$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
216 reviews
Galveston stop

I enjoyed my stay the only problem i encounterer was the closet wouldnt open. See full review

  • tammy 735
  • Dec 31, 2013
Great spot for couples - Need better staff

The hotel is pretty good and great location. Some of the staff tho were kinda rude. Great value of... See full review

  • Dawood
  • Mar 20, 2013
On Galveston Seawall, shuttle to cruise terminal
At the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, guests watch spectacular sunsets from their own private balcony. The hotel is convenient for the beach, the Schlitterbahn Water Park, Seawolf Park and Moody Gardens. For nightlife, the Strand Historic District is just minutes away. Comfortable and spacious rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator. A large outdoor pool and hot tub are just made for relaxing at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West.
Highlights
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
  • Hot tub and fitness center
  • Near The Strand entertainment district
  • Pet friendly
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, decorated in rich red and green tones and with crisp white bedding, offer views of the Gulf and the nightly spectacle of a beautiful sunset. Guests have free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, plus data port phones and television with premium cable. Other amenities include a microwave, refrigerator (in some rooms), coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
The beach, the water park, the University of Texas Medical Branch and the Strand Historic District are all within minutes of the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West. The signature Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty of free parking is available. Guests who stay one night at the hotel before departing on a cruise are invited to leave a car at the hotel for seven days free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West offers a shuttle to the cruise terminal and picks guests upon their return (nominal fee applies).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (41 mi/74 km)
Attractions
  • Cruise Ports (1 mi/2 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston College (4 mi/6 km)
  • Moody Gardens (4 mi/6 km)
  • Seawolf Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Port of Galveston (6 mi/9 km)
  • The Strand National Historic Landmark District (6 mi/9 km)
  • Port Bolivar Ferry (8 mi/13 km)
  • R.A. Apffel East Beach Park (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)

Hotel Map

29.2526 -94.8509
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 45.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grad dtudent
Flagstaff, AZ
Aug 23, 2010

THE BEST!

After reading some good and bad reviews I decided to make the reservation because the price was right. The first morning I was there my rental car's battery was dead and the guy working at the desk was SO helpful. He even offered to jumpstart the car himself! The room was spotless and overall the hotel was very quiet. I used the free computer access a lot, and the continental breakfast was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a super walmart within a mile or two and the rooms were equipped with mini fridges and microwaves so meals were actually an option here.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grad dtudent
Flagstaff, AZ
Aug 23, 2010

THE BEST!

After reading some good and bad reviews I decided to make the reservation because the price was right. The first morning I was there my rental car's battery was dead and the guy working at the desk was SO helpful. He even offered to jumpstart the car himself! The room was spotless and overall the hotel was very quiet. I used the free computer access a lot, and the continental breakfast was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a super walmart within a mile or two and the rooms were equipped with mini fridges and microwaves so meals were actually an option here.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
dallas
Aug 16, 2010

average

parking is under the hotel. a rusty pipe broke damaging my car and one other. the manager comped us our stay but still waiting to hear from their insurance. the building is old. the pool has grime all around the tile edge. the pictures shows the water right accross the street, but it was a drop off and not accessable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

rainforest cafe was great. we did take a boat ride to see many types of water craft and dolphins. kemah is near by and a fun spot for kids.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
dallas
Aug 16, 2010

average

parking is under the hotel. a rusty pipe broke damaging my car and one other. the manager comped us our stay but still waiting to hear from their insurance. the building is old. the pool has grime all around the tile edge. the pictures shows the water right accross the street, but it was a drop off and not accessable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

rainforest cafe was great. we did take a boat ride to see many types of water craft and dolphins. kemah is near by and a fun spot for kids.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark Tucker
Katy, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Solid Beach Hotel Experience

After reading the mixed reviews for the La Quinta Inn and Suites, we opted to give it a try because of its price and proximity to area attractions. We were not disappointed, despite a plethora of small annoyances. The room with two beds was a nice size, and we were surprised to find a decent view of the water from our small yet sturdy balcony. The beds were rather comfortable, especially with the down pillows. The hallways were a bit dingy, and the design on the carpet left my mom with a bit of vertigo, but it's a beach hotel... so sandy tracks and worn-out furniture near the elevators didn't bother me that much. The swimming pool was the big issue. It was small and without shade, but those would have been fine if it was clean. We stayed for 45 minutes because we promised the kids but it we'd never use it again! The staff was rarely seen... in fact, I had to find napkins and various supplies for other guests enjoying breakfast Monday morning after waiting 10 minutes. When my card deactivated, it took us 40 minutes in the middle of the day to get a replacement. The parking garage was nice and the elevator was close to our room, although the secured after hours access was non-existant... anyone could enter morning, noon, or night. I love the non-smoking facility as well. Our stay overall was wonderful... we enjoyed Moody Gardens, the beach at the State Park, and especially the Original Mexican Cafe (not nearby, but fabulous food for a great price). No signs of oil in the Gulf! Overall, it was a good experience... I just wish the hotel would have paid attention to the details a bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Original Mexican Cafe (15th and Market) is one of the best meals I've had... especially the queso! It's a bit of a jaunt from the hotel, but well worth it.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Excellent Room!

The room was clean, very spacious with REALLY COLD AIR CONDITIONING! Which is super important in Galveston's extra humid, extra hot climate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark Tucker
Katy, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Solid Beach Hotel Experience

After reading the mixed reviews for the La Quinta Inn and Suites, we opted to give it a try because of its price and proximity to area attractions. We were not disappointed, despite a plethora of small annoyances. The room with two beds was a nice size, and we were surprised to find a decent view of the water from our small yet sturdy balcony. The beds were rather comfortable, especially with the down pillows. The hallways were a bit dingy, and the design on the carpet left my mom with a bit of vertigo, but it's a beach hotel... so sandy tracks and worn-out furniture near the elevators didn't bother me that much. The swimming pool was the big issue. It was small and without shade, but those would have been fine if it was clean. We stayed for 45 minutes because we promised the kids but it we'd never use it again! The staff was rarely seen... in fact, I had to find napkins and various supplies for other guests enjoying breakfast Monday morning after waiting 10 minutes. When my card deactivated, it took us 40 minutes in the middle of the day to get a replacement. The parking garage was nice and the elevator was close to our room, although the secured after hours access was non-existant... anyone could enter morning, noon, or night. I love the non-smoking facility as well. Our stay overall was wonderful... we enjoyed Moody Gardens, the beach at the State Park, and especially the Original Mexican Cafe (not nearby, but fabulous food for a great price). No signs of oil in the Gulf! Overall, it was a good experience... I just wish the hotel would have paid attention to the details a bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Original Mexican Cafe (15th and Market) is one of the best meals I've had... especially the queso! It's a bit of a jaunt from the hotel, but well worth it.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Excellent Room!

The room was clean, very spacious with REALLY COLD AIR CONDITIONING! Which is super important in Galveston's extra humid, extra hot climate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Aug 7, 2010

Good Hotel for Families

The staff was good at recommending things to do that would be out of the extreme heat that they were experiencing. We had a great time exploring some of their recommendations. The restaurants they recommended were also excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend Fishtails restaurant just a short drive down the Seawall. Excellent food and service.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio
Aug 7, 2010

La Quinta Review

pet friendly breakfast although continential it was better than most. They did allow a group to set up so people could sign up for a "free cruise". Of course, you had to tour property. I really did not like that because they would come around to the breakfast tables

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

check out the dining locations on the computer before you try. You can call up menues,with prices so you know ahead of time what you are dealing with

Back to menu Return to top