$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

3 stars
View map of 8710 Seawall Blvd, 8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77554

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Ogburn's
Business
Madisonville, LA
Jun 14, 2010

Not What We Expected for the Price

This hotel is a good place if you are just spending a couple of days...any longer and we would have check out and would have gone to a different hotel, even though the price of other hotels were much more expensive. I guess you get what you pay for, but we paid $17+.00 per night. The location was very convienent to Schlitterbahn (reason for visit). We were just disappointed that we paid so much money for a really cheap room. The sheet rock had so many patches...the refridgerator door wouldn't close properly had to rig it so that our food didn't spoil. The shower head was leaking and spraying water across the bathroom getting the walls and floors wet, hence the mold and patched sheetrock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Schlitterbahn is really close!!

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, TX
Jun 12, 2010

Should be closed.

This was the worst hotel experience we have ever had. Our room smelled strongly of mold and mildew...we are sick from this trip. This hotel should not be in operation. La Quinta should be ashamed to have their name on this hotel...if my credit card had not been charged in advance for the three days we would have left. This hotel obviously was not renovated properly from the hurricane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lampasas, TX
Jun 5, 2010

Galveston Vacation

Hotel staff were courteous. The safe in our room didn't work when we arrived but the maintenance staff repaired it quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Benno's was great.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Different hotel next time
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 5, 2010

Enjoyed Galveston...hotel is ok

We've stayed at alot of hotels in Galveston since we live in Houston. Not sure we will return to this one. The "free" breakfast in the morning is probably the best feature. The small pool was dirty with sand in the bottom and grime on the tile. Two doors (closet and bathroom) in our room did not close completely. The door to our balcony was rusted and the door handle was filthy. The bathroom tile grout was dirty. The beds first seemed comfy, but then sunk in the middle. The covered parking was nice, but filled up quickly in the evening. I witnessed several employees parking in the covered parking, which should be only for guests. When I worked in retail, we were not allowed to take the close up/preferred parking spots. Same should be true here. The staff checking in/out was nice. However, the two men who stood in the lobby and tried to get people to buy whatever they were selling for "free" were irritating to say the least. I could understand these type of people in a resort, but at the LaQuinta? Seemed liked we were always trying to avoid them and their smalltalk. Definitely a turn off. The price was probably why we stayed here, but probably will not again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Magic Carpet Miniature golf is very closeby. We enjoyed that in the evening with our kids.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amylee
Business
Clear Lake, Texas
May 24, 2010

The pool made a big splash!

We live close, but were staying for a dance recital on the other side of the island. We loved the location. It was quiet and away from most of the Seawall traffic. The pool was small, but very nice. You had a lovely ocean view from the pool and the pool's surroundings gave you a nice island feel. It would be nice to have morning hours for the pool for the use of small children. The room itself was clean, but the tile in the bathroom, especially under the sink could have been cleaner. Dirty bathroom floors are a real turn off. There were also a couple of issues with the physical apperance of the room itself. There were quite a few basic maintenece issues in the room. There was a quarter size hole in the bathroom door where a large screw pushed through it. The screw was sticking out if the wall sharp side out. This was not particularly safe for the children with us. Some of the lights did not work and there was a large open space where a chair may have gone that was just left open with a lamp stuck in the middle. There were also broken outlet covers. The front desk staff was not friendly or welcoming at all. They did not greet us upon arrival and seemed annoyed when we asked for an extra blanket. When asked to turn on the waterfall in the pool they never followed through even though several people asked. The breakfast staff was efficient and keep things very well stocked even though their were large crowds at breakfast both days we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The spot is our favorite place to get a casual meal. You can even go in your beach wear. It may look like a biker bar, but don't let that fool you. There is seating both indoors, outdoors and on the upper deck. they have great burgers and seafood. My favorite is the grilled fish sandwich. They also have excellent desserts.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moma Sue
Business
Dallas Tx
May 22, 2010

Weekend getaway

I chose this location to get away from the noise and traffic further down the island east of 61st. St. There are no dining locations close but the island is small enough to drive anywhere without a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Needs a Vacation
Business
Houston, TX
May 19, 2010

Pre-Memorial Day Getwaway

We had a great time and do not have anything bad to say. even our little chihuahua loved it. just a note to ask for a room near the front because there are rooms in the back with no view or a view of the new neighboring hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

we love Queens BBQ on 35th & Ave S and Shrimp'N Stuff on 39th & Ave O. both are casual, inexpensive with great food

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chillicothe oh
May 16, 2010

not bad for the money

was scared at first, but ended up being pleasantly surprised. the lady at the desk was having a fight on the phone with someone calling the desk. after that all was well. room was clean and larger than expected. free breakfast was pretty good, nothing fancy of course. lots of parking. could see the ocean from room. nice ocean wall to walk on, no beach near the hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go to fish tales for the bread pudding. it's not what you would expect.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
galveston
May 15, 2010

la quinta recommended

La quinta was a very good hotel it had a good oceanview very clean and quite i loved it.nwill return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Curtis Moore
Business
Palestine, TX
May 14, 2010

Great location, great price

This was our second time to stay at this La Quinta at 87th Street, and it will not be our last. The rooms were big and spotless, the bed was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. We have already recommended this hotel to several friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good variety of restaurants, none very far to drive to.

Back to menu Return to top