$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
131 reviews
Great Galveston Hotel

My wife and I really loved this hotel. Its right on the seawall and close to the beaches. See full review

  • dgillett4215
  • Sep 22, 2014
Galveston stop

I enjoyed my stay the only problem i encounterer was the closet wouldnt open. See full review

  • tammy 735
  • Dec 31, 2013
On Galveston Seawall, shuttle to cruise terminal
At the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, guests watch spectacular sunsets from their own private balcony. The hotel is convenient for the beach, the Schlitterbahn Water Park, Seawolf Park and Moody Gardens. For nightlife, the Strand Historic District is just minutes away. Comfortable and spacious rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator. A large outdoor pool and hot tub are just made for relaxing at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West.
Highlights
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
  • Hot tub and fitness center
  • Near The Strand entertainment district
  • Pet friendly
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, decorated in rich red and green tones and with crisp white bedding, offer views of the Gulf and the nightly spectacle of a beautiful sunset. Guests have free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, plus data port phones and television with premium cable. Other amenities include a microwave, refrigerator (in some rooms), coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
The beach, the water park, the University of Texas Medical Branch and the Strand Historic District are all within minutes of the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West. The signature Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty of free parking is available. Guests who stay one night at the hotel before departing on a cruise are invited to leave a car at the hotel for seven days free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West offers a shuttle to the cruise terminal and picks guests upon their return (nominal fee applies).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (41 mi/74 km)
Attractions
  • Cruise Ports (1 mi/2 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston College (4 mi/6 km)
  • Moody Gardens (4 mi/6 km)
  • Seawolf Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Port of Galveston (6 mi/9 km)
  • The Strand National Historic Landmark District (6 mi/9 km)
  • Port Bolivar Ferry (8 mi/13 km)
  • R.A. Apffel East Beach Park (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)

Hotel Map

29.2526 -94.8509
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 45.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 131
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dgillett4215
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 22, 2014

Great Galveston Hotel

My wife and I really loved this hotel. Its right on the seawall and close to the beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jwhitt27
Business
cypress, texas
Jun 18, 2014

avoid if you can

I am disappointed. Typically LA Quinta properties are clean and well staffed with helpful employees. Unfortunately that was not the case here. The room was worn out and dirty. Staff was down right rude. Other than the seawall location, there is little to boast about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Saltwater grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oldag06
Business
Austin, Tx
Jun 13, 2013

Great location

Average hotel, balcony view was great! Hotel is away from some of the action on Galveston which made it more relaxing. Love that the rooms have fridges and microwaves. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Jimmy's on the Pier across the street! Walking distance and they have great breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The views are amazing and the staff is friendly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pandabearlove
Business
Arlington, TX
May 24, 2013

Good if traveling with pets but had problems

I needed a place to stay for a night, and I was travelling with my dachshund. It was nice and clean for a hotel that accepts pets for free, but I had some issues. The biggest one was that the internet did not work the entire time we were there; there were multiple guests complaining and it still wasn't fixed when I checked out the next morning. The bathroom in my room only had a hostel-like shower instead of a bathtub, and the breakfast offerings were sparse (only cereal, waffles, and juice). I wouldn't stay here again unless I was traveling with my dog.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deafear2
Business
Austin TX
May 20, 2013

Greatly disappointed

Arrived for check in at appointed time with reservations told room not ready and have a seat. After one hour went back and told linens were in dryer. Fifteen minutes later ask to talk to management and given excuse that they were full last night but she would see what she could do. Desk clerk continued to ignore us and manager returned 20 minutes later and gave us room key. Informed check out in AM. Never will stay at these hotels again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunset1214
Business
Brownsville,Texas
May 14, 2013

weekend getaway

When we arrived it was about 7pm.The room that we requested was King size bed but was not available when we got there.The room they gave us was a double bed room,but was very smelly and hot.We complained,and they gave us a room with two King Size beds.It was funny!!Two Big beds in the same room! But at least it was clean. Overall, it was not a great experience. We would not stay there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dawood
Business
Wichita, Kansas
Mar 20, 2013

Great spot for couples - Need better staff

The hotel is pretty good and great location. Some of the staff tho were kinda rude. Great value of price tho

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HaideeW
Business
Elgin, TX
Jan 2, 2013

Could be better

We choose this hotel because it was pet friendly. However one should not have to put up with dirty halls and elevators. In addition, it was under renovation. The hotel needs it, but it shouldn't be a surprise when you check in that there will be hammering and sawing early in the morning when you are on vacation. The operator was also quite abrupt when I needed assistance with tepid showers and a blinking message light on the phone. Not very helpful at all. We finally got warm showers after 3 days and never got the blinking light on the phone turned off. I would only come back because it is the only pet-friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gumbo's on Post Office Street is awesome and generous for the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jiborish
Business
grand prairie, Tx.
Dec 17, 2012

I would stay there again

The only draw back was there was a musty smell and we discovered several hours after we were in the room that there was wet carpet from the air conditioner that was the cause of the smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ValRangel
Business
Dallas, texas
Oct 22, 2012

Excellent

was right off the shore, very comfortable and clean, first time to Galveston and was impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top