$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
131 reviews
Great Galveston Hotel

My wife and I really loved this hotel. Its right on the seawall and close to the beaches. See full review

  • dgillett4215
  • Sep 22, 2014
Galveston stop

I enjoyed my stay the only problem i encounterer was the closet wouldnt open. See full review

  • tammy 735
  • Dec 31, 2013
On Galveston Seawall, shuttle to cruise terminal
At the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, guests watch spectacular sunsets from their own private balcony. The hotel is convenient for the beach, the Schlitterbahn Water Park, Seawolf Park and Moody Gardens. For nightlife, the Strand Historic District is just minutes away. Comfortable and spacious rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator. A large outdoor pool and hot tub are just made for relaxing at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West.
Highlights
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
  • Hot tub and fitness center
  • Near The Strand entertainment district
  • Pet friendly
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, decorated in rich red and green tones and with crisp white bedding, offer views of the Gulf and the nightly spectacle of a beautiful sunset. Guests have free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, plus data port phones and television with premium cable. Other amenities include a microwave, refrigerator (in some rooms), coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
The beach, the water park, the University of Texas Medical Branch and the Strand Historic District are all within minutes of the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West. The signature Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty of free parking is available. Guests who stay one night at the hotel before departing on a cruise are invited to leave a car at the hotel for seven days free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West offers a shuttle to the cruise terminal and picks guests upon their return (nominal fee applies).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (41 mi/74 km)
Attractions
  • Cruise Ports (1 mi/2 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston College (4 mi/6 km)
  • Moody Gardens (4 mi/6 km)
  • Seawolf Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Port of Galveston (6 mi/9 km)
  • The Strand National Historic Landmark District (6 mi/9 km)
  • Port Bolivar Ferry (8 mi/13 km)
  • R.A. Apffel East Beach Park (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)

Hotel Map

29.2526 -94.8509
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 45.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A.Rodriguez
Business
Lake Charles, LA
Jun 28, 2009

The KEY to a great vacation......

There were several things that could have made our first experience in Galveston better. Before we even left I called the hotel to confirm reservations (as I am always worried) and the phone rang several times with no answer. I called back twenty minutes later and was left on the phone for several minutes while whomever answered...put the phone down and left( I am still lost about this). We stayed the weekend and had to go to the front desk twice for key cards to our room. I had to sit in the hall and wait (because we had our dog, that wasn't allowed in the lobby), for my husband to return with the front desk clerk that had to let us in our room. I have to say that she was very sweet about the situation. Other than these things, our stay was very peaceful, and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I read a previous review on a restaurant called Saltgrass Steakhouse.....I have never had a better prime rib in my life!!! It was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston tx
Jun 7, 2009

Survey on La Quinta Galveston

The hotel was just opened after IKE - it looked clean but we did see coackroaches in bedroom and bathroom, and it still smelled musty after clean up. Front staff threw away my expensive coffee drink the moment I had finished checking in - no apology or return offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver CO
Apr 22, 2009

Oh! My! God!

The hotel is off the beaten teack- and no restaurants were walkable so we had to take cabs down the strand. The hotel was the filthiest I have ever stayed in- i don't know if there was flood damage? But it did not look like they ever vacuumed and the hotel smelled awful, like mold. the staff was friendly, the breakfast was great. We were THRILLED to leave to go catch our cruise. Will likely not go back to La Quinta, posssibly, Galveston for a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining along the strand is pretty far from the hotel- a good 15-30 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 2, 2008

Very Family Friendly...

We had the best time...We were very satisfied with the room,ammenities & service...Very Friendly Manager.We will be back?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Salt Grass Steakhouse...THE BEST....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
splendora
May 10, 2008

Very friendly

I was there only one night but my stay was very comfortable no problem and was very clean. Im glad i stayed at that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach was right infront of the hotel. eating places all around great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 22, 2007

Great Value

I was content with the stay, the personell(front desk clerk-upon check in) was not friendly at all. She was on a call and never acknowledged us. It was about 5-10 minutes before she even walked to the counter and even at that point, she appeared to be unhappy. I just feel that with a position like that, they should hire friendlier staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was right in front of hotel...great view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Aug 9, 2007

Family Friendly

We were traveling with our two grandsons. The pool was fine, but we found the beds too soft. the room was clean, and breakfast was good. The room was large and we had plenty of space with a 9 & 12 year-old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We visited NASA one day, and still were able to ride the Bolivar Ferry that evening. It was great fun and not expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 21, 2007

great business amenities

Large rooms, decent breakfast. Good location, clean rooms. Front desk could be better organized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several resturants located near by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 14, 2007

Very Family Friendly

This hotel made me feel very secure.The location was not close to all the action on the island and I like that...I felt like I was loding in the suburbs, but close to the city. I enjoyed the beach access and the hotel was very pet friendly. The morning breakfast was carbohydrate high, so the second day we ate out. Great for the money and I would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 18, 2007

Pets OK, but very limited

The hotel location was at the opposite end of the island from all the shops and dining places. Other than that, it was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top