$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
130 reviews
Galveston stop

I enjoyed my stay the only problem i encounterer was the closet wouldnt open. See full review

  • tammy 735
  • Dec 31, 2013
Great spot for couples - Need better staff

The hotel is pretty good and great location. Some of the staff tho were kinda rude. Great value of... See full review

  • Dawood
  • Mar 20, 2013
On Galveston Seawall, shuttle to cruise terminal
At the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, guests watch spectacular sunsets from their own private balcony. The hotel is convenient for the beach, the Schlitterbahn Water Park, Seawolf Park and Moody Gardens. For nightlife, the Strand Historic District is just minutes away. Comfortable and spacious rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator. A large outdoor pool and hot tub are just made for relaxing at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West.
Highlights
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
  • Hot tub and fitness center
  • Near The Strand entertainment district
  • Pet friendly
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, decorated in rich red and green tones and with crisp white bedding, offer views of the Gulf and the nightly spectacle of a beautiful sunset. Guests have free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, plus data port phones and television with premium cable. Other amenities include a microwave, refrigerator (in some rooms), coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
The beach, the water park, the University of Texas Medical Branch and the Strand Historic District are all within minutes of the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West. The signature Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty of free parking is available. Guests who stay one night at the hotel before departing on a cruise are invited to leave a car at the hotel for seven days free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West offers a shuttle to the cruise terminal and picks guests upon their return (nominal fee applies).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (41 mi/74 km)
Attractions
  • Cruise Ports (1 mi/2 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston College (4 mi/6 km)
  • Moody Gardens (4 mi/6 km)
  • Seawolf Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Port of Galveston (6 mi/9 km)
  • The Strand National Historic Landmark District (6 mi/9 km)
  • Port Bolivar Ferry (8 mi/13 km)
  • R.A. Apffel East Beach Park (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)

Hotel Map

29.2526 -94.8509
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 45.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nick upset
galveston
Jul 15, 2012

it was really sad horribel

it was horribel. i was really unhappy the staff reallybad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seeking a little Customer Service
Business
Texas
Oct 14, 2010

Location Fab! Service HORRIBLE!

The location, was great. The price for the room was fabulous, the room was not new but it was clean and nice. The front desk staff made the experience horrible. I wanted to purchase and extra nite stay and I was scouting for locations for my company to have a team building event. This was definately not the place as the front desk manager was well beyond rude, argumentative and not helpful at all. She actually argued that I did not leave a credit card on file and told me that I had to completely check out to just check back into the same room. When I called the night before to gather information on the process of extending my stay the manager contradicted all of the directions given, again in a horrible tone and was just over all nasty to deal with. When I checked out and actually spoke to her about the negative experience, she told me that she did not have a manager above her to whom I could speak. Seriously at Laquinta the only mgrs are front desk managers according to this lady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the bike rental shop that rents the 4 wheelers for $20-$25 an hour so that a family can just roll on the beach and see the sights.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Romanram
Houston ,Texas
Jul 9, 2012

4th of July get away

Hotel needs more cleaning , it was horrible staff is not friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jwhitt27
cypress, texas
Jun 18, 2014

avoid if you can

I am disappointed. Typically LA Quinta properties are clean and well staffed with helpful employees. Unfortunately that was not the case here. The room was worn out and dirty. Staff was down right rude. Other than the seawall location, there is little to boast about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Saltwater grill

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Loveable
Galveston, Tx
Jul 7, 2010

Bad place, not recommended

Very bad experience. The first room they give to us has no A/C, plus the carpet was soaking wet and the place smell. Then they replace our room with the bathroom exhaust doesn't work. The tile and wall has been rotted and mold. The balcony door got stuck and couldn't open. Some of the light in the room could not turn on. This was suppose a 3 star place. But it look like 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver CO
Apr 22, 2009

Oh! My! God!

The hotel is off the beaten teack- and no restaurants were walkable so we had to take cabs down the strand. The hotel was the filthiest I have ever stayed in- i don't know if there was flood damage? But it did not look like they ever vacuumed and the hotel smelled awful, like mold. the staff was friendly, the breakfast was great. We were THRILLED to leave to go catch our cruise. Will likely not go back to La Quinta, posssibly, Galveston for a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining along the strand is pretty far from the hotel- a good 15-30 minute walk.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lovelychichi21
houston
Mar 15, 2013

NEVER AGAIN!

I guess you get what u pay for these days. My sister and I were just wanting to get out of the house a day but we shouldnt have wasted money on this hotel. First off when I arrived there the manager was arguing with a guest while I was waiting to check in that was the first sign that we should have canceled the resevations and went back home. Anyways we saw that dogs could stay there. When we got to our room it smelled like wet dog and perfume. Then the remote to the television didnt work nor did the wifi in the room. I felt that we paid 135 bucks for nothing. smh... You can here everything through the hallways and our doors werent that secure. Also the breakfast was horrible there wasnt enough waffle griddles for everyone to get waffles. I was so angered I wanted a waffle but it wasn't worth the extremely long line. After that my sister and I couldn't wait to get back home and out of that hotel never again!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A.Rodriguez
Lake Charles, LA
Jun 28, 2009

The KEY to a great vacation......

There were several things that could have made our first experience in Galveston better. Before we even left I called the hotel to confirm reservations (as I am always worried) and the phone rang several times with no answer. I called back twenty minutes later and was left on the phone for several minutes while whomever answered...put the phone down and left( I am still lost about this). We stayed the weekend and had to go to the front desk twice for key cards to our room. I had to sit in the hall and wait (because we had our dog, that wasn't allowed in the lobby), for my husband to return with the front desk clerk that had to let us in our room. I have to say that she was very sweet about the situation. Other than these things, our stay was very peaceful, and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I read a previous review on a restaurant called Saltgrass Steakhouse.....I have never had a better prime rib in my life!!! It was wonderful.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange, TX
Jun 12, 2010

Should be closed.

This was the worst hotel experience we have ever had. Our room smelled strongly of mold and mildew...we are sick from this trip. This hotel should not be in operation. La Quinta should be ashamed to have their name on this hotel...if my credit card had not been charged in advance for the three days we would have left. This hotel obviously was not renovated properly from the hurricane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jampre
TX
Sep 17, 2011

Galveston Trip

Room hadn't had the bed made, transferred to a different room. Safe did not work. Asked for more towels, had to track down maid staff to get them. Asked to keep room one more day beyond reservation and couldn't get staff to name the price, didn't stay extra night. Overall problems with staff, not hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search