$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
133 reviews
Great price

The room is huge and very clean. The staff was friendly! See full review

  • Bbeachbbum04
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great Galveston Hotel

My wife and I really loved this hotel. Its right on the seawall and close to the beaches. See full review

  • dgillett4215
  • Sep 22, 2014
On Galveston Seawall, shuttle to cruise terminal
At the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, guests watch spectacular sunsets from their own private balcony. The hotel is convenient for the beach, the Schlitterbahn Water Park, Seawolf Park and Moody Gardens. For nightlife, the Strand Historic District is just minutes away. Comfortable and spacious rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator. A large outdoor pool and hot tub are just made for relaxing at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West.
Highlights
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
  • Hot tub and fitness center
  • Near The Strand entertainment district
  • Pet friendly
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, decorated in rich red and green tones and with crisp white bedding, offer views of the Gulf and the nightly spectacle of a beautiful sunset. Guests have free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, plus data port phones and television with premium cable. Other amenities include a microwave, refrigerator (in some rooms), coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
The beach, the water park, the University of Texas Medical Branch and the Strand Historic District are all within minutes of the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West. The signature Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty of free parking is available. Guests who stay one night at the hotel before departing on a cruise are invited to leave a car at the hotel for seven days free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West offers a shuttle to the cruise terminal and picks guests upon their return (nominal fee applies).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (41 mi/74 km)
Attractions
  • Cruise Ports (1 mi/2 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston College (4 mi/6 km)
  • Moody Gardens (4 mi/6 km)
  • Seawolf Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Port of Galveston (6 mi/9 km)
  • The Strand National Historic Landmark District (6 mi/9 km)
  • Port Bolivar Ferry (8 mi/13 km)
  • R.A. Apffel East Beach Park (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J. Duke
Business
Orange,Tx
Apr 7, 2011

Great price and location

The location is good due to low people traffic outside the hotel because the shops are east, but only a short drive along the sea wall. Our parking was under the hotel with elevator enterance also a swiming pool and hot tub combination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Things to see are Moody Gardens, The Strand (more shops and places to snack) Along the seawall are shops and great food (Fish Tail, Miller Landing, Salt Grass to name only a few)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Marsha
Business
St. Louis, Mo
Apr 6, 2011

One Day on the Beach

We had just spent several days in Dallas taking care of my elderly Mother, and decided we needed a day at the beach. We only had one day, not including the evening of Sunday when we arrived. The sun was not shining and there was a forcast of rain for the next day. We are so glad we chose La Quinta because it was away from the crowds and excitement closer to town, because the rooms were spacious, included a refrigerator and a micorwave, and a veiw of the beach from the window. On Monday, we slept late, as planned and enjoyed the breakfast provided in the lobby. Because it was windy and a little cold we stayed in our room until after noon. Then we went out for lunch and a walk on the beach. It was still cloudy and windy, but not raining. However, when we returned from lunch it was really storming. So I spent most of the afternoon in the lobby, working on my embroidery and watching the storm on the beach. I loved it. My husband spent the afternoon napping and watching TV and he loved it. So, we were both happy. By the time we went out for dinner, the sun was shining and we got to sit on the beach in the early evening. To us it was a great day. I am glad we chose this La Quinta, even though we had to drive wherever we went. We left for home in St. Louis the next morning at 6:30am happy and rested. Our day on the beach was good, even if it wasn't all on the beach. The only suggestion I have is to put an easy chair in the room. The chairs provided were not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Look in The magazines provided in the lobby to see the reviews and hints for good Happy Hours. We actually had drinks and appetizers for less than $15.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ennis, TX
Apr 5, 2011

Galveston 2-day Vacation!

Wonderful experience! Never did get up in time to enjoy the Free Breakfast... hours were 6 a.m. to 8:30 a.m... not late enough for vacationers! Everything else was as perfect as it could be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaido's is overrated and overpriced. AND the hour and a half wait time is cut to five minutes or less if you come in and tell the receptionist and/or head Matre 'd you're "friends" with some important local people! At Gaido's, it's not what you know, but WHO you know that counts. Won't go there again. Joe's Crab Shack is better, and more fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Mar 31, 2011

Good price, nice rooms, horrible service

The hotel wasnt bad, but they was very rude, and late! Then was rude about being late!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rjtwinm
Business
College Station, TX
Mar 16, 2011

Day at the Beach

We stayed in the LaQuinta for a short trip to the beach over spring break. It was easy to get a room at this busy time of year so I was a bit worried about what we might be getting. It turned out fine however. Even though our room was in the back and on the 3rd floor, we still had a view of the ocean from a nice balcony. The beds were comfortable, nice TV, fast internet and it seemed clean enough. The free breakfast was good but crowded this week with no where to sit at first. I was disappointed there was not a fluffy chair for my 4 year old to sleep on but other than that, we were pleased. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Mar 12, 2011

Galveston stay

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the shower was wonderful. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning and the sound of the ocean on the balcony. Its location allowed us to be within easy driving or relatively short walking distance of restaurants and siteseeing. I would recommend this hotel over the La Quinta North of 61st street. It is cleaner looking and more appealing to the eye.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FORT WORTH,TX
Feb 18, 2011

VERY NICE PLACE

THE ROOM WAS VERY NICE.THE BEDS WERE THE MOST COMFORTABLE I HAVE EVER HAD IN ANY HOTEL. THE HOTEL WAS LOCATED RIGHT WHERE WE NEEDED TO BE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seeking a little Customer Service
Business
Texas
Oct 14, 2010

Location Fab! Service HORRIBLE!

The location, was great. The price for the room was fabulous, the room was not new but it was clean and nice. The front desk staff made the experience horrible. I wanted to purchase and extra nite stay and I was scouting for locations for my company to have a team building event. This was definately not the place as the front desk manager was well beyond rude, argumentative and not helpful at all. She actually argued that I did not leave a credit card on file and told me that I had to completely check out to just check back into the same room. When I called the night before to gather information on the process of extending my stay the manager contradicted all of the directions given, again in a horrible tone and was just over all nasty to deal with. When I checked out and actually spoke to her about the negative experience, she told me that she did not have a manager above her to whom I could speak. Seriously at Laquinta the only mgrs are front desk managers according to this lady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is the bike rental shop that rents the 4 wheelers for $20-$25 an hour so that a family can just roll on the beach and see the sights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Galveston,Tx.
Oct 10, 2010

DOGS!!!!

DOGS!!!DOGS!!!DOGS!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmdonner
Business
San Antonio, TX
Sep 5, 2010

Great room by the beach

Really great since we also used their lot to store our vehicle while we went on a 7 day cruise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top