$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
127 reviews
Galveston stop

I enjoyed my stay the only problem i encounterer was the closet wouldnt open. See full review

  • tammy 735
  • Dec 31, 2013
Great spot for couples - Need better staff

The hotel is pretty good and great location. Some of the staff tho were kinda rude. Great value of... See full review

  • Dawood
  • Mar 20, 2013
On Galveston Seawall, shuttle to cruise terminal
At the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, guests watch spectacular sunsets from their own private balcony. The hotel is convenient for the beach, the Schlitterbahn Water Park, Seawolf Park and Moody Gardens. For nightlife, the Strand Historic District is just minutes away. Comfortable and spacious rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator. A large outdoor pool and hot tub are just made for relaxing at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West.
Highlights
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
  • Hot tub and fitness center
  • Near The Strand entertainment district
  • Pet friendly
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, decorated in rich red and green tones and with crisp white bedding, offer views of the Gulf and the nightly spectacle of a beautiful sunset. Guests have free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, plus data port phones and television with premium cable. Other amenities include a microwave, refrigerator (in some rooms), coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
The beach, the water park, the University of Texas Medical Branch and the Strand Historic District are all within minutes of the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West. The signature Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty of free parking is available. Guests who stay one night at the hotel before departing on a cruise are invited to leave a car at the hotel for seven days free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West offers a shuttle to the cruise terminal and picks guests upon their return (nominal fee applies).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (41 mi/74 km)
Attractions
  • Cruise Ports (1 mi/2 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston College (4 mi/6 km)
  • Moody Gardens (4 mi/6 km)
  • Seawolf Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Port of Galveston (6 mi/9 km)
  • The Strand National Historic Landmark District (6 mi/9 km)
  • Port Bolivar Ferry (8 mi/13 km)
  • R.A. Apffel East Beach Park (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2526 -94.8509
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 45.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.2 / 5
10 out of 127
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
Grad dtudent
Flagstaff, AZ
Aug 23, 2010

THE BEST!

After reading some good and bad reviews I decided to make the reservation because the price was right. The first morning I was there my rental car's battery was dead and the guy working at the desk was SO helpful. He even offered to jumpstart the car himself! The room was spotless and overall the hotel was very quiet. I used the free computer access a lot, and the continental breakfast was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a super walmart within a mile or two and the rooms were equipped with mini fridges and microwaves so meals were actually an option here.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
splendora
May 10, 2008

Very friendly

I was there only one night but my stay was very comfortable no problem and was very clean. Im glad i stayed at that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach was right infront of the hotel. eating places all around great location.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
KevBro
Tennessee
Jun 7, 2011

great bargain for in-season

Nice rooms, good continental breakfast with the usual plus hard boiled eggs and waffles-yay! I didn't have a balcony, but I had a window over the pool with a view of the gulf also handy because I could see how crowded the pool was before I went down. My king room was a mini-suite, which was nice. Be aware: This hotel is on the seawall facing the Gulf, but there is not beach only breakwater boulders--the surf comes right up to the seawall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Fairfield, Iowa
Jan 18, 2010

Great value!

Great location, room was big, comfortable and clean. Wifi was spotty but they loaned me an ethernet cord for free which fixed the problem. I was very happy and comfortable at LaQuinta and I would definitely stay there again. Oh and I was happy they had covered parking, which is helpful when it rained!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Moody Gardens are very close and have about the best Aquarium I've ever seen.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
Jul 21, 2007

great business amenities

Large rooms, decent breakfast. Good location, clean rooms. Front desk could be better organized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several resturants located near by

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
houston
Apr 29, 2011

Good value if

Small convention at Moody Gardens wanted too much at the hotel. [...] Facilities are tired, construction a little rough, small dogs barking next door unfortunate, and dripping faucets not good. But for the money, and being able to see the sun rise on the Gulf, it's a good overal value. Staff needs a little professional training in their personal skills, but I knew I was not at the San Luis. My first room got about four channels, but last night I got them all on a flat panel no problem. The pillowtop beds were better than mine at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salsa's down the road has very fresh Tex-Mex. The golf course is first rate if you don't mind a breeze.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
Biker4751
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 10, 2012

It's all about the location

I suppose I would be happier if the water hadn't gone out the second morning of my stay. In fairness to the hotel, this was allegedly a problem throughout the city of Galveston. If so, it's not a negative for the hotel. Otherwise, the location is in the high rent district of the city. So it's near the better restaurants, the beach, the amusement park, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Crab House is the place to eat. I recommend the Salmon Orleans.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
Gearld
South Carolina
Apr 22, 2012

vist

some of the people were very rude when I asked questions. other wise It was a nice place. the doors were not tight. need new doors

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
no one bad experience
Houston Texas
May 28, 2013

Horribleexperience

The guest were somewhat unproffesional.They were loudly complaining about a previous guest uncomfortable stay. I booked the executive king suite for 350 for one night but sure they gave me a standard room, there was no wifi available. the room smelled like mold the hotel was filthy looked like a truckers motel.I definetley will not stay here again or recommend anybody to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
TXACE
Dallas, TX
Aug 24, 2013

Not worth the money

Out of a five day trip and five hotels this was by far the worst of all. Room was made to be a suite, but only had two beds and a small table and TV stand in it. Floor had spots on it and the only window looked out at the side of the hotel next to it. This was a hotel the was on the beach but you can not see any beach from the room. I was even told by one of the staff that the price was to high for the room and that they would not stay there. I will not be staying at this hotel anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top