$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
133 reviews
Great price

The room is huge and very clean. The staff was friendly! See full review

  • Bbeachbbum04
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great Galveston Hotel

My wife and I really loved this hotel. Its right on the seawall and close to the beaches. See full review

  • dgillett4215
  • Sep 22, 2014
On Galveston Seawall, shuttle to cruise terminal
At the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, guests watch spectacular sunsets from their own private balcony. The hotel is convenient for the beach, the Schlitterbahn Water Park, Seawolf Park and Moody Gardens. For nightlife, the Strand Historic District is just minutes away. Comfortable and spacious rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator. A large outdoor pool and hot tub are just made for relaxing at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West.
Highlights
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
  • Hot tub and fitness center
  • Near The Strand entertainment district
  • Pet friendly
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, decorated in rich red and green tones and with crisp white bedding, offer views of the Gulf and the nightly spectacle of a beautiful sunset. Guests have free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, plus data port phones and television with premium cable. Other amenities include a microwave, refrigerator (in some rooms), coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
The beach, the water park, the University of Texas Medical Branch and the Strand Historic District are all within minutes of the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West. The signature Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty of free parking is available. Guests who stay one night at the hotel before departing on a cruise are invited to leave a car at the hotel for seven days free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West offers a shuttle to the cruise terminal and picks guests upon their return (nominal fee applies).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (41 mi/74 km)
Attractions
  • Cruise Ports (1 mi/2 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston College (4 mi/6 km)
  • Moody Gardens (4 mi/6 km)
  • Seawolf Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Port of Galveston (6 mi/9 km)
  • The Strand National Historic Landmark District (6 mi/9 km)
  • Port Bolivar Ferry (8 mi/13 km)
  • R.A. Apffel East Beach Park (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 133
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
1.8
Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mickey fan 2012
Business
Austin
Apr 20, 2014

Location disappointing

Although the hotel was nice, you had to travel several miles to get to a sandy beach. We had to drive and then find parking. It was not ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Copperas Cove, TX
Mar 17, 2010

hmmm iffy

My friend and I had our Spring Break in Galveston Island. When we first came to the hotel, it was located off the water on a main busy road. Parking was not bad when we were there in the morning but later in the day it was packed! The hotel was very clean inside and out, including our room. However, it was not worth the price. The description said there was a view but from my balcony I only had 1/3 a view of the Gulf as the 2/3 of the view was of the parking lot. The plus side of the hotel was the location was near a Wal-mart, beaches, and a mile away from big attractions. The pool was small and the hot tub, besides filled with childern, was over powered by chlorine. Going to sleep was very difficult because the walls were thin as paper. Breakfast was ok, waffles, bread, cereal, etc, but if you don't want to wait in the long lines then come when it first open. You've been warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston tx
Jun 7, 2009

Survey on La Quinta Galveston

The hotel was just opened after IKE - it looked clean but we did see coackroaches in bedroom and bathroom, and it still smelled musty after clean up. Front staff threw away my expensive coffee drink the moment I had finished checking in - no apology or return offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ammers
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 29, 2010

Mixed feelings!

Not worthy of the price but was clean enough. Seemed to still have damage from hurricane Ike but nothing too major, the floors were warped, kind of weird. The elevators were questionable, take the stairs. The staff was nice and helpful though. The fact that check in time was at 4 pm and check out was 11 am was crazy unacceptable for the amount I paid! I paid extra for a view of the parking lot, that was annoying. Enjoyed my trip regardless but it had nothing to do with the hotel. Apparently what qualifies as a suite is subjective. This in my opinion was not a suite! Probably won't be back to this location in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mad mom diva
Business
Tyler, Texas
May 17, 2010

Not What I Expected

The night desk staff was rude. The room was not clean and sanitary. The mini fridge was not working. The WIFI that was suppose to great did not exist and the business center was closed. There were about 30 noist teenagers running up and down the halls all night, with the exception of the drunk ones passed out in the hallway. The room keys quit working several times. The breakfast was bare there were alot of things out of stock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver CO
Apr 22, 2009

Oh! My! God!

The hotel is off the beaten teack- and no restaurants were walkable so we had to take cabs down the strand. The hotel was the filthiest I have ever stayed in- i don't know if there was flood damage? But it did not look like they ever vacuumed and the hotel smelled awful, like mold. the staff was friendly, the breakfast was great. We were THRILLED to leave to go catch our cruise. Will likely not go back to La Quinta, posssibly, Galveston for a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining along the strand is pretty far from the hotel- a good 15-30 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top