$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
View map of 8710 Seawall Blvd, 8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio,tx
Jul 13, 2010

Great Stay

overall value was good, [...]. this place offered a great stay for a fraction of the price of others. you wont be dissappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wagoner, OK
Jul 10, 2010

Not bad, but not great either...

If I completed this survey after our first day, it would be MUCH worse! Check in was easy, but contradictory to what both the La Quinta and [...] web sites said, NOT every room has a balcony. That was one of the key things that made us choose this hotel. Only a handful of rooms don't have balconies, and we were lucky enough to get one! After spending some time on the phone with [...] and talking with the ladies at the front desk (who initially weren't interested in helping us out), we were finally moved into a room with a balcony.The rest of our stay was fairly uneventful. The location is pretty good. There's very few things within walking distance, but it only took us 5 minutes to drive to just about anything else we wanted to do. "Beach Access" is kind of a joke; nearly everything along Seawall Blvd. is non-beach (not La Quinta's fault). But a quick 3 minute drive down the road led to some pretty nice beachfront! All in all, not bad but not great either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for a little quieter beach action, don't go east on Seawall to the main beach areas. Go west and you'll see some "Public Beach Access" points, one of which is in the middle of a fairly new neighborhood development. That's where we went every time we went to the beach and it was great! Clean, and mostly families out there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Velma227
Business
Beaumont, Texas
Jul 8, 2010

Awesome Hotel

While my son and I stayed in Galveston we went to Schlitterbahn, went to the beach and shopping.Everything was great we really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Schlitterbahn

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Loveable
Business
Galveston, Tx
Jul 7, 2010

Bad place, not recommended

Very bad experience. The first room they give to us has no A/C, plus the carpet was soaking wet and the place smell. Then they replace our room with the bathroom exhaust doesn't work. The tile and wall has been rotted and mold. The balcony door got stuck and couldn't open. Some of the light in the room could not turn on. This was suppose a 3 star place. But it look like 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cj and tanya
Business
syracuse new york
Jul 2, 2010

ok for the money--good location

unfortunatly the weather was bad the whole time, but could have used more coffe, tea, and creamers in the rooms for just such stays, NEED A COVER over the patio !!!! the entire it rained the balcony was flooded, so not usable. ): other than that it was all ok--(softer toilet paper)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ammers
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 29, 2010

Mixed feelings!

Not worthy of the price but was clean enough. Seemed to still have damage from hurricane Ike but nothing too major, the floors were warped, kind of weird. The elevators were questionable, take the stairs. The staff was nice and helpful though. The fact that check in time was at 4 pm and check out was 11 am was crazy unacceptable for the amount I paid! I paid extra for a view of the parking lot, that was annoying. Enjoyed my trip regardless but it had nothing to do with the hotel. Apparently what qualifies as a suite is subjective. This in my opinion was not a suite! Probably won't be back to this location in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TX-Runt
Business
Channelview, TX
Jun 29, 2010

WONDERFUL!

Best price I've ever gotten on a Seawall hotel during the Summer months. [...] We stayed 3 nights. Hotel was clean and room was much bigger than we expected. Ice machine worked! Location was wonderful on WEST end of Galveston ...away from all the hustle and bustle. We either drove or walked wherever we wanted to go. My husband who is very picky about his car, loved the covered parking area. And it's always nice to have a pet friendly hotel. Our stay was wonderful! Will surely come here again on our next Galveston visit. A+ (my only complaint would be that the staff could stand to be a bit friendlier)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperTeacher
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 16, 2010

vacation time

All rooms have a balcony but there are no real gulf view rooms. Our first "view" room was an even numbered room and looked out on another hotel and an electrical box. We asked to change rooms and moved to the odd numbered side which had a better view but not a great one. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable. The price is right if you don't plan on spending much time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leilalou
Business
Baytown, Texas
Jun 15, 2010

Pleasantly Surprised

Pretty good hotel, worried when they told us the pool wasn't working, and we got there and it was working. The doors were very hard to open, both to the room and the patio, a/c not very cold, but the rooms were big and clean, the beds were comfortable and it was nice having a fridge, microwave, etc in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get your tickets for Schlitterbahn at Krogers and save a few bucks off each!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nene'
Business
San Antonio
Jun 15, 2010

OK View, clean rooms, flat pilllows

Check in was easy, staff efficient but not friendly. Access to beach a joke. Gulf is across the street on the seawall, but waves come up to the granite boulders, no beach at all. The room had no chairs so I went looking. I put 4 pillows on top of each other and when I lay down, they went flat as a pancake! Some light fixtures were missing. It was clean, beds comfy and the balcony looked out on the seawall and waves. Convenient to Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn. My husband said he wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Find Shrimp & Stuff 39th & O for best price and taste seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top