$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
View map of 8710 Seawall Blvd, 8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston
Apr 19, 2011

good value

Did not stay long. Had a good trip, but the motel was just a place to crash. Could not get ABC or CBS on the TV. Many stations were snow. Receptionist had a toothpick hanging out of her mouth the entire time and looked pretty rough. But it cost 1/4th what they wanted at the convention center hotel and I did not miss the difference one bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salsa's restaurant had real, fresh spinach in their spinach enchiladas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Concert junkie Sarah D
Business
Houston,tx
Apr 16, 2011

Home away from home

Went to downtown Galveston and pier 22

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Grand 1894 opera house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J. Duke
Business
Orange,Tx
Apr 7, 2011

Great price and location

The location is good due to low people traffic outside the hotel because the shops are east, but only a short drive along the sea wall. Our parking was under the hotel with elevator enterance also a swiming pool and hot tub combination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Things to see are Moody Gardens, The Strand (more shops and places to snack) Along the seawall are shops and great food (Fish Tail, Miller Landing, Salt Grass to name only a few)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Marsha
Business
St. Louis, Mo
Apr 6, 2011

One Day on the Beach

We had just spent several days in Dallas taking care of my elderly Mother, and decided we needed a day at the beach. We only had one day, not including the evening of Sunday when we arrived. The sun was not shining and there was a forcast of rain for the next day. We are so glad we chose La Quinta because it was away from the crowds and excitement closer to town, because the rooms were spacious, included a refrigerator and a micorwave, and a veiw of the beach from the window. On Monday, we slept late, as planned and enjoyed the breakfast provided in the lobby. Because it was windy and a little cold we stayed in our room until after noon. Then we went out for lunch and a walk on the beach. It was still cloudy and windy, but not raining. However, when we returned from lunch it was really storming. So I spent most of the afternoon in the lobby, working on my embroidery and watching the storm on the beach. I loved it. My husband spent the afternoon napping and watching TV and he loved it. So, we were both happy. By the time we went out for dinner, the sun was shining and we got to sit on the beach in the early evening. To us it was a great day. I am glad we chose this La Quinta, even though we had to drive wherever we went. We left for home in St. Louis the next morning at 6:30am happy and rested. Our day on the beach was good, even if it wasn't all on the beach. The only suggestion I have is to put an easy chair in the room. The chairs provided were not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Look in The magazines provided in the lobby to see the reviews and hints for good Happy Hours. We actually had drinks and appetizers for less than $15.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ennis, TX
Apr 5, 2011

Galveston 2-day Vacation!

Wonderful experience! Never did get up in time to enjoy the Free Breakfast... hours were 6 a.m. to 8:30 a.m... not late enough for vacationers! Everything else was as perfect as it could be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaido's is overrated and overpriced. AND the hour and a half wait time is cut to five minutes or less if you come in and tell the receptionist and/or head Matre 'd you're "friends" with some important local people! At Gaido's, it's not what you know, but WHO you know that counts. Won't go there again. Joe's Crab Shack is better, and more fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Mar 31, 2011

Good price, nice rooms, horrible service

The hotel wasnt bad, but they was very rude, and late! Then was rude about being late!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rjtwinm
Business
College Station, TX
Mar 16, 2011

Day at the Beach

We stayed in the LaQuinta for a short trip to the beach over spring break. It was easy to get a room at this busy time of year so I was a bit worried about what we might be getting. It turned out fine however. Even though our room was in the back and on the 3rd floor, we still had a view of the ocean from a nice balcony. The beds were comfortable, nice TV, fast internet and it seemed clean enough. The free breakfast was good but crowded this week with no where to sit at first. I was disappointed there was not a fluffy chair for my 4 year old to sleep on but other than that, we were pleased. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Mar 12, 2011

Galveston stay

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the shower was wonderful. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning and the sound of the ocean on the balcony. Its location allowed us to be within easy driving or relatively short walking distance of restaurants and siteseeing. I would recommend this hotel over the La Quinta North of 61st street. It is cleaner looking and more appealing to the eye.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FORT WORTH,TX
Feb 18, 2011

VERY NICE PLACE

THE ROOM WAS VERY NICE.THE BEDS WERE THE MOST COMFORTABLE I HAVE EVER HAD IN ANY HOTEL. THE HOTEL WAS LOCATED RIGHT WHERE WE NEEDED TO BE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seeking a little Customer Service
Business
Texas
Oct 14, 2010

Location Fab! Service HORRIBLE!

The location, was great. The price for the room was fabulous, the room was not new but it was clean and nice. The front desk staff made the experience horrible. I wanted to purchase and extra nite stay and I was scouting for locations for my company to have a team building event. This was definately not the place as the front desk manager was well beyond rude, argumentative and not helpful at all. She actually argued that I did not leave a credit card on file and told me that I had to completely check out to just check back into the same room. When I called the night before to gather information on the process of extending my stay the manager contradicted all of the directions given, again in a horrible tone and was just over all nasty to deal with. When I checked out and actually spoke to her about the negative experience, she told me that she did not have a manager above her to whom I could speak. Seriously at Laquinta the only mgrs are front desk managers according to this lady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the bike rental shop that rents the 4 wheelers for $20-$25 an hour so that a family can just roll on the beach and see the sights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top