$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
133 reviews
Great price

The room is huge and very clean. The staff was friendly! See full review

  • Bbeachbbum04
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great Galveston Hotel

My wife and I really loved this hotel. Its right on the seawall and close to the beaches. See full review

  • dgillett4215
  • Sep 22, 2014
On Galveston Seawall, shuttle to cruise terminal
At the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, guests watch spectacular sunsets from their own private balcony. The hotel is convenient for the beach, the Schlitterbahn Water Park, Seawolf Park and Moody Gardens. For nightlife, the Strand Historic District is just minutes away. Comfortable and spacious rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator. A large outdoor pool and hot tub are just made for relaxing at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West.
Highlights
  • Outdoor seasonal pool
  • Hot tub and fitness center
  • Near The Strand entertainment district
  • Pet friendly
Rooms
The spacious rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West, decorated in rich red and green tones and with crisp white bedding, offer views of the Gulf and the nightly spectacle of a beautiful sunset. Guests have free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, plus data port phones and television with premium cable. Other amenities include a microwave, refrigerator (in some rooms), coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
The beach, the water park, the University of Texas Medical Branch and the Strand Historic District are all within minutes of the La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West. The signature Bright Side Breakfast includes waffles, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty of free parking is available. Guests who stay one night at the hotel before departing on a cruise are invited to leave a car at the hotel for seven days free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston Seawall West offers a shuttle to the cruise terminal and picks guests upon their return (nominal fee applies).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (41 mi/74 km)
Attractions
  • Cruise Ports (1 mi/2 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Water Park (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston College (4 mi/6 km)
  • Moody Gardens (4 mi/6 km)
  • Seawolf Park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Port of Galveston (6 mi/9 km)
  • The Strand National Historic Landmark District (6 mi/9 km)
  • Port Bolivar Ferry (8 mi/13 km)
  • R.A. Apffel East Beach Park (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • Photocopy and fax services available (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 27-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bryan, Texas
Dec 25, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

visiting for illness. stay was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Dec 21, 2009

La Quinta Inn & Suites - Galveston

Room was pretty clean, some small pieces of pater behind bathroom door, a long hair over the glasses in the bathroom, but mostly clean. This inn allows pets, and there was a room 2 doors down with 2 small yappy dogs that woke us up several times each night. Wireless internet signal was weak. I actually used the hotel next door's signal instead as it was faster. Good location on the seawall, though. Overall, a decent place to stay, but not a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaido's for seafood. An institution for 99 years. I never pass it up when I go to Galveston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The LabMan
Business
Garland, TX
Oct 12, 2009

Not Great But Acceptable and Suitable.

We checked into our hotel very late at night. The check-in was fast and easy. The night clerk was not too sharp. Shortly after we settled into our room, we heard a rustling at our door and to our surprise the door opened for us to see a group of drunken college guys staring at us as we stared back at them. They had checked-in shortly after us and the night clerk mixed up the check-in slips and issued them keys to our room number. The mix-up was quickly resolved but at 2am this can be a bit unsettling. The hotel is still recovering from hurricane damage. There were piles of discarded mattress in the parking lot. There was some mildew and water damage but unless you were looking for it, it is virtually unnoticable. There are some spots in the hotel where traces of ammonia can be smelled, namely by the elevators. This might be due to ammonia being used to clean pet accidents as pets are allowed at this establishment. A complimentary continental breakfast is offered that consists of make-your-own waffles, danishes, muffins, toast, cereal, yogurt, boiled eggs, juices, and milk. The breakfast ends at 9am so you have to get up early if you want to take advantage of the offerings. This LaQuinta does offer Wi-Fi but I was only able to connect to it once. Luckily, a nearby hotel had a strong enough signal that I was able to connect to their network. When booking the room I opted for "room with view" for an additional charge. The view was a hurricane damaged house and two buildings that if you looked between them, the water could be seen. Next time, I will not bother with a "room with a view" category. The room was very spacious. I will give them that. Considering how many people trek in and out with sand on their shoes from the beach, the hotel does a great job at keeping everything looking clean. We did not keep an eye out for dining experiences so I cannot comment about nearby restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wave watcher
Business
Lufkin, Tx
Oct 12, 2009

Really good place to lay your head

The bed was great!! The staff was very friendly! The room was clean.[...] Overall the stay was wonderful. Would stay again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 1, 2009

Ho Hum

this was a 24 hour getaway. The description of a "view" was grossly overstated, we could see the hotel next door and if we leaned out a bit could see the Gulf. [...] The room that we were first assigned was smelly and the A?C unit was noisy. They accommodated us by moving us to another room which at least did not make us look at the hotel next door, but a large empty lot. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt7988
Business
Jacksonville, TX
Sep 29, 2009

Some quirks, but overall a pleasant stay

The location couldn't get any better, right on the seawall. Rooms were super clean and the bed was very comfortable. Price was unbeatable, very much worth it. The only downs I had on this place were the lack of WiFi signal strength and the elevators broke once during our stay. I'm helplessly addicted to being in contact with the outside world, and when it rains and you have nothing to do but stay inside, it can get very boring with no internet. If you do want a good connection, make sure yout get a room on the first floor. On the second floor, wifi was almost non-existant. Other than that, it was a great stay at a price I still can't believe I got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaumont, TX
Sep 12, 2009

La Quinta Inn AND Suites Galveston

We had a great room for a great price. Close to the beach, Moody Gardens, Schlitterbahn, flight museum & Rainforest Cafe (among other restaurants). I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Moody Gardens & Schlitterbahn are within 5 minutes drive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chevy71
Business
texas
Aug 31, 2009

Fantastic nice place to stay

every thing was good nice place to stay before cruise free shuttle and parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin,Tx
Aug 17, 2009

Fantastic Family Getaway

We liked the location and checking-in personel were very friendly and made me feel welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BROWNSVILLE, TEXAS
Aug 3, 2009

good, BAD AND UGLY

A LITTLE FAR FROM DOWNTOWN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

THERE WERE TO MANY KIDS THAT MAKE THE FLOOR ENTRANCE SLIPPERY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top