers motel.I definetley will not stay here again or recommend anybody to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TXACE
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 24, 2013

Not worth the money

Out of a five day trip and five hotels this was by far the worst of all. Room was made to be a suite, but only had two beds and a small table and TV stand in it. Floor had spots on it and the only window looked out at the side of the hotel next to it. This was a hotel the was on the beach but you can not see any beach from the room. I was even told by one of the staff that the price was to high for the room and that they would not stay there. I will not be staying at this hotel anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seeking a little Customer Service
Business
Texas
Oct 14, 2010

Location Fab! Service HORRIBLE!

The location, was great. The price for the room was fabulous, the room was not new but it was clean and nice. The front desk staff made the experience horrible. I wanted to purchase and extra nite stay and I was scouting for locations for my company to have a team building event. This was definately not the place as the front desk manager was well beyond rude, argumentative and not helpful at all. She actually argued that I did not leave a credit card on file and told me that I had to completely check out to just check back into the same room. When I called the night before to gather information on the process of extending my stay the manager contradicted all of the directions given, again in a horrible tone and was just over all nasty to deal with. When I checked out and actually spoke to her about the negative experience, she told me that she did not have a manager above her to whom I could speak. Seriously at Laquinta the only mgrs are front desk managers according to this lady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the bike rental shop that rents the 4 wheelers for $20-$25 an hour so that a family can just roll on the beach and see the sights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A.Rodriguez
Business
Lake Charles, LA
Jun 28, 2009

The KEY to a great vacation......

There were several things that could have made our first experience in Galveston better. Before we even left I called the hotel to confirm reservations (as I am always worried) and the phone rang several times with no answer. I called back twenty minutes later and was left on the phone for several minutes while whomever answered...put the phone down and left( I am still lost about this). We stayed the weekend and had to go to the front desk twice for key cards to our room. I had to sit in the hall and wait (because we had our dog, that wasn't allowed in the lobby), for my husband to return with the front desk clerk that had to let us in our room. I have to say that she was very sweet about the situation. Other than these things, our stay was very peaceful, and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I read a previous review on a restaurant called Saltgrass Steakhouse.....I have never had a better prime rib in my life!!! It was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top