$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
216 reviews
Galveston stop

I enjoyed my stay the only problem i encounterer was the closet wouldnt open. See full review

  • tammy 735
  • Dec 31, 2013
Great spot for couples - Need better staff

The hotel is pretty good and great location. Some of the staff tho were kinda rude. Great value of... See full review

  • Dawood
  • Mar 20, 2013
On Galveston Seawall, shuttle to cruise terminal
At the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, guests watch spectacular sunsets from their own private balcony. The hotel is convenient for the beach, the Schlitterbahn Water Park, Seawolf Park and Moody Gardens. For nightlife, the Strand Historic District is just minutes away. Comfortable and spacious rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator. A large outdoor pool and hot tub are just made for relaxing at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West.
Highlights
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
  • Hot tub and fitness center
  • Near The Strand entertainment district
  • Pet friendly
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, decorated in rich red and green tones and with crisp white bedding, offer views of the Gulf and the nightly spectacle of a beautiful sunset. Guests have free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, plus data port phones and television with premium cable. Other amenities include a microwave, refrigerator (in some rooms), coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
The beach, the water park, the University of Texas Medical Branch and the Strand Historic District are all within minutes of the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West. The signature Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty of free parking is available. Guests who stay one night at the hotel before departing on a cruise are invited to leave a car at the hotel for seven days free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West offers a shuttle to the cruise terminal and picks guests upon their return (nominal fee applies).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (41 mi/74 km)
Attractions
  • Cruise Ports (1 mi/2 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston College (4 mi/6 km)
  • Moody Gardens (4 mi/6 km)
  • Seawolf Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Port of Galveston (6 mi/9 km)
  • The Strand National Historic Landmark District (6 mi/9 km)
  • Port Bolivar Ferry (8 mi/13 km)
  • R.A. Apffel East Beach Park (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)

Hotel Map

29.2526 -94.8509
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 45.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leilalou
Baytown, Texas
Jun 15, 2010

Pleasantly Surprised

Pretty good hotel, worried when they told us the pool wasn't working, and we got there and it was working. The doors were very hard to open, both to the room and the patio, a/c not very cold, but the rooms were big and clean, the beds were comfortable and it was nice having a fridge, microwave, etc in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get your tickets for Schlitterbahn at Krogers and save a few bucks off each!

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nene'
San Antonio
Jun 15, 2010

OK View, clean rooms, flat pilllows

Check in was easy, staff efficient but not friendly. Access to beach a joke. Gulf is across the street on the seawall, but waves come up to the granite boulders, no beach at all. The room had no chairs so I went looking. I put 4 pillows on top of each other and when I lay down, they went flat as a pancake! Some light fixtures were missing. It was clean, beds comfy and the balcony looked out on the seawall and waves. Convenient to Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn. My husband said he wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Find Shrimp & Stuff 39th & O for best price and taste seafood

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Ogburn's
Madisonville, LA
Jun 14, 2010

Not What We Expected for the Price

This hotel is a good place if you are just spending a couple of days...any longer and we would have check out and would have gone to a different hotel, even though the price of other hotels were much more expensive. I guess you get what you pay for, but we paid $17+.00 per night. The location was very convienent to Schlitterbahn (reason for visit). We were just disappointed that we paid so much money for a really cheap room. The sheet rock had so many patches...the refridgerator door wouldn't close properly had to rig it so that our food didn't spoil. The shower head was leaking and spraying water across the bathroom getting the walls and floors wet, hence the mold and patched sheetrock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Schlitterbahn is really close!!

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Ogburn's
Madisonville, LA
Jun 14, 2010

Not What We Expected for the Price

This hotel is a good place if you are just spending a couple of days...any longer and we would have check out and would have gone to a different hotel, even though the price of other hotels were much more expensive. I guess you get what you pay for, but we paid $17+.00 per night. The location was very convienent to Schlitterbahn (reason for visit). We were just disappointed that we paid so much money for a really cheap room. The sheet rock had so many patches...the refridgerator door wouldn't close properly had to rig it so that our food didn't spoil. The shower head was leaking and spraying water across the bathroom getting the walls and floors wet, hence the mold and patched sheetrock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Schlitterbahn is really close!!

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange, TX
Jun 12, 2010

Should be closed.

This was the worst hotel experience we have ever had. Our room smelled strongly of mold and mildew...we are sick from this trip. This hotel should not be in operation. La Quinta should be ashamed to have their name on this hotel...if my credit card had not been charged in advance for the three days we would have left. This hotel obviously was not renovated properly from the hurricane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange, TX
Jun 12, 2010

Should be closed.

This was the worst hotel experience we have ever had. Our room smelled strongly of mold and mildew...we are sick from this trip. This hotel should not be in operation. La Quinta should be ashamed to have their name on this hotel...if my credit card had not been charged in advance for the three days we would have left. This hotel obviously was not renovated properly from the hurricane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lampasas, TX
Jun 5, 2010

Galveston Vacation

Hotel staff were courteous. The safe in our room didn't work when we arrived but the maintenance staff repaired it quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Benno's was great.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Different hotel next time
Houston, Texas
Jun 5, 2010

Enjoyed Galveston...hotel is ok

We've stayed at alot of hotels in Galveston since we live in Houston. Not sure we will return to this one. The "free" breakfast in the morning is probably the best feature. The small pool was dirty with sand in the bottom and grime on the tile. Two doors (closet and bathroom) in our room did not close completely. The door to our balcony was rusted and the door handle was filthy. The bathroom tile grout was dirty. The beds first seemed comfy, but then sunk in the middle. The covered parking was nice, but filled up quickly in the evening. I witnessed several employees parking in the covered parking, which should be only for guests. When I worked in retail, we were not allowed to take the close up/preferred parking spots. Same should be true here. The staff checking in/out was nice. However, the two men who stood in the lobby and tried to get people to buy whatever they were selling for "free" were irritating to say the least. I could understand these type of people in a resort, but at the LaQuinta? Seemed liked we were always trying to avoid them and their smalltalk. Definitely a turn off. The price was probably why we stayed here, but probably will not again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Magic Carpet Miniature golf is very closeby. We enjoyed that in the evening with our kids.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lampasas, TX
Jun 5, 2010

Galveston Vacation

Hotel staff were courteous. The safe in our room didn't work when we arrived but the maintenance staff repaired it quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Benno's was great.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Different hotel next time
Houston, Texas
Jun 5, 2010

Enjoyed Galveston...hotel is ok

We've stayed at alot of hotels in Galveston since we live in Houston. Not sure we will return to this one. The "free" breakfast in the morning is probably the best feature. The small pool was dirty with sand in the bottom and grime on the tile. Two doors (closet and bathroom) in our room did not close completely. The door to our balcony was rusted and the door handle was filthy. The bathroom tile grout was dirty. The beds first seemed comfy, but then sunk in the middle. The covered parking was nice, but filled up quickly in the evening. I witnessed several employees parking in the covered parking, which should be only for guests. When I worked in retail, we were not allowed to take the close up/preferred parking spots. Same should be true here. The staff checking in/out was nice. However, the two men who stood in the lobby and tried to get people to buy whatever they were selling for "free" were irritating to say the least. I could understand these type of people in a resort, but at the LaQuinta? Seemed liked we were always trying to avoid them and their smalltalk. Definitely a turn off. The price was probably why we stayed here, but probably will not again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Magic Carpet Miniature golf is very closeby. We enjoyed that in the evening with our kids.

Back to menu Return to top